Felix Hong plays 2 generations of Russian composers

Interview by Alain Brunet

Young pianist Felix Hong has been honored several times. In 2016, he was awarded first prize in the Canimex Canadian Music Competition. In 2017, he won the Prix d’Europe and was named to the CBC’s list of the 30 most promising classical musicians under the age of 30.

Born in Taipei, Taiwan, Felix Hong settled in Canada in 2012 to pursue his studies in music at McGill University. Afterwards, he did his master’s degree in London at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama.

For his recital, he intend to perform works by Alexander Scriabin, Nikolai Medtner and Nikolai Kapustin.

PAN M 360 : More precisely, where did your family settle in Canada before you attend McGill University?  

FELIX HONG : My family was settled in Montreal before I came to Canada! Prior to attending McGill, I have visited Montreal for a few summers as a child.

PAN M 360 : How came this inspiration for being a professional classical pianist?

FELIX HONG : When I was in high school, I had the opportunity to perform Chopin Piano Concerto No.1 with an orchestra. It is still one of the most memorable experiences on stage as I really felt the connection between me and the music. For quite some time afterwards, my biggest wish was to have the opportunity to play with an orchestra again in my life because I want to relive that moment. It eventually became my motivation to work hard on piano and pursue a career as a professional classical pianist.

PAN M 360 : When did you realize you had this gift to pursue?

FELIX HONG : I realized that I have the gift to pursue when I was able to develop my own interpretations on different works. I also realized that I have the determination to pursue when I can spend hours on the piano exploring different expression that I want to convey in a certain passage of music

PAN M 360 :Who were your key teachers in Canada?

FELIX HONG : I completed my Bachelor degree and Artist Diploma at McGill with Professor Ilya Poletaev. There is always so much knowledge that I can learn from him and his lessons are so inspiring!

PAN M 360 : Why have you chosen to pursue in UK?

FELIX HONG : For my master degree, I also applied to conservatories in the United States. The reason why I ended up choosing UK to study at the Guildhall School of Music & Drama was not only because of my professor Ronan O’Hora, but also the opportunities that Guildhall provides to their students are unmatchable. (such as masterclasses and chamber music studies…etc.)

PAN M 360 : Where are you based now?

FELIX HONG : Currently, I am going back and forth between Montreal and Toronto. Despite being away from time to time, I am still proud to call Montreal my hometown!

PAN M 360 : It’s hard to say from the musician himself but let’s try : how would you describe your pianistic characteristic at this stage of your development?

FELIX HONG : This is indeed a very hard question to answer! Personally, I believe one’s pianistic characteristic can be related (or partially related) to their personalities; since performing is essentially another method to communicate. As I am a rather shy person, I have always naturally felt more comfortable performing lyrical, exquisite pieces. However, I wanted more development in myself to be a more complete artist, thus this year I picked a very challenging Kapustin Sonata to work on, which probably has one of the most virtuosic and flashy last movement I have ever played.

PAN M 360 : What is your quest as an interpret?

FELIX HONG : My quest as an interpret is to ensure that my audiences receive what character am I trying to deliver while I am performing the music. This depends on different works: I could be telling a story, and trying to walk the audiences along as we move into contrasting sections, I could be also simply creating an aura, and bring my audiences into a certain mood.

PAN M 360 : About the program. You’ve chosen Russian (and Russian Ukrainian) composers. So you must have an appeal for them. How did it happen in your artistic life?

FELIX HONG : I have been introduced to Medtner by Ilya during my studies at McGill. I was fascinated by Medtner’s ability in storytelling in his pieces; the way how Medtner’s composition techniques can be so sophisticated, adventurous but keeping everything together tight is just marvelous. On the other hand,

Scriabin has always been one of my favorite composers; studying his music from his earlier periods all the way to “late Scriabin” is quite a journey as we see how Scriabin develops his unique “colors” and gesture of expression. His music in his “mid period” where he was wandering by the boundaries of tonality is exceptionally beautiful.

I actually discovered Kapustin’s music from Youtube’s “Autoplay Next Video”, as one of his concert etudes pops up. Unlike many classical composers who added “jazz elements” into their compositions, Kapustin’s music has a jazz essence, with a classical formation structure. With that, Kapustin maintains jazz harmonies throughout his work, I failed in love studying his music immediately because of the colorful , but at the same time ambiguous harmonies.

PAN M 360 : We have here 2 generations of Russian composers. Can you comment on this choice

FELIX HONG : While Scriabin and Medtner shares relatively more similar style in terms of music in the late romantic period. Kapustin’s music also inherited many Russian music’s texture, for example in his neighboring long linear writing. I made the choice to present 2 generations of Russian composers to showcase how contrasting in musical styles they can be but can also have similar voice and compositional techniques at the same time.

PAN M 360 : Please give us an appeal of each challenge and love for playing those  

  1. The 2 Mélodies oubliées from Medtner – beginning of 20th century:

FELIX HONG : Even though this is probably one of the less complicated Medtner’s sonata, it doesn’t erase the fact that the Sonata Tragica has many virtuosic challenges and the difficulty to present a complete big picture of this work. My love for playing this piece is in the coda: even though technical very demanding but there is nothing more satisfying than playing a coda written by Medtner!

  1. The 5 préludes and 2 Poèmes from Scriabin – end of 19th century:

FELIX HONG : Out of all the preludes set that Scriabin wrote, the Op.16 set has probably the thinnest texture while reserving a huge amount of emotion. My love for playing Scriabin music is it often has a huge amount of room to make creative rubato and explore different possibilities of voicings. 

  1. The Kapustin Sonata no 1, – end od 20th century, sometimes very close to modern jazz.

FELIX HONG : In Kapustin’s first piano sonata, the most challenging part is to execute the complexity of its rhythm: the upbeat gestures, syncopations and rests are very challenging for a classically trained pianist. I enjoy playing this work a lot not only because jazz harmonies are so satisfying to hear! Jazz music can really help us pianists work with two-hand coordination, and creating different colors.

PAN M 360 : What are the next steps for Felix Hong?

FELIX HONG : In the past two years, I was mainly focusing as a collaborative pianist at McGill. While taking a break this year, I am able to work on more solo repertoire and various projects. I am planning to have a program of more Kapustin’s sonatas ready later in the year, and I can’t wait to present them so that more people can enjoy this classical-jazz amalgamation!

FELIX HONG PERFORMS RUSSIAN MUSIC ON WEDNESDAY, MARCH 15TH, 12 PM, SALLE CLAUDE-LÉVEILLÉE, PLACE DES ARTS. THIS PROGRAM IS PRESENTED BY PRO MUSICA

TICKETS & INFOS HERE:

PROGRAM :

NIKOLAI MEDTNER, Mélodies oubliées, op.39, IV. Canzona Matinata
NIKOLAI MEDTNER, Mélodies oubliées, op.39, V. Sonata Tragica
ALEXANDER SCRIABIN, 5 Préludes, op.16
ALEXANDER SCRIABIN, Deux Poèmes, op.32
NIKOLAI KAPUSTIN, Sonate pour piano no. 1“Sonate fantaisie”, op.39

Latest 360 Content

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – Conquering America with Vivaldi and Piazzolla

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – Conquering America with Vivaldi and Piazzolla

Shaina Hayes and her Kindergarten Heart

Shaina Hayes and her Kindergarten Heart

Piano Symphonique | Julia Mirzoev, Braden McConnell & Antoine Rivard-Landry

Piano Symphonique | Julia Mirzoev, Braden McConnell & Antoine Rivard-Landry

In Pursuit Of Repetitive Beats Experience Strives for Human Connection through VR

In Pursuit Of Repetitive Beats Experience Strives for Human Connection through VR

Martha Wainwright about her new jazz festival

Martha Wainwright about her new jazz festival

Semaine du Neuf | There Is No Music Without the Wind. L’être contre le vent by Matthias Krüger

Semaine du Neuf | There Is No Music Without the Wind. L’être contre le vent by Matthias Krüger

Deena Abdelwahed’s Swana electro: syncretism, commitment, a new standard

Deena Abdelwahed’s Swana electro: syncretism, commitment, a new standard

The Cool Trad of Nicolas Boulerice and Frédéric Samson

The Cool Trad of Nicolas Boulerice and Frédéric Samson

Semaine du Neuf | Psychedelic Afghanistan by Sam Shalabi and Shaista Latif

Semaine du Neuf | Psychedelic Afghanistan by Sam Shalabi and Shaista Latif

Semaine du Neuf | Sixtrum: the magic of… aquatic percussion!

Semaine du Neuf | Sixtrum: the magic of… aquatic percussion!

Semaine du Neuf | Haptic and Interdisciplinary Experiments by Jimmie Leblanc and Fareena Chanda

Semaine du Neuf | Haptic and Interdisciplinary Experiments by Jimmie Leblanc and Fareena Chanda

The country chaos of Nora Kelly

The country chaos of Nora Kelly

Matana Roberts explores radically different musical settings

Matana Roberts explores radically different musical settings

Gueuleuses: a web directory of extreme female vocalists

Gueuleuses: a web directory of extreme female vocalists

Semaine du Neuf: Les Percussions de Strasbourg… Ghostland of another kind

Semaine du Neuf: Les Percussions de Strasbourg… Ghostland of another kind

Ëda Diaz: a Colombian “French touch”

Ëda Diaz: a Colombian “French touch”

The Asadun Alay label: independent rhymes with the Levant

The Asadun Alay label: independent rhymes with the Levant

Erika Angell and The Obsession With Her Voice

Erika Angell and The Obsession With Her Voice

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

Felix Hong joue 2 générations de compositeurs russes

Interview réalisé par Alain Brunet

Le jeune pianiste Felix Hong a d’ores et déjà été honoré à plusieurs reprises. En 2016, il a reçu le premier prix du Concours de musique canadienne Canimex. En 2017, il a remporté le Prix d’Europe et a été sélectionné par la CBC sur sa liste des 30 musiciens classiques les plus prometteurs de moins de 30 ans.

Né à Taipei, à Taïwan, cet interprète très doué s’est installé au Canada en 2012 afin de poursuivre ses études en musique à l’Université McGill. Il a ensuite obtenu sa maîtrise à Londres, à la Guildhall School of Music and Drama.

Pour son récital montréalais présenté par Pro Musica dans le contexte de la série Mélodînes, le pianiste a choisi d’interpréter des œuvres d’Alexandre Scriabine, de Nikolaï Medtner et de Nikolaï Kapustin.

PAN M 360 : faisons d’abord connaissance! Votre profil biographique nous apprend que vous êtes originaire de Taiwan. Plus précisément, où votre famille s’est-elle installée au Canada avant que vous ne soyez inscrit à l’Université McGill ?

FELIX HONG : Ma famille était établie à Montréal avant que je ne vienne au Canada ! Avant d’étudier à McGill, j’ai visité Montréal pendant quelques étés lorsque j’étais enfant.

PAN M 360 : D’où vient cette inspiration pour devenir un pianiste classique professionnel ?

FELIX HONG : À l’école secondaire, j’avais eu l’occasion de jouer le Concerto pour piano n° 1 de Chopin avec un orchestre. Cela reste l’une des expériences les plus mémorables que j’ai vécues sur scène, car j’ai vraiment ressenti le lien qui existait entre moi et la musique. Pendant un certain temps, mon plus grand souhait a été d’avoir l’occasion de jouer à nouveau avec un orchestre, car je voulais revivre ce moment. C’est finalement devenu ma motivation pour travailler dur le piano et poursuivre une carrière de pianiste classique professionnel.

PAN M 360 : Quand avez-vous réalisé que vous aviez ce don ?

FELIX HONG : J’ai réalisé que j’avais ce don lorsque j’ai pu développer mes propres interprétations de différentes œuvres. J’ai également réalisé que j’étais déterminé à poursuivre lorsque j’ai pu passer des heures au piano à explorer les différentes expressions que je voulais transmettre dans un certain passage de musique.

PAN M 360 : Quels ont été vos principaux professeurs au Canada ?

FELIX HONG : J’ai obtenu mon baccalauréat et mon diplôme d’artiste à McGill avec le professeur Ilya Poletaev. Je peux toujours apprendre beaucoup de choses de lui et ses cours sont très inspirants !

PAN M 360 : Pourquoi avez-vous choisi de poursuivre vos études au Royaume-Uni ?

FELIX HONG : Pour ma maîtrise, j’ai également postulé à des conservatoires aux États-Unis. Si j’ai choisi le Royaume-Uni pour étudier à la Guildhall School of Music & Drama, ce n’est pas seulement à cause de mon professeur Ronan O’Hora, mais aussi parce que les possibilités offertes par la Guildhall à ses étudiants sont incomparables – classes de maîtres, études de musique de chambre, etc.

PAN M 360 : Où vivez-vous actuellement ?

FELIX HONG : Je fais des allers-retours entre Montréal et Toronto. Bien que je sois de temps en temps absent, je suis toujours fier d’appeler Montréal ma ville d’origine !

PAN M 360 : C’est difficile de l’exprimer pour un musicien, mais essayons : comment décririez-vous vos caractéristiques pianistiques à ce stade de votre développement ?

FELIX HONG : C’est en effet une question à laquelle il est très difficile de répondre ! Personnellement, je pense que les caractéristiques pianistiques d’une personne peuvent être liées (ou partiellement liées) à sa personnalité, puisque l’interprétation est essentiellement une autre méthode de communication. Comme je suis une personne plutôt timide, je me suis toujours senti plus à l’aise dans l’interprétation de pièces lyriques et exquises. Cette année, j’ai donc choisi de travailler sur une sonate de Kapustin, très difficile, dont le dernier mouvement est probablement l’un des plus virtuoses et des plus éclatants que j’aie jamais joués.

PAN M 360 : Quelle est votre quête en tant qu’interprète?

FELIX HONG : Mon objectif est de faire en sorte que mon public perçoive ma personnalité, qui je suis pendant que j’interprète la musique. Cela dépend des œuvres : je peux raconter une histoire et essayer d’accompagner le public dans des sections contrastées, mais je peux aussi simplement projeter une aura et emmener mon public dans un certain état, une certaine atmosphère.

PAN M 360 : Pour ce programme, vous avez choisi des compositeurs russes (et ukrainiens). Vous devez donc avoir un attrait pour eux. Comment cela s’est-il produit dans votre vie artistique ?

FELIX HONG : C’est Ilya qui m’a fait découvrir Medtner pendant mes études à McGill. J’ai été fasciné par la capacité de Medtner à raconter des histoires dans ses pièces ; la façon dont les techniques de composition de Medtner peuvent être si sophistiquées, aventureuses, tout en gardant l’ensemble bien serré est tout simplement merveilleuse. D’autre part,

Scriabine a toujours été l’un de mes compositeurs préférés ; l’étude de sa musique depuis ses premières périodes jusqu’au “Scriabine tardif” est un véritable voyage, car nous voyons comment Scriabine développe ses “couleurs” et ses gestes d’expression uniques. Sa musique dans sa “période intermédiaire”, où il s’éloignait des limites de la tonalité, est d’une beauté exceptionnelle.

J’ai découvert la musique de Kapustin grâce à la fonction Autoplay Next Video de Youtube, qui fait apparaître l’un de ses concerts études. Contrairement à de nombreux compositeurs classiques qui ont ajouté des “éléments de jazz” à leurs compositions, la musique de Kapustin a une essence proprement jazz, avec une structure de formation classique. Je suis tombé amoureux de sa musique immédiatement à cause des harmonies à la fois colorées et ambiguës.

PAN M 360 : Nous avons ici deux générations de compositeurs russes. Pouvez-vous commenter ce choix ?

FELIX HONG : Alors que Scriabine et Medtner partagent un style relativement similaire, issu de la période post-romantique, la musique de Kapustin a également hérité de Scriabine et de Medtner. Or, la musique de Kapustin a également hérité de nombreuses textures de la musique russe, par exemple dans le voisinage de longues écritures linéaires. J’ai choisi de présenter deux générations de compositeurs russes pour montrer à quel point ils peuvent véhiculer des styles musicaux contrastés, mais aussi des voix et des techniques de composition similaires.

PAN M 360 : Donnez-nous svp un aperçu de chaque défi et de l’attachement que vous avez pour jouer ces pièces inscrites à votre programme:.

Les 2 Mélodies oubliées de Medtner – début du 20ème siècle :


FELIX HONG : Même s’il s’agit probablement d’une des sonates les moins compliquées de Medtner, cela n’efface pas le fait que la Sonata Tragica comporte de nombreux défis virtuoses et la difficulté de présenter une image complète de cette œuvre. Ce que j’aime dans cette pièce, c’est la coda : même si elle est techniquement très exigeante, il n’y a rien de plus satisfaisant que de jouer une coda écrite par Medtner !

Les 5 préludes et 2 poèmes de Scriabine – fin du 19ème siècle :


FELIX HONG : De tous les préludes écrits par Scriabine, celui de l’opus 16 a probablement la texture la plus fine tout en réservant une énorme quantité d’émotion. Ce que j’aime dans la musique de Scriabine, c’est qu’elle offre souvent une grande marge de manœuvre pour créer des rubato créatifs et explorer différentes possibilités de voicings.

La Sonate n° 1 de Kapustin, – fin du 20e siècle, très proche du jazz moderne.

FELIX HONG : Dans la première sonate pour piano de Kapustin, le plus difficile est d’exécuter la complexité du rythme : les gestes enlevés, les syncopes et les silences sont un véritable défi pour un pianiste de formation classique. J’aime beaucoup jouer cette œuvre, et pas seulement parce que les harmonies de jazz sont si agréables à entendre ! La musique de jazz peut vraiment nous aider, nous les pianistes, à travailler la coordination des deux mains et à créer différentes couleurs.

PAN M 360 : Quelles sont les prochaines étapes pour Felix Hong ?

FELIX HONG : Ces deux dernières années, je me suis surtout concentré sur mon travail de pianiste collaborateur à McGill. En faisant une pause cette année, je suis en mesure de travailler sur un répertoire plus soliste et sur divers projets. Je prévois de préparer un programme de sonates de Kapustin plus tard dans l’année, et j’ai hâte de les présenter pour que plus de gens puissent apprécier cet amalgame classique-jazz !

FELIX HONG JOUE DE LA MUSIQUE RUSSE CE MERCREDI MIDI, 15 MARS, SALLE CLAUDE-LÉVEILLÉE, PLACE DES ARTS. CE PROGRAMME EST PRÉSENTÉ PAR PRO MUSICA DANS LE CADRE DE SA SÉRIE MÉLODÎNES

BILLETSS & INFOS ICI:

PROGRAMME :

NIKOLAI MEDTNER, Mélodies oubliées, op.39, IV. Canzona Matinata
NIKOLAI MEDTNER, Mélodies oubliées, op.39, V. Sonata Tragica
ALEXANDER SCRIABIN, 5 Préludes, op.16
ALEXANDER SCRIABIN, Deux Poèmes, op.32
NIKOLAI KAPUSTIN, Sonate pour piano no. 1“Sonate fantaisie”, op.39

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre