Busty & the Bass: MTL groove, world class groove

Interview by Alain Brunet

There are eight of them. Four Canadians, four Americans. They met at McGill University in the early 2010s, decided to stay in Montreal and began to expand internationally. In 2017, Busty & the Bass launched the album Uncommon Good on Indica, now here’s Eddie on the Arts & Crafts label, an ambitious production by Neil Pogue with prestigious guests George Clinton, Macy Gray, and rappers Illa J and Jon Connor. Bassist Milo Johnson sums up the new chapter.

Genres and styles : Electronic / Hip Hop / Jazz / Pop / R&B / Soul

Additional Information

(Photo: Maya Fuhr)

Clearly, the golden age of the “Montreal sound” is far behind us. The hipster generation is in its forties, Arcade Fire and the rest have toured the world, we’re two decades later and… here are new residents with big dreams, more inclined to R&B than indie rock. Busty & the Bass have the firm intention of conquering the global soul-pop market, this time blending with hip-hop, electro, and jazz.

“I’m from Washington D.C.,” says Johnson. “When I was 17, I came to Montreal, almost nine years ago, to study music at McGill, where I met all my friends in the band, and I decided to stay. Montreal is a great place to be for everything I’m interested in.”

The new album from Busty & the Bass was built around a concept: Eddie. Johnson offers an outline.

Eddie‘s a fictional character. The record as a whole is a kind of mixtape, conceived as a message for our young selves, a kind of beacon that serves as a light at the end of the tunnel, that helps us get through the difficult moments and the uncertainty that overwhelm us, that helps us reflect on what we have been and what we have become today.”

For Johnson, Eddie represents an important and even decisive advance in the development of Busty & the Bass.

“It’s certainly a huge step forward, after a long and winding journey. This new album is a kind of pinnacle of our pop output, and a dream in terms of the characteristics we were able to achieve on this record. We went into the studio and used it more as an instrument. We did a fully fleshed-out recording process there, done by real, live musicians. When you express that through eight musicians, incredible things come out of it. A lot of lushness, more maturity acquired in writing, in the instrumentation and in production. So, yeah it’s a big step in that direction. In addition, we have diversified the musical genres even more, you’ll hear more jazz and classical influences, for example, chamber-music sections have been woven into pop songs. I think it’s a wonderful encounter that comes across beautifully.”

From the very beginning of their recording career, the musicians of Busty & the Bass were able to work with producer Neal Pogue, whose resume is impressive – Outkast, Anderson Paak, Janelle Monáe, Tyler the Creator, Nicki Minaj, and Earth, Wind & Fire, to list a few.

“Neal is originally from New Jersey, he worked in Atlanta for a while producing and mixing, and then moved to Los Angeles. I think it’s really cool for us to work with someone of that stature, who was involved in the music industry even before the digital era, because many recording practices from before get lost. The nature of production used to mean working with a group of instrumentalists, whereas nowadays, most of the time, producers create the track and the singer goes on top. Neil has worked with big bands like Earth, Wind & Fire – here with us in the studio is someone who helps create the sound and facilitate our musical journey.

“I think the most interesting part is going through a second full-length album process with the same producer. It’s just beautiful working with somebody who knows all the personalities, and is able to get the best out of us. Pogue has really helped us all grow as individuals and musicians. He always says that for him working with us as a band was like having eight kids. That was such an honour to collaborate with amazing artists and elders in the music industry.”

It should also be noted that Pogue’s network includes Verdine White. The legendary bassist of Earth, Wind & Fire participated in the production of this album.

“Verdine got involved with us after seeing a couple of our shows in Los Angeles. He and Nick had meetings in L.A. about our recording sessions, he’s been a great supporter, providing feedback on our songs, thinking about the best selection, and he and Nick have done some writing together for us. Pretty unbelievable, actually! When I was a kid, I was going to give my dad a record as a birthday present, I bought this Earth, Wind & Fire compilation. Then I played bass along with this music.”

In addition to Michigan rappers Illa J and Jon Connor, Busty & the Bass had a special guest. The legendary George Clinton, one of the founding fathers of psychedelic funk, expressed himself on the song “Baggy Eyed Dope Man”.

“George Clinton is one of my living idols. Just for his ability to create his Parliament-Funkadelic universe, and also his side projects. Musically, visually, conceptually, he’s such a legend, we are so indebted to him for everything he’s given to the music. So yeah, we got the idea of having him featured, we developed the song around that so we also put in a doo-wop section, reminiscent of his early days. We were super lucky to have him.”

Another guest star on Eddie’s programme is the singer Macy Gray, who enjoyed a heyday at the turn of the 2000s.

“Our relationship with Macy Gray goes back a while because we covered her stuff at our early beginnings as a group. With this song ‘Out Of Love’ developing, we had suggested her feature… we thought it was hilarious and would never happen. Neal had also worked with her, it was just a lucky line in. I really love what she ended up doing on the track. Incredible musical and writing abilities, such a pleasure to work with her on this.”

Busty & the Bass choose an approach reconciling neo-soul, R&B, hip-hop, and jazz groove mixed with electro and the legacy of legendary combos such as Earth, Wind & Fire, Parliament-Funkadelic, Tower of Power and Average White Band. The brass and reed arrangements are reminiscent of Roy Hargrove’s work for D’Angelo… 

What’s up? Retro-nuovo? Not quite, Johnson suggests.

“With us, it’s a constant effort for a new combination of sounds, we’re really lucky to have come up just being very aware of our musical history, the legacy that we’d learned from and our walking through the lineage of. So it’s a never-ending process, there’s always a new way of recontextualizing stuff that we’ve already learned. We are interested in a massive scope of different music that have been produced, even in the last five years, but we also have a connection with music from the previous decades. 

“Everybody writes in the band, we’re trying to blend so many different voices, to keep them unique but also not water them down. We stay true to the history, but we also try to create something new. Moving forward, we’re constantly building upon a foundation that we handed down to us. It is one of the most exciting drivers for us.”

Respect for the past, openness to the future… necessarily marked by the digital environment. For an octet made up of university-educated instrumentalists, this is another ecosystem to be mastered in order to avoid redundancy and nostalgia.

“We’re instrumentalists, but many of us are producers in our individual side projects. Many of those projects are very influenced by electronic music, from techno to dubstep to electronic jazz. One of the super exciting things in this band is being able to bridge those two worlds. There’s not a ton of overlap, but you’re able to express so much with so little. You can now take an acoustic piano and make it sound like anything you want. I think that there’s so much freedom and opportunity in a studio production context, especially when you’re working with such beautiful recorded material. Yeah, we aim for a beautiful blend between instruments and an electronic approach.”

As for transposing the material to the stage, it has to wait a while, pandemic and all. Nevertheless… more revisiting is yet to come.  

“When you try to recreate a record for a show, it doesn’t really do justice for what you are as a performer. The fun of transitioning from the studio to the stage is rather in finding what can surprise the audience. A live show is its own experience, its own piece of art. And there are eight voices in the band, it presents so many possibilities of music and layering, especially in a live sense, and I think that live show experience is something that people don’t get now, very rare in these days. So it is important for us to build on that legacy.”

Latest 360 Content

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Tribute to Mémoire et Racines against a backdrop of trad/classical reunion

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Tribute to Mémoire et Racines against a backdrop of trad/classical reunion

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Club Sagacité at the Festival, San Farafina explains

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Club Sagacité at the Festival, San Farafina explains

Piknic Elektronic | Jordan Gardner, from TO to MTL “for the artistry”

Piknic Elektronic | Jordan Gardner, from TO to MTL “for the artistry”

Domaine Forget 2024 | American Landscape at the Domaine, Nicholas Walker tells us about it

Domaine Forget 2024 | American Landscape at the Domaine, Nicholas Walker tells us about it

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Fredy Massamba, a Congolese (from Montreal) on 3 Continents

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Fredy Massamba, a Congolese (from Montreal) on 3 Continents

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Yoav Levanon, prodigy in recital or with orchestra

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Yoav Levanon, prodigy in recital or with orchestra

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | A Chat With Ibibio Sound Machine  Frontwoman Eno Williams

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | A Chat With Ibibio Sound Machine Frontwoman Eno Williams

Valérie Ekoumè on tour in Canada : mutual love and jubilant rhythms

Valérie Ekoumè on tour in Canada : mutual love and jubilant rhythms

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Quatuor Diotima in Quebec: musical dialogues from past and present

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Quatuor Diotima in Quebec: musical dialogues from past and present

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

The Festival d’Art Vocal de Montréal Opens to the General Public

The Festival d’Art Vocal de Montréal Opens to the General Public

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado and his “caipira” guitar

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado and his “caipira” guitar

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino: human warmth with the beat of the desert

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino: human warmth with the beat of the desert

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega Extends Her Kingdom to MTL

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega Extends Her Kingdom to MTL

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Def Mama Def, Women’s Karma

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Def Mama Def, Women’s Karma

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO: Embracing Brazilian Traditions and Modernity 

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO: Embracing Brazilian Traditions and Modernity 

Truck Violence Burns It Down and Starts Again

Truck Violence Burns It Down and Starts Again

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un “fils de”… voici Kirá!

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un “fils de”… voici Kirá!

Jowee Omicil invites the liberating spirits of Bwa Kayman

Jowee Omicil invites the liberating spirits of Bwa Kayman

Dobet Gnahoré: an angel comes and stays

Dobet Gnahoré: an angel comes and stays

Baltra at Piknic Electronik | From lo-fi house to now

Baltra at Piknic Electronik | From lo-fi house to now

Jaeden Izik-Dzurko: A look back at the CMIM and a glance forward

Jaeden Izik-Dzurko: A look back at the CMIM and a glance forward

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

Busty & the Bass : Lorsque le groove MTL vise le monde

Interview réalisé par Alain Brunet

Ils sont huit. Quatre Canadiens, quatre Américains. Ils se sont rencontrés à l’Université McGill au début des années 2010, ils ont décidé de rester à Montréal et entrepris d’y rayonner internationalement. En 2017, Busty & the Bass lançait l’opus Uncommon Good chez Indica, voici maintenant Eddie sous étiquette Arts & Crafts, ambitieuse réalisation de Neil Pogue avec pour invités prestigieux George Clinton, Macy Gray les rappers Illa J et Jon Connor. Le bassiste Milo Johnson résume le nouveau chapitre.

Genres et styles : électronique / hip-hop / jazz / pop / R&B / soul

renseignements supplémentaires

(Crédit photo : Maya Fuhr)

À l’évidence, l’âge d’or du « Montreal sound » est loin derrière nous. La génération hipster a atteint la quarantaine, Arcade Fire et consorts ont fait le tour de la planète, nous voilà deux décennies plus tard et… voici de nouveaux résidants aux rêves grandioses, plus enclins au R&B qu’à l’indie rock : la formation Busty & the Bass a la ferme intention de conquérir le marché mondial de la soul pop, cette fois mâtinée de hip-hop, d’électro et de jazz. 

« Je viens de Washington. Je suis arrivé à Montréal à 17 ans, soit il y a près de neuf ans, pour étudier la musique à McGill, où j’ai rencontré tous mes amis du groupe, et j’ai décidé de rester. Montréal est un endroit formidable pour tout ce qui m’intéresse », raconte Milo Johnson, bassiste de Busty and the Bass.

Le nouvel album de Busty and the Bass s’est construit autour d’un concept : Eddie. Milo Johnson en dessine le profil :

« Eddie est un personnage fictif. L’album se veut une sorte mixtape conçu comme un message destiné à nous, plus jeunes, sorte de balise qui sert de lumière au bout du tunnel, qui aide à traverser les moments difficiles et l’incertitude qui nous accablent, qui aide à réfléchir à ce que nous avons été et à ce que nous sommes devenus. »

Pour Milo Johnson, Eddie représente une avancée importante voire déterminante dans le parcours de Busty and the Bass :

« C’est assurément un grand pas en avant, au terme d’un voyage long et sinueux. Ce nouvel album constitue l’apogée de notre pop et un rêve pour ce qui est des caractéristiques que nous avons pu obtenir sur ce disque. Lorsque nous sommes entrés en studio, nous avons utilisé celui-ci davantage comme un instrument. Nous y avons mené un processus d’enregistrement d’art vivant, fait par des musiciens en chair et en os. Quand on peut s’exprimer à travers huit musiciens, des choses incroyables se produisent. Une opulence et plus de maturité dans l’écriture, dans l’instrumentation et dans la production. C’est donc un grand pas dans cette direction. De plus, nous avons diversifié encore davantage les genres musicaux. Vous y observerez par exemple plus d’influences jazz et classiques, des sections de musique de chambre se sont transformées en chansons pop. Je pense qu’il s’agit d’une superbe rencontre et le résultat est magnifique. »

Dès le début de leur parcours discographique, les musiciens de Busty and the Bass ont pu travailler avec le réalisateur Neal Pogue, dont la liste des clients impressionne : Outkast, Anderson. Paak, Janelle Monáe, Tyler the Creator, Nicki Minaj, Earth, Wind & Fire, pour ne citer que ceux-là.

« Neal est originaire du New Jersey. Il a travaillé à Atlanta pendant un certain temps à la production et au mixage, puis s’est installé à Los Angeles. Je pense que c’est vraiment cool pour nous de travailler avec quelqu’un de cette stature qui était dans l’industrie de la musique avant même l’ère numérique car les pratiques d’avant se perdent. La nature de la production signifiait autrefois travailler avec un groupe d’instrumentistes alors que de nos jours, la plupart du temps, les gens créent la musique sur laquelle les chanteurs couchent leur voix. Neil a travaillé avec de grands groupes tels qu’Earth, Wind & Fire, voilà avec nous une personne contribuant à créer un son et faciliter notre voyage musical. »

« Je pense que la dimension la plus intéressante a été de créer un second album complet avec le même réalisateur. C’est tout simplement génial de pouvoir travailler avec quelqu’un qui connaît nos personnalités et qui peut tirer le meilleur de nous. Neal Pogue nous a vraiment aidés à grandir en tant qu’individus et en tant que musiciens. Neal dit toujours que travailler avec nous, c’était comme avoir huit enfants. Ç’a été un honneur pour nous que de collaborer avec des artistes formidables et des vétérans de l’industrie de la musique. »

Encore faut-il rappeler que le réseau de Neal Pogue comprend Verdine White. Le légendaire bassiste de Earth, Wind & Fire a participé à la production de cet album :

« Verdine s’est engagé avec nous après avoir assisté à quelques-uns de nos spectacles à Los Angeles. Nick et lui ont tenu des réunions à L.A. au sujet de nos séances d’enregistrement. Il a été un grand supporter, nous a fourni moult commentaires sur nos chansons, il a réfléchi à la sélection des pièces, et Nick et lui ont également composé pour nous. C’est assez incroyable en fait ! Quand j’étais jeune, j’ai voulu offrir un disque comme cadeau d’anniversaire à mon père et je m’étais alors procuré une compilation de EWF, dont j’ai ensuite accompagné les chansons à la basse. »

Hormis les rappers du Michigan Illa J et Jon Connor, Busty and the Bass a pu compter sur un invité de marque : le légendaire George Clinton, l’un des pères fondateurs du funk mâtiné de psychédélisme, s’exprime dans la chanson Baggy Eyed Dope Man.

« George Clinton est l’une de mes idoles, pour sa capacité à créer l’univers de Parliament / Funkadelic, sans compter ses autres projets. Musicalement, visuellement, conceptuellement, c’est un tel visionnaire ! Nous lui sommes redevables de tout ce qu’il a donné à la musique. Alors, oui, nous avons eu l’idée de l’inviter. Nous avons alors conçu une chanson autour de cette invitation, nous y avons intégré une section de doo wop qui rappelle les débuts de sa carrière. Nous avons eu beaucoup de chance qu’il vienne. »

Autre personnalité invitée au programme d’Eddie, la chanteuse Macy Gray qui a connu ses heures de gloire fin 90 début 2000.

« Notre relation avec Macy Gray remonte à un certain temps, car nous avons joué son matériel dès nos débuts. Au moment de la création de la chanson Out of Love, nous avons suggéré de l’inviter… à la blague, pensant que cela ne pourrait jamais se faire. Or, comme Neil avait déjà travaillé avec elle, ç’a été notre chance. J’adore ce qu’elle a fait sur ce titre. Elle a un don et des capacités d’écriture incroyables, ç’a été un vrai plaisir de travailler avec elle sur ce projet. »

Busty and the Bass choisit une approche réconciliant une neo soul / R&B / hip-hop / jazz groove mâtinée d’électro et le legs de combos légendaires tels Earth,Wind & Fire, Parliament / Funkadelic, Tower of Power et autres Average White Band. Les arrangements de cuivres et anches ne sont pas sans rappeler le travail de Roy Hargrove pour D’Angelo… 

Alors ? Rétro-nuovo ? Pas tout à fait, nuance Milo Johnson :

« Nous cherchons constamment à créer de nouvelles combinaisons de sons. Nous avons vraiment de la chance d’être très conscients de notre histoire musicale, nous en avons donc tiré des leçons et poursuivons dans cette voie.  C’est donc un processus sans fin, il y a toujours une nouvelle façon de recontextualiser les choses que nous avons apprises. Nous nous intéressons au large éventail des différentes musiques qui ont été produites, même au cours des cinq dernières années, mais nous avons aussi un lien avec la musique des décennies précédentes.

« Tout le monde écrit dans le groupe, nous essayons de mélanger tant de voix différentes que cela les rend uniques, mais sans les diluer. Nous restons fidèles à l’histoire, mais nous essayons aussi de créer quelque chose de neuf. Ça demeure quelque chose de très stimulant pour nous. »   

Respect du passé, ouverture sur l’avenir… forcément marqué par l’environnement numérique. Pour un octuor constitué d’instrumentistes formés au niveau universitaire, voilà un autre écosystème à maîtriser pour éviter toute redondance et toute nostalgie.

« Nous sommes des instrumentistes mais plusieurs d’entre nous sommes producteurs de nos projets individuels. Beaucoup de ces projets sont très influencés par la musique électronique, de la techno au dubstep en passant par le jazz électronique. Une des choses les plus excitantes dans ce groupe, c’est de pouvoir faire le pont entre ces deux univers. Il n’y a pas une tonne de chevauchements, mais on peut exprimer tant de choses avec si peu. On peut maintenant prendre un piano acoustique et lui donner le son qu’on veut. Il y a tellement de possibilités dans un contexte de production en studio. Et, oui, nous cherchons à avoir un beau mélange entre instruments et approche électronique. »

Quant à la transcription de la matière sur scène, elle doit attendre un peu, pandémie oblige. Il n’en demeure pas moins que… d’autres relectures sont à venir :  

« Lorsqu’on essaie de recréer un disque en spectacle, cela ne rend pas vraiment justice à qui l’on est comme interprète. Le plaisir de la transition du studio à la scène consiste plutôt à trouver ce qui peut surprendre le public. Un spectacle est une expérience en propre, une œuvre d’art distincte. Il y a huit voix dans ce groupe, ce qui représente tellement de possibilités. De nos jours, bien peu de gens ont accès à l’expérience du concert avec autant de musiciens, c’est très rare. Il est important pour nous de bâtir sur ce legs. »

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre