Bar Farouk: Half a century of Beirut nightlife… before it all fell apart

Interview by Alain Brunet

Bar Farouk sums up the nightlife of Beirut, from the ’20s to the ’70s… before the sky fell on the heads of the Lebanese.

Genres and styles : Arabic

Additional Information

Bar Farouk is a colourful, multidisciplinary show presented at the Metro Al Madina space in the Hamra district of Beirut. Its audiovisual version is broadcast as part of Montreal’s Festival du Monde Arabe, allowing a virtual plunge into downtown Beirut, the hard-hit capital of 2020. A crucial artist in this show is singer Yasmina Fayed, who connected with PAN M 360 from Lebanon.

PAN M 360: Tell us about the genesis of your show, which is about the nightlife of Beirut before the civil war.

Yasmina Fayed: Seven years ago, Metro created a new show called Hishik Bishik. We tried to assemble the “greatest hits” of the golden era in Egypt, songs that were loved by the whole Arab world, along with a certain story to link these songs together. As the two-hour show progresses, the songs do too, chronologically, meaning that during our research, we tried to choose songs that were the hits of the years between the 1920s and the 1970s. The show was a success, and it’s still running for the seventh year. Hicham Jaber, the director of the show, thought it was inevitable to give the same salute to the songwriters and artists of Lebanon, so Bar Farouk, with the same group of actors and musicians, was created.

PAN M 360: How is the show put together, and staged?

YF: Beirut has always been a vibrant city, witnessing the arrival of artists and intellectuals from all over the Arab world.The name Bar Farouk was inspired by Theatre Farouk, which actually existed in the old Beirut, downtown. The theatre presented various shows, and the most promising artists from Egypt and Syria gathered there to discuss art and give performances. As the years went by, and war was looming in the air, la decadence was mirrored in the grand theatre’s performances. Pioneers were replaced by amateurs.

The director tried again to copy the images and colours of the city. Progressing again from the ’20s to the year 1975, when the Lebanese civil war started. The audience is transported in time, through the songs, melodies, and costumes. The show takes place in the famous theatre, and with each song, the characters of the show are revealed, introducing the femmes fatales of the cabaret, along with the usual band, the romantic singer, the comic duo, and the abaday, meaning the strong fellow that everyone fears, the Robin Hood of the Beiruti streets (every street in Beirut had its own abaday). The visuals playing in the background are essential because they play the role of the sand clock, that gives the audience an indicator of time passing by.

PAN M 360: Who handles the musical direction?  

YF: Ziad al Ahmadiya is in charge of the musical arrangements in both Hishik Bishik and Bar Farouk. Musically, some of the original songs were performed at the Lebanese radio station, so they had an orchestra playing with the singer. In Bar Farouk, Ziad tried to preserve the spirit of the different eras presented through his arrangements.

PAN M 360: Who are the main soloists, singers, and musicians?

YF: The performers and musicians are Ziad al Ahmadiya (oud and vocals), Ziad Jaafar (violin and vocals), Bahaa Daou (percussions and vocals), Samah Abi El Mona (accordion and vocals), Diaa Hamza (accordion and vocals),  Bachar Farran (bass), Wissam Dalati (costumes, vocals, and performance), Roy Deeb (vocals and performance), Ahmad al Khatib (vocals and performance), Randa Makhoul (vocals and belly-dancer), Lina Sahhab (vocals and performance), and Yasmina Fayed (vocals and performance).

PAN M 360: How has the show evolved? What changes have been made over time?

YF: Each member of the band did their own research about the character he or she was playing. A lot of one-on-one meetings were held with the director, and we discussed costumes, and the characters’ attitudes. The show is not just about singing; every person on stage represents a certain character that the Lebanese audience relates to. As time went by, the characters we were playing were continuously developing, and asides began to be heard, revealing each of the characters’ own world. For example, you could hear a dispute between the “girls”, or advances from one of the male characters to one of the girls in the cabaret. It’s as if we’ve always known what the show is about, and with time, it all fell into the right place.

PAN M 360: Is this show a source of nostalgia for the Lebanese who lived through the great years of modern Beirut?

YF: Indeed it is! The audience is transported through time with every song, and every tune. The songs were carefully selected to create that impact. You’ll see someone in the audience smiling, or rushing to whisper in someone else’s ear that he remembers this song. Nostalgia is the main driver of the show, we revived a lot of musicians and performers that only few knew about, and brought to light some of the greatest artists that were forgotten, intentionally or unintentionally, over time. I guess that’s why the show turned out to be a hit.

PAN M 360: How have younger audiences reacted?

YF: When Metro opened its doors eight years ago, the younger audience were seen flocking to see the shows and get a glimpse of what was happening in the capital. They were, and still are, curious. They want to see what’s new, they want to see new shows. So when the idea came to revisit a bygone era, the younger audience manifested love and appreciation, and you could see them coming again to see the show twice or more, inviting their parents and friends.

PAN M 360: Do you see an international potential for the presentation of this show? How do you think it could reach audiences around the world?

YF: I consider the audience to be my own “guests”. They are visiting us to see us dance and sing, and they sing along and dance too. Many people from different nationalities have come to see Bar Farouk, and their reaction was as overwhelming as any other Lebanese or Arab. So I think that taking part in this celebration is very important. People will be reintroduced to the forgotten face of Lebanon – the Lebanon that had la joie de vivre!

PAN M 360: How did you adapt Bar Farouk as an audiovisual production?

YF: For us on stage, we tried to perform as if we had a full house. We had the cameras to look at, keeping in mind that a big audience will be watching behind those lenses. What the cameras were trying to catch was the little details that are happening in the corners of the stage; they tried to capture every move of every character so that the people watching online could get into the mood, as if they were seated inside the theatre.

PAN M 360: Can you tell us the history of your troupe, of your artistic direction?

YF: We have always been friends, all of us, really. We knew each other by name, or because we’ve had some work in common during our time at university. When Metro decided to produce Hishik Bishik, everything fell into its right place, as if we were meant to come together. And here we are, still performing both shows. 

PAN M 360: Recent events in Beirut have been very difficult, and come on top of the hardships experienced by the Lebanese. What’s your state of mind?

YF: I think I speak on behalf of a lot of us when I say we are tired. We are depressed. During the first days of the revolution, someone had written that the Lebanese people are the happiest depressed people you’ll ever meet, and that is very true. We know the situation we are in, and we are trying to make the best of it. We’ve decided to move on. I am writing to you now, thinking about the deteriorating economic and political situation, about the people who have lost their homes after the 4th of August port explosion, and about rain. It’s raining in Beirut and so many people haven’t had the proper help needed to restore their houses. They know they won’t get the help needed from the government. I think about our performances, about joy, songs and dancing, depression, lockdown, bankruptcies… I think these are great topics for a new show! We have to move on. We need to move on.

PAN M 360: There was a lot of vigour for protest among Beirut’s young people before the explosion, some now speak of gloom and discouragement… what do you think?

YF: Lebanon has always had its ups and downs, but the young ones have always managed to pick up the pieces and carry on. Youth from all over the Arab world have come to Beirut to experience freedom of speech and get a taste of art and fantasy. I am afraid that this time it’s different. We tried to raise our voice, it was unheard. We tried to carry on, and thought that through hard work we will have it our way, and then came the explosion.

PAN M 360: What are your plans for the future? Stay in Hamra? Move? Work for the cultural reconstruction of Beirut?

YF: Being Lebanese is hard nowadays. As I said earlier, we are tired… constantly worried. Thinking about what’s to come, knowing that we have only ourselves to count on. I cannot leave Lebanon or Beirut, though I dream of peace of mind! But this is where we belong. We have learned how to zigzag through it all. Build our small world, through performing arts or small businesses. This is what it’s all about, isn’t it? Surviving through it all, while keeping your head above water.

Latest 360 Content

Habitat Sonore at Centre Phi| Summer playlist and ideal venue for active, immersive listening

Habitat Sonore at Centre Phi| Summer playlist and ideal venue for active, immersive listening

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege is aiming joy and sassiness

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege is aiming joy and sassiness

Suoni | Sarah Davachi and the idea of being played by No Hay Banda

Suoni | Sarah Davachi and the idea of being played by No Hay Banda

Phi Centre | KALLITECHNIS is about sensuality and introspection

Phi Centre | KALLITECHNIS is about sensuality and introspection

Montréal Baroque Fest 2024 : discover the ‘’Multiverse’’ programming

Montréal Baroque Fest 2024 : discover the ‘’Multiverse’’ programming

L’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explains the Gala de la Terre

L’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explains the Gala de la Terre

Bell Orchestre becomes immersive and interactive, House Music becomes Sound House at SAT

Bell Orchestre becomes immersive and interactive, House Music becomes Sound House at SAT

INTERVIEW: Dumai Dunai releases debut album

INTERVIEW: Dumai Dunai releases debut album

SAT Dômesicle | Elena Colombi, a lot from the head for the body

SAT Dômesicle | Elena Colombi, a lot from the head for the body

Jill Barber: in French, again and always!

Jill Barber: in French, again and always!

Classica Festival – Piazzolla, de New York à Paris

Classica Festival – Piazzolla, de New York à Paris

Suoni Per Il Popolo | Kiva Stimac explains her artistic direction

Suoni Per Il Popolo | Kiva Stimac explains her artistic direction

Phi Centre | Kee Avil plays the material of SPINE

Phi Centre | Kee Avil plays the material of SPINE

Lyric women of today: discover 3 new all-female operas at Bourgie

Lyric women of today: discover 3 new all-female operas at Bourgie

Vancouver Turning Point Ensemble celebrates in Montreal with SMCQ

Vancouver Turning Point Ensemble celebrates in Montreal with SMCQ

FIMAV 2024 | Sélébéyone, or cultural intersections according to Steve Lehman

FIMAV 2024 | Sélébéyone, or cultural intersections according to Steve Lehman

Kaia Kater Talks About Her New Album Strange Medicine

Kaia Kater Talks About Her New Album Strange Medicine

FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

CMIM – Piano 2024: The finalists’ penultimate stretch (Part 2)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The finalists’ penultimate stretch (Part 2)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The penultimate round of finalists (Part 1)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The penultimate round of finalists (Part 1)

Musical Chairs, a chamber music festival at the Schulich School of Music

Musical Chairs, a chamber music festival at the Schulich School of Music

Swing the Mass at Cinquième salle : Will Todd’s Mass in Blue for a rare occasion in Quebec

Swing the Mass at Cinquième salle : Will Todd’s Mass in Blue for a rare occasion in Quebec

Meet Uuriintuya Khalivan: the woman who brings Mongolia to Canada

Meet Uuriintuya Khalivan: the woman who brings Mongolia to Canada

Women’s Silk Roads at the Centre des Musiciens du Monde Festival 2024

Women’s Silk Roads at the Centre des Musiciens du Monde Festival 2024

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

Bar Farouk : un demi-siècle de night life à Beyrouth… avant l’enfer

Interview réalisé par Alain Brunet

Bar Farouk résume les nuits de Beyrouth, des années 20 aux années 70… avant que le ciel tombe sur la tête des Libanais.

Genres et styles : arabe

renseignements supplémentaires

Bar Farouk est un spectacle multidisciplinaire haut en couleur présenté à l’espace Metro Al Madina, dans le quartier Hamra de Beyrouth. Sa version audiovisuelle est retransmise dans le contexte du Festival du Monde Arabe de Montréal, ce qui nous permet de plonger virtuellement au centre-ville de Beyrouth, capitale durement éprouvée en 2020, comme on le sait. Artiste cruciale de ce spectacle, la chanteuse Yasmina Fayed en cause à PAN M 360 depuis le Liban.

PAN M 360 : Rappelez-nous la genèse de votre spectacle, dont l’objet est de parcourir la vie nocturne de Beyrouth avant la guerre civile.

YASMINA FAYED : Il y a sept ans, Metro Al Madina a lancé un spectacle intitulé Hishik Bishik. Nous avions alors rassemblé les « plus grands succès » de l’âge d’or en Égypte, des chansons aimées par tout le monde arabe assorties d’une certaine trame narrative pour relier ces chansons. Au fur et à mesure que ce spectacle de deux heures progressait, les chansons le faisaient aussi chronologiquement puisque dans nos recherches, nous avions choisi les chansons à succès de 1920 à 1970. Le spectacle a été un succès et il est toujours à l’affiche, pour une septième année. Selon le directeur artistique, Hicham Jaber, il allait de soi de saluer également les auteurs-compositeurs et les artistes du Liban, c’est pourquoi Bar Farouk a été créé avec le même groupe d’acteurs et de musiciens.

PAN M 360 : Rappelez-nous la manière dont ce spectacle a été construit, mis en scène.

YASMINA FAYED : Beyrouth a toujours été une ville dynamique, y débarquaient artistes et intellectuels venus de tout le monde arabe. Le nom de Bar Farouk est inspiré du Théâtre Farouk qui existait dans le vieux Beyrouth au centre-ville. Le théâtre présentait divers spectacles et les artistes les plus prometteurs d’Égypte et de Syrie s’y réunissaient pour discuter d’art et s’y produire. Au fil des ans, et alors que la guerre se profilait à l’horizon, la « décadence » se reflétait dans les représentations du grand théâtre. Les pionniers furent alors remplacés par des amateurs. Notre metteur en scène s’est alors efforcé d’évoquer les images et les couleurs de la ville. À partir des années 20, les décennies se succèdent jusqu’en 1975, année du début de la guerre civile libanaise. Le public y est transporté dans le temps, grâce aux chansons, aux mélodies et aux costumes. Le spectacle se déroule dans le célèbre Théâtre Farouk, et à chaque nouvelle chanson, les personnages du spectacle se révélent : les « femmes fatales » du cabaret, le chanteur romantique, le duo comique ou l’abaday, c’est-à-dire le type fort que tout le monde craint, le Robin des Bois des rues de Beyrouth (chaque rue de Beyrouth avait son propre abaday). Les éléments visuels à l’arrière-plan sont essentiels car ils servent de repères au public et lui donnent une idée du temps qui passe.

PAN M 360 : Qui en assure la direction musicale ?  

YASMINA FAYED : Ziad al Ahmadiya est responsable des arrangements musicaux de Hishik Bishik et de Bar Farouk. Sur le plan musical, certaines des chansons originales ont été interprétées à la station de radio libanaise, qui a donc fait appel à un orchestre pour jouer avec le chanteur. Dans Bar Farouk, Ziad a essayé de préserver l’esprit des différentes époques représentées par ses arrangements.

PAN M 360 : Qui sont les principaux solistes, chanteuses, chanteurs, musiciens ?

YASMINA FAYED : Les interprètes et les musiciens sont Ziad al Ahmadiya (oud et chant),  Ziad Jaafar (violon et chant), Bahaa Daou (percussions et chant),  Samah Abi El Mona (accordéon et chant), Diaa Hamza (accordéon et chant), Bachar Farran (basse), Wissam Dalati (costumes, chant et performance),  Roy Deeb (chant et jeu), Ahmad al Khatib (chant et jeu), Randa Makhoul (chant et danse du ventre), Lina Sahhab (chant et jeu), Yasmina Fayed (chant et jeu).

PAN M 360 :  De quelle manière le spectacle a-t-il évolué ? Quels ont été les réformes apportées au fil du temps ?

YASMINA FAYED : Chacun des membres du groupe a effectué ses propres recherches sur le personnage qu’il joue. De nombreuses rencontres individuelles ont eu lieu avec le réalisateur et nous avons discuté des costumes et du caractère des personnages. Le spectacle ne se limite pas au chant; chaque personne sur scène représente un certain personnage auquel le public libanais s’identifie. Au fil du temps, les personnages que nous jouions se développaient continuellement et des « conversations secondaires » ont commencé à se faire entendre, révélant l’univers de chacun des personnages. Par exemple, on pouvait entendre une dispute entre les « filles » ou les avances d’un des personnages masculins à l’une des filles du cabaret. C’est comme si nous avions toujours su de quoi parlait le spectacle et qu’avec le temps, tout s’était mis en place.

PAN M 360 : Ce spectacle est-il un carburant de nostalgie pour les Libanais ayant vécu les grandes années du Beyrouth moderne ?

YASMINA FAYED : En effet ! À chaque chanson, chaque air, le public est transporté dans le temps. Les chansons ont été soigneusement sélectionnées pour créer cet effet. Vous verrez quelqu’un dans le public sourire ou se précipiter pour chuchoter à l’oreille de quelqu’un d’autre qu’il se souvient de cette chanson. La nostalgie est le principal moteur du spectacle, nous avons fait revivre beaucoup de musiciens et d’interprètes que peu de gens connaissaient, et nous avons mis en lumière certains des plus grands artistes qui ont été oubliés, à tort ou à raison. C’est pourquoi, j’imagine, le spectacle a connu le succès qu’il a connu.

PAN M 360 : Comment les auditoires plus jeunes réagissent-ils ?

YASMINA FAYED : Lorsque Metro Al Madina a ouvert ses portes il y a huit ans, on a vu les jeunes spectateurs affluer pour voir les spectacles et avoir un aperçu de ce qui se passait dans la capitale. Ils étaient, et sont toujours, curieux. Ils veulent voir ce qui est nouveau, ils veulent voir de nouveaux spectacles. Ainsi, lorsque l’idée est venue de revisiter une époque révolue, le jeune public a manifesté son amour et son appréciation, et vous pouviez le voir revenir voir le spectacle deux fois ou même plus, en invitant parents et amis.

PAN M 360 : Voyez-vous un potentiel international pour la diffusion de ce spectacle ? De quelle manière peut-il toucher les auditoires du monde entier selon vous ?

YASMINA FAYED : Je considère les spectateurs comme mes propres invités. Ils nous rendent visite pour nous voir danser et chanter, ils chantent et dansent aussi. De nombreuses personnes de différentes nationalités sont venues voir Bar Farouk, leur réaction a été aussi forte que celle de n’importe quel Libanais ou Arabe. Je pense donc qu’il est très important de participer à cette célébration. Les gens refont connaissance avec le visage oublié du Liban, ce Liban qui avait la joie de vivre !

PAN M 360 : De quelle manière avez-vous adapté Bar Farouk à une production audiovisuelle ?

YASMINA FAYED : Nous avons essayé de jouer comme si nous étions devant une salle pleine. Nous avions les caméras pour regarder, en gardant à l’esprit qu’un grand public nous regarderait derrière ces objectifs. Les caméras essaient de capter les petits détails qui se passent dans les coins de la scène; elles essayaient de retenir chaque mouvement de chaque personnage afin que les spectateurs qui regardent en ligne puissent se mettre dans l’ambiance comme s’ils étaient assis dans la salle.

PAN M 360 : Pouvez-vous nous rappeler l’histoire de votre troupe, de votre direction artistique ?

YASMINA FAYED : Nous sommes amis depuis toujours, tous. Nous nous connaissions de nom ou nous avons eu des expériences communes pendant nos études à l’université. Lorsque Metreo Al Madina a décidé de produire Hishik Bishik, tout s’est mis en place, comme si nous étions faits les uns pour les autres. Et nous voilà toujours en train de jouer ces deux spectacles.

PAN M 360 : Les derniers événements à Beyrouth ont été très difficiles et s’ajoutent à de dures épreuves vécues par les Libanais, quel est votre état d’esprit ?

YASMINA FAYED : Je pense parler au nom de plusieurs d’entre nous quand je dis que nous sommes fatigués, déprimés. Au cours des premiers jours de la révolution, quelqu’un avait écrit que les Libanais étaient les plus heureux dépressifs qui soient, et c’est tout à fait vrai ! Nous connaissons la situation dans laquelle nous sommes et nous essayons d’en tirer le meilleur parti. Nous avons décidé de passer à autre chose. Je vous écris maintenant, en pensant à la détérioration de la situation économique et politique, aux personnes qui ont perdu leur maison après l’explosion du port le 4 août dernier, à la pluie. Il pleut sur Beyrouth et tant de gens n’ont pas reçu l’aide nécessaire pour la restauration de leur maison. Ils savent qu’ils n’obtiendront pas l’aide nécessaire du gouvernement. Je pense à nos spectacles, à la joie, aux chants et aux danses, mais aussi à la dépression, aux fermetures, aux faillites… Je pense que ce sont de grands sujets pour un nouveau spectacle ! Nous devons aller de l’avant. Il nous faut aller de l’avant.

PAN M 360 : On a ressenti beaucoup de vigueur contestataire chez les jeunes de Beyrouth avant l’explosion, certains parlent aujourd’hui de morosité et de découragement… qu’en est-il selon vous ?

YAMINA FAYED : Le Liban a toujours eu des hauts et des bas, mais les jeunes ont toujours réussi à recoller les morceaux de leur vie et à continuer. Des jeunes de tout le monde arabe sont venus à Beyrouth pour faire l’expérience de la liberté d’expression et goûter à l’art et à la fantaisie. Je crains que cette fois-ci, ce soit différent. Nous avons essayé d’élever la voix, mais elle n’a pas été entendue. Nous avons essayé de continuer en pensant qu’en travaillant dur, nous y arriverions, puis il y a eu l’explosion.

PAN M 360 : Quels sont vos plans pour l’avenir ? Rester à Hamra ? Déménager ? Œuvrer à la reconstruction culturelle de Beyrouth ?

YASMINA FAYED : Il est difficile d’être libanais de nos jours. Comme je l’ai déjà dit, nous sommes fatigués… perpétuellement inquiets. Nous pensons à ce qui va se produire, nous savons que nous n’avons que nous-mêmes sur qui compter. Je ne peux pas quitter le Liban ni Beyrouth, bien que j’aspire à la paix de l’esprit ! Mais c’est ici que nous devons être. Nous avons appris à louvoyer à travers tout cela. Construire notre petit monde, par le biais des arts du spectacle ou de petites entreprises. C’est de cela qu’il s’agit, n’est-ce pas ? Survivre à travers tout cela, tout en gardant la tête hors de l’eau.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre