AKOUSMA | Rocío Cano Valiño, composition, architecture and the “physicality of sound

Interview by Laurent Bellemare

The most surprising aspect about Argentine composer Rocío Cano Valiño is that she also has a career as an interior designer. Perhaps this explains her fascination with the sounds that surround her, and in particular their decomposition into tiny sound particles.

This close examination of sound material then enables her to recompose it using micro-montage, a highly meticulous digital composition technique. Regulars and newcomers alike will be able to hear two of his acousmatic works resonating in the Usine C’s loudspeaker orchestra: Asterion and Oknu.

Although she studied composition in Buenos Aires with Demian Rudel Rey, she did most of her schooling in France, in Lyon. She specializes in mixed music, composing for both instrumental ensembles and electroacoustic tape. She has developed numerous projects within the French contemporary music community.

Akousma welcomes Rocío Cano Valiño and so does PAN M 360 !

Pan M 360: So you’ll be taking part in the 19th edition of Akousma, a festival renowned for acousmatic music.

Rocío Cano Valiño: First of all, I’m extremely happy to have been invited to take part in the Akousma Festival, which I’ve admired enormously for years! 

PAN M 360: More generally, how would you describe your artistic approach?

Rocío Cano Valiño: As a composer, I do instrumental, mixed (instrument and electronics) and electroacoustic or acousmatic pieces, and each project is a new adventure. I use a variety of sound sources to compose my pieces. I really like close sounds, granulation and the “physicality” of sounds. I think this physicality is also linked to my dual career as a composer and interior designer; I also focus on exploring timbre using the micro-montage technique, i.e., I work with small particles of selected sounds to explore their constituent elements (partials, internal rhythms, timbral variations).

PAN M 360: What is the object of your quest?

Rocío Cano Valiño: My intention is to generate, through the complex interaction between different sound objects, virtuous gestures in a dynamic (constantly mutating) musical becoming. My sources of inspiration are quite diverse; first of all, music, architecture and design are things I’m passionate about. Literature and painting also allow me to dream.

PAN M 360: What can you tell us about the works featured at Akousma?

Rocío Cano Valiño: For the two pieces to be presented at the Akousma Festival, Astérion and Okno (the latter commissioned by Radio France for the program “Création Mondiale” and realized at Studio GRM Groupe de Recherches Musicales. It had its public premiere on February 14 at the Festival Présences at La Maison de la Radio in Paris), here’s some information:

For Asterion, I used a lot of recordings of zippers, at different speeds, closer, and farther away, also with the stereo spatialization of these sounds. I also integrate other types of machines we might find in a house, washing machines, vacuum cleaners… The use of sounds from machines (electric or analog) interests me enormously, and I often use them in my works. 

In the case of the piece Okno, I also integrated recordings of sounds made with machines and tape recorders (buttons, mechanisms, gears…), raising the question of the relationship between human beings and automatism. The idea of the boundary between what is real and what is fictitious is always present in the work. The imaginary is expressed in sounds that may have connotations already determined in themselves. An imaginary sound is constructed outside the original context of each element;



Pan M 360: What was your musical training and background before getting into sound art and the use of digital technologies?

Rocío Cano Valiño: I first experimented with drums and violin. I soon developed an attraction to contemporary music, to timbre, to the sounds that surrounded me in everyday life, and the sounds I heard in various workshops building wooden objects. It was probably thanks to this that I later decided to take courses in music analysis, history, and instrumentation. At the same time, I was so motivated that I started taking courses in composition, mixing, and sound recording. My interest in new technologies and sound art came naturally from the start, as a kind of deep need to integrate all my artistic desires into my projects;



Pan M 360 : You collaborated with the Montreal ensemble Paramirabo in 2021. What can you say about this project, which brought together several ensembles?

Rocío Cano Valiño: It was a wonderful project! We toured various cities in France and Canada. It was an extremely enriching human and musical experience. Bringing together three ensembles that I admire enormously allowed me to take all the artistic risks I wanted in order to achieve a result that I was (and am) very satisfied with. And here, I tried to highlight the sonic imprint of each group (Paramirabo, Proxima Centauri and HANATSUmiroir). This enabled me to find a sonic confluence of energy in my piece Okinamaro, for 12 musicians and electronics (Commande de l’État du Ministère de la Culture – DRAC Nouvelle-Aquitaine, et l’Aide à l’écriture musicale de l’OARA).


Pan M 360: You co-founded the Ensemble Orbis in Lyon. What is your role within this ensemble and what projects can we expect in the near future?

Rocío Cano Valiño: I’m on the artistic committee of Ensemble Orbis, which I actually co-founded in Lyon (France) in 2021 and, which is artistically directed by composer Demian Rudel Rey. I am responsible for the electronic part of the ensemble. This project is a dream that has become a reality, enabling us to join forces to create musical and interdisciplinary projects together.

Creative music is at the heart of the ensemble, and we like to program instrumental, mixed, and acousmatic pieces. We do different types of concert formats: “standards”, strolls, shows, with lights, and video. We’ve had the opportunity to commission several composers, and now I’ve been given the chance to write a piece for Ensemble Orbis, for all its instrumentation and electronics, which will be premiered at the Lyon 2024 Biennale de Musiques Exploratoires organized by the GRAME Centre national de création musicale.


Pan M 360: Do you have any expectations from the Montreal audience, or in relation to Quebec more generally?

Rocío Cano Valiño: I’m looking forward to a great encounter, a connection with them through my musical universe, and maybe, if I’m lucky, a chance to chat with them after the concert. For me, it’s always very important to create a connection and exchange with individuals from different parts of the world! That’s what nourishes my pieces too!

Pan M 360: Thank you very much!

Rocío Cano Valiño : With pleasure!

You can hear the works of Rocío Cano Valiño during Block 2 of Akousma’s first evening, October 18, 2023 at 9pm. INFO AND TICKETS HERE

Latest 360 Content

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Yoav Levanon, prodigy in recital or with orchestra

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Yoav Levanon, prodigy in recital or with orchestra

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | A Chat With Ibibio Sound Machine  Frontwoman Eno Williams

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | A Chat With Ibibio Sound Machine Frontwoman Eno Williams

Valérie Ekoumè on tour in Canada : mutual love and jubilant rhythms

Valérie Ekoumè on tour in Canada : mutual love and jubilant rhythms

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Quatuor Diotima in Quebec: musical dialogues from past and present

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Quatuor Diotima in Quebec: musical dialogues from past and present

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

The Festival d’Art Vocal de Montréal Opens to the General Public

The Festival d’Art Vocal de Montréal Opens to the General Public

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado and his “caipira” guitar

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado and his “caipira” guitar

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino: human warmth with the beat of the desert

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino: human warmth with the beat of the desert

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega Extends Her Kingdom to MTL

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega Extends Her Kingdom to MTL

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Def Mama Def, Women’s Karma

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Def Mama Def, Women’s Karma

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO: Embracing Brazilian Traditions and Modernity 

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO: Embracing Brazilian Traditions and Modernity 

Truck Violence Burns It Down and Starts Again

Truck Violence Burns It Down and Starts Again

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un “fils de”… voici Kirá!

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un “fils de”… voici Kirá!

Jowee Omicil invites the liberating spirits of Bwa Kayman

Jowee Omicil invites the liberating spirits of Bwa Kayman

Dobet Gnahoré: an angel comes and stays

Dobet Gnahoré: an angel comes and stays

Baltra at Piknic Electronik | From lo-fi house to now

Baltra at Piknic Electronik | From lo-fi house to now

Jaeden Izik-Dzurko: A look back at the CMIM and a glance forward

Jaeden Izik-Dzurko: A look back at the CMIM and a glance forward

Love Heart Cheat Code, new push from Hiatus Kaiyote

Love Heart Cheat Code, new push from Hiatus Kaiyote

Suoni  | Sick of Fun

Suoni  | Sick of Fun

Suoni per il popolo | The socially committed and fiery jazz of Irreversible Entanglements

Suoni per il popolo | The socially committed and fiery jazz of Irreversible Entanglements

JAKŌ and his experimental soundscapes at Suoni

JAKŌ and his experimental soundscapes at Suoni

Ishi Tishi and their Evening With All The Animals at Suoni

Ishi Tishi and their Evening With All The Animals at Suoni

Subscribe to our newsletter

AKOUSMA | Rocío Cano Valiño, la composition, l’architecture et la « physicalité des sons »

Entrevue réalisée par Laurent Bellemare

Le plus surprenant chez la compositrice argentine Rocío Cano Valiño, c’est qu’elle mène aussi une carrière d’architecte d’intérieur. C’est peut-être ce qui explique sa fascination pour les sons qui l’entourent, et plus particulièrement leur décomposition en de plus petites particules sonores. 

Ce passage à la loupe de la matière sonore lui permet ensuite de la recomposer avec du micro-montage, technique de composition numérique des plus minutieuses. Habitués et néophytes pourront entendre deux de ses œuvres acousmatiques résonner dans l’orchestre de hauts-parleurs de l’Usine C : Astérion et Oknu.

Bien qu’elle ait étudié la composition à Buenos Aires  avec Demian Rudel Rey, elle  a fait presque toute sa scolarité en France, à Lyon. Elle se spécialise en musique mixte, composant autant pour ensemble instrumental que pour bande électroacoustique. Elle a développé de nombreux projets au sein de la communauté française de musique contemporaine. 

Ainsi donc, Akousma accueille Rocío Cano Valiño et PAN M 360 en fait de même !

Pan M 360 : Vous allez donc participer à la 19e édition d’Akousma, un festival reconnu pour la musique acousmatique.

Rocío Cano Valiño : Tout d’abord, je suis extrêmement heureuse d’avoir été invitée à participer au Festival Akousma, que j’admire énormément depuis des années! 
à

PAN M 360: Plus généralement, comme décririez vous votre démarche artistique?

Rocío Cano Valiño : En tant que compositrice, je fais des pièces instrumentales, mixtes (instrument et électronique) et électroacoustiques ou acousmatiques, et chaque projet c’est une nouvelle aventure.

Pour la composition de mes pièces, j’utilise diverses sources sonores. J’aime beaucoup les sons proches, la granulation et la “physicalité” des sons. Je pense que cette physicalité est aussi reliée à mon double parcours : compositrice et architecte d’intérieur. 

Je me concentre aussi sur l’exploration du timbre à partir de la technique du micro-montage, c’est-à-dire, je travaille avec de petites particules des sons choisies pour explorer les éléments qui le composent (les partiels, les rythmes internes, les variations timbrales).

PAN M 360: Quel est l’objet de votre quête ?

Rocío Cano Valiño : Mon intention est de générer, à travers l’interaction complexe entre différents objets sonores, des gestes vertueux dans un devenir musical dynamique (en constante mutation). Mes sources d’inspirations sont assez diverses, tout d’abord, la musique, l’architecture et le design sont des choses qui me passionnent. De plus, la littérature et la peinture me permettent aussi de rêver.

PAN M 360: Que pouvez-vous nous dire des œuvres présentées à Akousma?


Rocío Cano Valiño : Pour les deux pièces qui seront présentées au Festival Akousma, Astérion et Okno (cette dernière commandée par Radio France pour l’émission «Création Mondiale» et réalisée au Studio GRM Groupe de Recherches Musicales. Elle a eu sa création publique le 14 février au Festival Présences à La Maison de la Radio à Paris), voici quelques informations :

Pour Astérion, j’ai utilisé pas mal d’enregistrements de fermetures éclairs, à différents vitesses, plus proches, plus loin, aussi avec la spatialisation stéréo de ces sons. J’intègre aussi d’autres types de machines que nous pouvons trouver dans une maison, lave-linge, aspirateur… L’utilisation de sons provenant des machines (électriques ou analogiques) m’intéresse énormément, et je les utilise souvent dans mes œuvres. 

Dans le cas de la pièce Okno, j’ai intégré aussi des enregistrements de sons faits avec des machines et magnétophones (boutons, mécanismes, engrenages…) posant la question de la relation des êtres humains avec l’automatisme. Dans l’œuvre, il y a toujours l’idée de la frontière entre ce qu’il est réel et de ce qui est fictif. L’imaginaire est exprimé dans des sons qui peuvent avoir une connotation déjà déterminée en eux-mêmes. Il se construit alors un son imaginaire en dehors du contexte d’origine de chaque élément. 




Pan M 360 : Quelle a été votre formation musicale et votre parcours avant de vous lancer dans l’art sonore et l’utilisation des technologies numériques?


Rocío Cano Valiño : J’ai tout d’abord expérimenté avec la batterie et le violon. J’ai vite développé une attirance pour la musique contemporaine, pour le timbre, les sonorités qui m’entouraient dans la vie quotidienne et les sons que j’entendais dans diverses ateliers de travail pour construire des objets en bois. C’est très probablement grâce à ça que je me suis décidé plus tard pour suivre des cours d’analyse, d’histoire et d’instrumentation de la musique. Et parallèlement, j’étais tellement motivée que j’ai commencé à prendre des cours de composition, mixage et prise de son. Mon intérêt dans les nouvelles technologies et l’art sonore est venu naturellement depuis le début, comme une sorte de nécessité profonde d’intégrer tous mes désirs artistiques dans mes projets. 



Pan M 360 : Vous avez collaboré avec l’ensemble montréalais Paramirabo en 2021. Que pouvez-vous dire de ce projet qui réunissait plusieurs ensembles?


Rocío Cano Valiño : Ce projet était magnifique ! On a fait une tournée dans diverses villes de France et du Canada. C’était une expérience humaine et musicale extrêmement enrichissante. Ce rassemblement de trois ensembles que j’admire énormément m’a permis de prendre tous les risques artistiques que je voulais afin d’arriver à un résultat dont j’était (et je suis) très satisfaite. Et là, j’ai essayé de mettre en valeur l’empreinte sonore de chaque groupe (Paramirabo, Proxima Centauri et HANATSUmiroir). Cela m’a permis de trouver une confluence sonore d’énergie dans ma pièce Okinamaro, pour 12 musiciens et électronique (Commande de l’État du Ministère de la Culture – DRAC Nouvelle-Aquitaine, et l’Aide à l’écriture musicale de l’OARA)




Pan M 360 : Vous avez cofondé l’Ensemble Orbis à Lyon. Quel est votre rôle au sein de cet ensemble et à quels projets pouvons nous nous attendre prochainement?

Rocío Cano Valiño : Je suis dans le comité artistique de l’Ensemble Orbis que j’ai effectivement cofondé à Lyon (France) en 2021 et, qui est dirigé artistiquement par le compositeur Demian Rudel Rey. Je suis responsable de la partie électronique de l’ensemble. Ce projet est un rêve qui est devenu une réalité et qui nous permet d’unifier nos forces pour créer des projets musicaux et interdisciplinaires ensemble.

 La musique de création est au cœur de l’ensemble et nous aimons programmer des pièces instrumentales, mixtes et acousmatiques. Nous faisons différents types de formats de concerts : “standards”, déambulations, spectacles, avec des lumières et de la vidéo. Nous avons eu la possibilité de passer commandes à plusieurs compositrices et compositeurs et maintenant, j’ai la chance d’écrire une pièce pour l’Ensemble Orbis, pour tout son instrumentarium et électronique, qui sera créée dans la Biennale de Musiques Exploratoires de Lyon 2024 organisé par le GRAME Centre national de création musicale.



Pan M 360 :Avez-vous des attentes de la part du public montréalais, ou par rapport au Québec de façon plus générale?

Rocío Cano Valiño : J’attends une belle rencontre, une connexion avec eux à travers mon univers musical et peut-être, si j’ai de la chance, de pouvoir échanger avec eux après le concert. Pour moi, c’est toujours très important de créer une liaison et des échanges avec les individus de différentes régions du monde ! C’est cela qui nourrit aussi mes pièces !

Pan M 360 : Merci beaucoup!

Rocío Cano Valiño : Avec plaisir!

Vous pourrez entendre les œuvres de Rocío Cano Valiño lors du Bloc 2 de la première soirée d’Akousma, le 18 octobre 2023 à 21h. INFOS ET BILLETS ICI

https://akousma.ca/Programmation-Akousma-19

Tout le contenu 360

Suoni per il popolo | Le jazz incendiaire et engagé de Irreversible Entanglements

Suoni per il popolo | Le jazz incendiaire et engagé de Irreversible Entanglements

Suoni per il popolo | On pique un jasette avec une légende de la musique contemporaine : Howard Skempton

Suoni per il popolo | On pique un jasette avec une légende de la musique contemporaine : Howard Skempton

Tali Rose partage son Piknic Electronik

Tali Rose partage son Piknic Electronik

Festival Classica pour enfants | Denis Gougeon et Julie Daoust nous causent « biscuits, tempêtes et mélodies »

Festival Classica pour enfants | Denis Gougeon et Julie Daoust nous causent « biscuits, tempêtes et mélodies »

Festival Classica – Fauré et Dubois au siècle dernier

Festival Classica – Fauré et Dubois au siècle dernier

Habitat Sonore au Centre Phi| Playlist estivale et lieu idéal pour l’écoute active et immersive

Habitat Sonore au Centre Phi| Playlist estivale et lieu idéal pour l’écoute active et immersive

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege, transidentité,  joie, insolence

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege, transidentité, joie, insolence

Suoni | Sarah Davachi et l’enjeu d’être jouée par No Hay Banda

Suoni | Sarah Davachi et l’enjeu d’être jouée par No Hay Banda

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Centre PHI | KALLITECHNIS incarne sensualité et introspection.

Centre PHI | KALLITECHNIS incarne sensualité et introspection.

Festival Classica – Hommage à Queen

Festival Classica – Hommage à Queen

Vincent Lauzer parle de la programmation de Montréal baroque 2024

Vincent Lauzer parle de la programmation de Montréal baroque 2024

Au Gala de la Terre, l’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explique

Au Gala de la Terre, l’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explique

Bell Orchestre immersif et interactif: House Music devient Sound House à la SAT

Bell Orchestre immersif et interactif: House Music devient Sound House à la SAT

Festival Classica | La parole de Georges Sand, les mots de Denis Plante

Festival Classica | La parole de Georges Sand, les mots de Denis Plante

Festival Classica | Un anniversaire symphonique pour Starmania et Jacques Lacombe

Festival Classica | Un anniversaire symphonique pour Starmania et Jacques Lacombe

Festival Classica | Un hommage à Théodore Dubois signé Lavigueur et Sinfonia

Festival Classica | Un hommage à Théodore Dubois signé Lavigueur et Sinfonia

Dumai Dunai sort son premier album… et en cause

Dumai Dunai sort son premier album… et en cause

SAT Dômesicle | Elena Colombi, beaucoup de la tête pour le corps

SAT Dômesicle | Elena Colombi, beaucoup de la tête pour le corps

Humidex Records fête ses cinq ans à la SAT!

Humidex Records fête ses cinq ans à la SAT!

Jill Barber : en français encore et toujours!

Jill Barber : en français encore et toujours!

Festival Classica – Piazzolla, de New York à Paris

Festival Classica – Piazzolla, de New York à Paris

38e Nuits d’Afrique | Sépopo Galley explique la programmation

38e Nuits d’Afrique | Sépopo Galley explique la programmation

Karina Gauvin dans les traces de Marie Hubert, Fille du Roy

Karina Gauvin dans les traces de Marie Hubert, Fille du Roy

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre