The Roots of Sound Systems at Nuits D’Afrique

Interview by Stephan Boissonneault
Genres and styles : Afro-Caribbean / Dub Reggae / Reggae

Additional Information

Sound System culture is huge in Europe and the UK, but thanks to World Wild Sound System it is becoming more and more noticeable in Montreal and Quebec. Started around a decade ago with Guillaume Alexandre and his colleague Pierre FX after they moved to Quebec from France, WWSS, has been hosting Sound System parties in Montreal and around the world after finding rare Reggae, Dub, Caribbean, etc., vinyl and linking up with some OGs in the culture and the Jamaican community.

If you don’t know what a Sound System is, it consists of large speakers, a turntable, and a preamplifier and is meant to be portable and blasted in the streets. This year at Nuits D’Afrique, WWSS will play a show with the mighty Jah Observer, a legend who helped perpetuate Sound System culture in the UK. We spoke with Guillaume ahead of the Nuits D’Afrique show to learn about the history and importance of Sound Systems and how the culture is slowly jumping into North America.

PAN M 360: I just kind of wanted to learn more about World Wild Sound System and Jah Observer. It’s kind of a new world for me and some of our readers.

Guillaume Alexandre: Of course. So basically, World Wild Sound System is influenced by the system movements originally born in Jamaica around the ’50s, developing during the ’60s and ’70s. So basically, it started in Jamaica, because of the radio stations. The music that was played over there on the radio stations was based on the BBC structure, so it wasn’t Jamaican music, it was mostly Rhythm and Blues from America, a little bit of punk rock, blah, blah, blah, but no Reggae or Calypso even before the Reggae. So, the Jamaicans started to put speakers on the street, stack them together, and then hang out there, and listen to Jamaican music. And eventually, it became a huge party in downtown Kingston.

PAN M 360: So it was kind of like a revolution then?

Guillaume Alexandre: Over there at this time yes. The militants and as you said, the revolution … but this little cultural revolution was done out there. And this movement was developing because of all this vindication they have; it was mostly poor people descending from slaves and the slave society that was over there at the service time and was just ending. So there weren’t slaves anymore, but they were obliged to work in the countryside for like little money and it was very difficult. So they started to lose interest in this society that the government was offering to them. And then this injection of new music became the link to all that.

So yeah, obviously now in we are in a different configuration. But we still, with our parties try to put people in the same on the same area and to try to communicate a peaceful message, message, sharing unity, and love. We also travel to different countries in the world to find these very rare vinyls, and then we play them. So it’s very rare if you can share them. That’s why people come to our parties because they’re gonna listen to very spiritual music with a message and they will have fun, but it’s still very conscious of the movement.

World Wild Sound Systems

PAN M 360: And during these SoundSystem parties, there is always an emcee kind of explaining where these songs came from?

Guillaume Alexandre: Yes and in this case with the Nuits D’Afrique it is Jah Observer. So Jah Observer is one of the foundation artists of the Notting Hill Carnival in London, UK. It’s the second biggest festival in the world celebrating Jamaican culture. In the ’80s there were riots going on at the same time, but now, if you go, it is a very popular festival. So Jah Observer is one of the founders of this culture and for maybe 30 years he used this homemade Sound System with like tubes and valves. He is from Jamaica, but he immigrated to Notting Hill in his 20s I think. So he was part of this Sound Systems movement in the UK which was a bit more militant than in Jamaica actually. When he came, the UK was not into playing Jamaican music, so it was much more underground but conscious. Me and my colleague, we are born in France, and moved to Quebec 10 years ago. So at this time, we were definitely more influenced by the UK Sound System movement and culture. But now, we have more links to the Jamaican community, we invite them, and we have a link with the President of the Jamaican Association. So we’re trying to have people discover this culture again because, in Europe, you could sell 2000 tickets easily…


PAN M 360: Right, so the Sound Systems movement and its history are still quite new here?


Guillaume Alexandre: Yes exactly. It’s at the beginning, but we estimate that it will become more popular over time by having these parties, because of the nature of this kind of music. It is still music for the poor.

PAN M 360: So when did you link up with Jah Observer? Have you done shows with him in the past?

Guillaume Alexandre: No, No, No. It’s kind of a long story, but I was in Notting Hill in 2012 to see him play on his own Sound System. Because these Sound Systems artists do travel to play, but when they play on their own Sound Systems, you really understand what they are trying to do. So I saw him play his show but didn’t get a chance to speak with him. But last year, we went again and he was playing again, but not on his Sound System because he is retired now, but we linked up with him. Just saying ‘Hey man, love your work we are based in Canada. And he’s in Jamaica now, so that’s not too far from Canada so we started the conversation. And because my colleague and I have been doing this for so long, we know lots of the players in the Sound Systems movements, not personally, but he could check out for contacts and see if we were for real. If we play on a real Sound System with a real preamp and real passion. And that’s obviously what we do so yeah, it’s not that far to come from Jamaica.

PAN M 360: So you and your colleague Pierre are kind of opening the night and then it’s Jah Observer?

Guillaume Alexandre: Yes we are doing a little warm up and we have one deck and one mic—like they did it traditionally—that is specially made for our Sound System. We built the speakers ourselves here in Quebec with Canadian wood and we did import the speakers from the UK and we built and now it’s approximately 12,000 watts and we afford the amps to drive that and such. So basically we do our sets, we play we just whole records and then Jah Observer will play. He’s the star of the night and he will be the highlight. He is playing records that are very rare too and he’s speaking over the mic. So he will help the people. Telling them ‘What is the story all about? And what is the vision? About Reggae probably, wrapped in Sound System culture. It’s always the same discussion through music around being together supporting each other, and so on.

PAN M 360: And this could be his last show for a long time since he’s retired. Maybe his only show in Canada?

Guillaume Alexandre: Yes. You know we were planning to work with Jah Shaka [Zulu Warrior] and he, rest in power, passed away a few months ago. But Jah Observer is around 70 years old and this is his first time coming to Quebec and maybe Canada, so yes, it could be the last time to see him play.



JAH OBSERVER W/ WORLD WILD SOUND SYSTEMS AT Le Ministère is on July 15 at 10 pm. TICKETS HERE

Latest 360 Content

International First Peoples’ Festival 2024: let’s chat about the programming

International First Peoples’ Festival 2024: let’s chat about the programming

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Tribute to Mémoire et Racines against a backdrop of trad/classical reunion

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Tribute to Mémoire et Racines against a backdrop of trad/classical reunion

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Club Sagacité at the Festival, San Farafina explains

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Club Sagacité at the Festival, San Farafina explains

Piknic Elektronic | Jordan Gardner, from TO to MTL “for the artistry”

Piknic Elektronic | Jordan Gardner, from TO to MTL “for the artistry”

Domaine Forget 2024 | American Landscape at the Domaine, Nicholas Walker tells us about it

Domaine Forget 2024 | American Landscape at the Domaine, Nicholas Walker tells us about it

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Fredy Massamba, a Congolese (from Montreal) on 3 Continents

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Fredy Massamba, a Congolese (from Montreal) on 3 Continents

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Yoav Levanon, prodigy in recital or with orchestra

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Yoav Levanon, prodigy in recital or with orchestra

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | A Chat With Ibibio Sound Machine  Frontwoman Eno Williams

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | A Chat With Ibibio Sound Machine Frontwoman Eno Williams

Valérie Ekoumè on tour in Canada : mutual love and jubilant rhythms

Valérie Ekoumè on tour in Canada : mutual love and jubilant rhythms

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Quatuor Diotima in Quebec: musical dialogues from past and present

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Quatuor Diotima in Quebec: musical dialogues from past and present

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

The Festival d’Art Vocal de Montréal Opens to the General Public

The Festival d’Art Vocal de Montréal Opens to the General Public

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado and his “caipira” guitar

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado and his “caipira” guitar

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino: human warmth with the beat of the desert

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino: human warmth with the beat of the desert

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega Extends Her Kingdom to MTL

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega Extends Her Kingdom to MTL

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Def Mama Def, Women’s Karma

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Def Mama Def, Women’s Karma

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO: Embracing Brazilian Traditions and Modernity 

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO: Embracing Brazilian Traditions and Modernity 

Truck Violence Burns It Down and Starts Again

Truck Violence Burns It Down and Starts Again

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un “fils de”… voici Kirá!

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un “fils de”… voici Kirá!

Jowee Omicil invites the liberating spirits of Bwa Kayman

Jowee Omicil invites the liberating spirits of Bwa Kayman

Dobet Gnahoré: an angel comes and stays

Dobet Gnahoré: an angel comes and stays

Baltra at Piknic Electronik | From lo-fi house to now

Baltra at Piknic Electronik | From lo-fi house to now

Subscribe to our newsletter

Nuits d’Afrique: WWSS aux racines du sound system

Entrevue réalisée par Stephan Boissonneault
Genres et styles : afro-caribéen / dub reggae / reggae

renseignements supplémentaires

La culture sound system est très répandue en Europe et au Royaume-Uni, mais grâce à World Wild Sound System, elle devient de plus en plus visible à Montréal et au Québec. Fondé il y a une dizaine d’années par Guillaume Alexandre et son collègue Pierre FX après leur arrivée au Québec, WWSS organise des soirées Sound System à Montréal et dans le monde entier après avoir déniché des vinyles rares (reggae, dub, Caraïbes, etc.) et s’être associé à des OGs de la culture et de la communauté jamaïcaine.

Si vous ne savez pas ce qu’est un sound system, il est composé de grands haut-parleurs, d’une table tournante et d’un préamplificateur et est destiné à être portable et à être diffusé dans les rues. Cette année, à Nuits d’Afrique, WWSS jouera avec le puissant Jah Observer, une légende qui a contribué à perpétuer la culture sound system au Royaume-Uni. Nous nous sommes entretenus avec Guillaume avant le concert de Nuits d’Afrique pour en savoir plus sur l’histoire et l’importance des sound systems et sur la façon dont la culture s’implante lentement en Amérique du Nord.

PAN M 360 : Je voulais juste en savoir plus sur World Wild Sound System et Jah Observer. C’est un monde nouveau pour moi et pour certains de nos lecteurs.

Guillaume Alexandre : Bien sûr. En fait, le World Wild Sound System est influencé par les mouvements systémiques nés en Jamaïque dans les années 50 et qui se sont développés dans les années 60 et 70. En fait, tout a commencé en Jamaïque, à cause des stations de radio. La musique diffusée là-bas par les stations de radio était basée sur la structure de la BBC, ce n’était donc pas de la musique jamaïcaine, c’était surtout du Rhythm and Blues américain, un peu de punk rock, bla, bla, bla, mais pas de Reggae ou de Calypso, même avant le Reggae. Les Jamaïcains ont donc commencé à installer des haut-parleurs dans la rue, à les empiler et à écouter de la musique jamaïcaine. Et finalement, c’est devenu une énorme fête dans le centre-ville de Kingston.

PAN M 360 : C’était donc une sorte de révolution?

Guillaume Alexandre : Là-bas, à cette époque, oui. Les militants et comme vous l’avez dit, la révolution… mais cette petite révolution culturelle a été faite là-bas. Et ce mouvement se développait à cause de toute cette revendication qu’ils avaient ; c’était surtout des pauvres qui descendaient d’esclaves et la société esclavagiste qui était là à l’époque du service et qui était en train de se terminer. Il n’y avait donc plus d’esclaves, mais ils étaient obligés de travailler à la campagne pour un salaire dérisoire et c’était très difficile. Ils ont donc commencé à se désintéresser de cette société que le gouvernement leur offrait. Et c’est alors que l’injection de musique nouvelle est devenue le lien avec tout cela.

Alors oui, évidemment, nous sommes aujourd’hui dans une configuration différente. Mais nous essayons toujours, avec nos soirées, de rassembler les gens sur un même territoire et de communiquer un message pacifique, un message de partage, d’unité et d’amour. Nous voyageons également dans différents pays du monde pour trouver ces vinyles très rares, et nous les jouons. Il est donc très rare de pouvoir les partager. C’est pourquoi les gens viennent à nos soirées parce qu’ils vont écouter de la musique très spirituelle avec un message et qu’ils vont s’amuser, tout en restant très conscients du mouvement.

World Wild Sound Systems

PAN M 360 : Et lors de ces soirées sound system, il y a toujours une sorte d’animateur qui explique d’où viennent ces chansons?

Guillaume Alexandre : Oui et en l’occurrence avec les Nuits d’Afrique c’est Jah Observer. Donc, Jah Observer est l’un des artistes fondateurs du carnaval de Notting Hill à Londres, au Royaume-Uni. C’est le deuxième plus grand festival au monde célébrant la culture jamaïcaine. Dans les années 80, il y avait des émeutes en même temps, mais maintenant, si vous y allez, c’est un festival très populaire. Jah Observer est donc l’un des fondateurs de cette culture et pendant peut-être 30 ans, il a utilisé ce système de son maison avec comme tubes et valves. Il vient de la Jamaïque, mais il a immigré à Notting Hill dans la vingtaine, je pense. Il faisait donc partie de ce mouvement sound system au Royaume-Uni qui était un peu plus militant qu’en Jamaïque en fait. Quand il est arrivé, le Royaume-Uni n’aimait pas jouer de la musique jamaïcaine, donc c’était beaucoup plus underground mais conscient. Moi et mon collègue, nous sommes nés en France, et avons déménagé au Québec il y a 10 ans. Donc, à cette époque, nous étions définitivement plus influencés par le mouvement et la culture du sound system britannique. Mais maintenant, nous avons plus de liens avec la communauté jamaïcaine, nous les invitons, et nous avons un lien avec le président de l’association jamaïcaine. Alors on essaie de faire redécouvrir cette culture car, en Europe, on pourrait vendre 2000 billets facilement…


PAN M 360 : D’accord, donc le mouvement sound systems et son histoire sont encore assez récents ici

Guillaume Alexandre : Oui exactement. C’est au début, mais nous estimons qu’il deviendra plus populaire avec le temps en organisant ces soirées, en raison de la nature de ce genre de musique. C’est encore de la musique pour les pauvres.

PAN M 360 : Alors quand avez-vous rejoint Jah Observer? Avez-vous déjà fait des concerts avec lui?

Guillaume Alexandre : Non, non, non. C’est un peu une longue histoire, mais j’étais à Notting Hill en 2012 pour le voir jouer sur son propre sound system. Parce que ces artistes de sound systems voyagent pour jouer, mais quand ils jouent sur leur propre sound system, vous comprenez vraiment ce qu’ils essaient de faire. Alors je l’ai vu jouer son show mais je n’ai pas eu l’occasion de lui parler. Mais l’année dernière, nous y sommes retournés et il jouait à nouveau, mais pas sur son sound system car il est à la retraite maintenant, mais nous nous sommes liés avec lui. Il suffit de dire « Hé mec, j’adore ton travail, nous sommes basés au Canada ». Et il est en Jamaïque maintenant, donc ce n’est pas trop loin du Canada, alors nous avons commencé la conversation. Et parce que mon collègue et moi faisons cela depuis si longtemps, nous connaissons beaucoup d’acteurs des mouvements sound systems, pas personnellement, mais il pourrait vérifier les contacts et voir si nous étions pour de vrai. Si on joue sur un vrai sound system avec un vrai préampli et une vraie passion. Et c’est évidemment ce que nous faisons donc oui, ce n’est pas si loin de la Jamaïque.

PAN M 360 : Alors vous et votre collègue Pierre êtes en quelque sorte en train d’ouvrir la soirée et puis c’est Jah Observer?

Guillaume Alexandre : Oui, nous faisons un petit échauffement et nous avons une platine et un micro – comme ils le faisaient traditionnellement – ​​spécialement conçus pour notre sound system. Nous avons construit les haut-parleurs nous-mêmes ici au Québec avec du bois canadien et nous avons importé les haut-parleurs du Royaume-Uni et nous avons construit et maintenant c’est environ 12 000 watts et nous avons les moyens d’acheter les amplis pour piloter cela et ainsi de suite. Donc, en gros, nous faisons nos sets, nous jouons des disques entiers, puis Jah Observer jouera. Il est la star de la soirée et il sera le clou du spectacle. Il joue aussi des disques qui sont très rares et il parle au micro. Il va donc aider le peuple. En leur disant « De quoi parle l’histoire? Et quelle est la vision? » Du Reggae probablement, enveloppé dans la culture sound system. C’est toujours la même discussion à travers la musique sur le fait d’être ensemble, de se soutenir mutuellement, et ainsi de suite.

PAN M 360 : Et ce pourrait être son dernier spectacle avant longtemps depuis qu’il est à la retraite. Peut-être son seul spectacle au Canada?

Guillaume Alexandre : Oui. Vous savez, nous avions prévu de travailler avec Jah Shaka [Zulu Warrior] et lui, reste au pouvoir, est décédé il y a quelques mois. Mais Jah Observer a environ 70 ans et c’est la première fois qu’il vient au Québec et peut-être au Canada, alors oui, ce pourrait être la dernière fois qu’il le voit jouer.


JAH OBSERVER AVEC WORLD WILD SOUND SYSTEMS AU Le Ministère LE 15 JUILLET À 22H. BILLETS ICI

Tout le contenu 360

Francos | Valence, la beauté de l’insomnie

Francos | Valence, la beauté de l’insomnie

Suoni  | Sick of Fun… vraiment malade !

Suoni  | Sick of Fun… vraiment malade !

Dômesicle à la SAT | Dombrance: costard, moustache, frenchy électro… party !

Dômesicle à la SAT | Dombrance: costard, moustache, frenchy électro… party !

DES hymnes à l’amour du côté de Bohème

DES hymnes à l’amour du côté de Bohème

Suoni per il popolo | Le jazz incendiaire et engagé de Irreversible Entanglements

Suoni per il popolo | Le jazz incendiaire et engagé de Irreversible Entanglements

JAKŌ et ses paysages sonores expérimentaux aux Suoni

JAKŌ et ses paysages sonores expérimentaux aux Suoni

Ishi Tishi et leur soirée avec tous les animaux aux Suoni

Ishi Tishi et leur soirée avec tous les animaux aux Suoni

Suoni per il popolo | On pique un jasette avec une légende de la musique contemporaine : Howard Skempton

Suoni per il popolo | On pique un jasette avec une légende de la musique contemporaine : Howard Skempton

Tali Rose partage son Piknic Electronik

Tali Rose partage son Piknic Electronik

Festival Classica pour enfants | Denis Gougeon et Julie Daoust nous causent « biscuits, tempêtes et mélodies »

Festival Classica pour enfants | Denis Gougeon et Julie Daoust nous causent « biscuits, tempêtes et mélodies »

Festival Classica – Fauré et Dubois au siècle dernier

Festival Classica – Fauré et Dubois au siècle dernier

Habitat Sonore au Centre Phi| Playlist estivale et lieu idéal pour l’écoute active et immersive

Habitat Sonore au Centre Phi| Playlist estivale et lieu idéal pour l’écoute active et immersive

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege, transidentité,  joie, insolence

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege, transidentité, joie, insolence

Suoni | Sarah Davachi et l’enjeu d’être jouée par No Hay Banda

Suoni | Sarah Davachi et l’enjeu d’être jouée par No Hay Banda

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Centre PHI | KALLITECHNIS incarne sensualité et introspection.

Centre PHI | KALLITECHNIS incarne sensualité et introspection.

Festival Classica – Hommage à Queen

Festival Classica – Hommage à Queen

Vincent Lauzer parle de la programmation de Montréal baroque 2024

Vincent Lauzer parle de la programmation de Montréal baroque 2024

Au Gala de la Terre, l’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explique

Au Gala de la Terre, l’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explique

Bell Orchestre immersif et interactif: House Music devient Sound House à la SAT

Bell Orchestre immersif et interactif: House Music devient Sound House à la SAT

Festival Classica | La parole de Georges Sand, les mots de Denis Plante

Festival Classica | La parole de Georges Sand, les mots de Denis Plante

Festival Classica | Un anniversaire symphonique pour Starmania et Jacques Lacombe

Festival Classica | Un anniversaire symphonique pour Starmania et Jacques Lacombe

Festival Classica | Un hommage à Théodore Dubois signé Lavigueur et Sinfonia

Festival Classica | Un hommage à Théodore Dubois signé Lavigueur et Sinfonia

Dumai Dunai sort son premier album… et en cause

Dumai Dunai sort son premier album… et en cause

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre