Shane Embury: On a new path

Interview by Francis Dugas

For over 30 years, Shane Embury has been touring the world and recording with the band Napalm Death, pioneers of grindcore, in which he is the bassist and lead composer. He now presents Dark Sky Burial, his solo project. PAN M 360 got more details from him.

Genres and styles : Dark Ambient / Electronic

Additional Information

In his spare time, Embury participates in countless side projects that share a penchant for brutality. Brujeria, Venomous Concept, Locked Up, and Anaal Nathrakh are among the bands he has collaborated with. As if that wasn’t enough, Embury now presents Dark Sky Burial, his solo project. This time, the tempo is dialed down and there’s no trace of metal. Dark Sky Burial’s music is as dark as Embury’s other projects, but it follows the electronic paths of dark ambient. A change of tone, but not necessarily of Embury’s universe. We had the chance to discuss with the man with 1000 projects, so that he could tell us a little bit more about it.

PAN M 360: When did you start making electronic music? Did you know from the beginning where it was going to go?

Shane Embury: “Commands from Beyond” is one of the first tracks I attempted to create, and also “Hallowed be thy Names”. As I invested more time in sounds and ideas, they evolved over the course of two or three years, I suppose. I’ve just unearthed 12 solid ideas from my old iPad in Garageband – it’s quite amazing what you can come up with wherever, now! But I’ve been obsessed with simple loops for a long time, and seeing how many counter-melodies or percussive sounds I can build on top from the very first loop –  at times it can switch around those ideas  and mistakes become better ideas, I like this. I’m not reinventing the wheel, but also trying not to to jump into harsh noise all the time –  that stuff will come, as I envision DSB as an evolving concept one that at some point might include other people for eventual live performances!

PAN M 360: One would have thought that for your first electronic project, you would have rather taken the paths of pure industrial, noise, or more hardcore techno. Why did you opt for something more ambient?

SE: I’ve been wanting to do something electronic for years and the timing seems right. There’s no set agenda with this project , it reflects my horror-based, sinister notes. I’d also like it to be uplifting, while at the same time forcing me to isolate myself, which I hope will lead to reflection and new possibilities. Having said that, I have dabbled in the past with industrial, I guess, In the form of a project called Malformed Earthborn, which came out I think maybe in 1995, ’96!

PAN M 360: De Omnibus Dubitandum Est has been released on Extrinsic, your own label. Why?

SE: The reason for me starting Extrinsic Recordings was originally and solely for Dark Sky Burial, but obviously this album wasn’t the first release, that was the Born to Murder the World album that had been hanging around unheard for some time, but both needed to be put out in a slightly alternative manner, I suppose. I tend to be Impatient, for sure, and am always working on music or projects, and depending on the day or mood I am in, I get tired of the usual rituals that have to be performed to release albums I’m involved in! I guess it means more control for me, and I also like to experiment, to please myself – this is less hassle and no pressure. The DSB project is also the start of something different for me. I’m in no hurry to see where this takes me.

PAN M 360: Before DSB, some former members of Napalm Death, such as Mick Harris and Justin Broadrick, were known for their electronic music, which is quite unusual for a heavy metal band…

SE: Well, knowing those guys as I do, and also Nick Bullen the founder of Napalm Death – these guys were always distorting the boundaries between different types of music, and when I met them in 1986, they were at that time crossing over into death metal or thrash, and I was going the other way into punk, etcetera. They loved Swans, Throbbing Gristle, Killing Joke, these were unknown to me at the time, but appealed to me rather quickly. It was normal for us to search out other stuff. It was an adventure based on what John Peel had said the night before, or what we read in the NME. I also spent a lot of time at the Rough Trade record store in Portebello street, London. I am not sure if it’s the water, but some fans of music are, as King Buzzo once said to me, musical anthropologists. This makes sense !

PAN M 360: De Omnibus Dubitandum Est is the title of a book by the Danish philosopher Søren Kierkegaard, which could be translated as “we have to doubt everything”. Is that where the title of the album comes from? Does the cover have a link with all this? 

SE: Yes. The title is from the book. On one of my late-night internet quests for lyrical inspiration, I came across it. I am generally a nonbeliever of sorts, but then sometimes quite the opposite. But the title seemed apt for the timing of the release. The artwork is based on the tower of silence, and linked to the sky-burial rituals, which I find fascinating and inspirational.

PAN M 360: When you produce electronic music, the border between creative and technical aspects is never watertight. With Dark Sky Burial, do you see yourself as a musician, a producer or an engineer?

SE: A musician, I think. For now, this is the beginning of a long journey, I hope, where I have plenty to learn – followers of DSB, I thank every one of you, and hope you have the opportunity of seeing me get better at this. I hope for some collaborations with other like-minded people, also. The technical side of this can be quite frightening, but everyone has their way of using the tools at their disposal.

PAN M 360: As a member of a group, you’re used to receiving feedback from other members. With DSB, have you sought feedback from others? 

SE: I love the isolation of creating tracks, either at my home studio or in a hotel room after a show. I zone out in the sounds and time passes by quickly and trance-like. It’s excellent escapism, which is what I’ve always been, really – an escapist. I’m quite fortunate to be able to start this all now. I do play some of the tracks to some of my friends, and take on board what they say, but from the start, I wanted this first album to reflect moods and drama.

PAN M 360: For the moment, the album is only available for download, do you plan to release it physically?

SE: Well, last week I got to thinking, since the 13 tracks for this album were chosen from a whole bunch of tracks I have here that I have put together, that I’m going to try and release an album every three or four months, possibly. Initially, anyway, for now. After the fourth release, I would like to put out a limited four-CD box set and vinyl – something like that, I hope.

Latest 360 Content

P’tit Belliveau Talks About His New Album, Frogs, and Income Tax

P’tit Belliveau Talks About His New Album, Frogs, and Income Tax

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – Conquering America with Vivaldi and Piazzolla

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – Conquering America with Vivaldi and Piazzolla

Shaina Hayes and her Kindergarten Heart

Shaina Hayes and her Kindergarten Heart

Piano Symphonique | Julia Mirzoev, Braden McConnell & Antoine Rivard-Landry

Piano Symphonique | Julia Mirzoev, Braden McConnell & Antoine Rivard-Landry

In Pursuit Of Repetitive Beats Experience Strives for Human Connection through VR

In Pursuit Of Repetitive Beats Experience Strives for Human Connection through VR

Martha Wainwright about her new jazz festival

Martha Wainwright about her new jazz festival

Semaine du Neuf | There Is No Music Without the Wind. L’être contre le vent by Matthias Krüger

Semaine du Neuf | There Is No Music Without the Wind. L’être contre le vent by Matthias Krüger

Deena Abdelwahed’s Swana electro: syncretism, commitment, a new standard

Deena Abdelwahed’s Swana electro: syncretism, commitment, a new standard

The Cool Trad of Nicolas Boulerice and Frédéric Samson

The Cool Trad of Nicolas Boulerice and Frédéric Samson

Semaine du Neuf | Psychedelic Afghanistan by Sam Shalabi and Shaista Latif

Semaine du Neuf | Psychedelic Afghanistan by Sam Shalabi and Shaista Latif

Semaine du Neuf | Sixtrum: the magic of… aquatic percussion!

Semaine du Neuf | Sixtrum: the magic of… aquatic percussion!

Semaine du Neuf | Haptic and Interdisciplinary Experiments by Jimmie Leblanc and Fareena Chanda

Semaine du Neuf | Haptic and Interdisciplinary Experiments by Jimmie Leblanc and Fareena Chanda

The country chaos of Nora Kelly

The country chaos of Nora Kelly

Matana Roberts explores radically different musical settings

Matana Roberts explores radically different musical settings

Gueuleuses: a web directory of extreme female vocalists

Gueuleuses: a web directory of extreme female vocalists

Semaine du Neuf: Les Percussions de Strasbourg… Ghostland of another kind

Semaine du Neuf: Les Percussions de Strasbourg… Ghostland of another kind

Ëda Diaz: a Colombian “French touch”

Ëda Diaz: a Colombian “French touch”

The Asadun Alay label: independent rhymes with the Levant

The Asadun Alay label: independent rhymes with the Levant

Erika Angell and The Obsession With Her Voice

Erika Angell and The Obsession With Her Voice

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

Shane Embury : Sur de nouveaux sentiers

Interview réalisé par Francis Dugas

Depuis plus de 30 ans, Shane Embury sillonne la planète et enregistre avec les pionniers du grindcore Napalm Death, formation dans laquelle il occupe le poste de bassiste et de principal compositeur. Il nous présente maintenant Dark Sky Burial, son projet solo. PAN M 360 a obtenu plus de détails de sa part.

Genres et styles : dark ambient / électronique

renseignements supplémentaires

Dans ses temps libres, Embury participe à d’innombrables projets parallèles qui ont en commun un penchant pour la brutalité : Brujeria, Venomous Concept, Locked Up ou Anaal Nathrakh sont parmi les formations avec lesquelles il a collaboré. Comme si ce n’était pas assez, Embury nous présente maintenant Dark Sky Burial, son projet solo. Cette fois, le tempo a ralenti et il n’y a plus de traces de metal. La musique de Dark Sky Burial est aussi sombre que celle des autres projets d’Embury, mais elle emprunte plutôt les sentiers électroniques du dark ambient. Un changement de ton, mais pas nécessairement d’univers. Nous avons eu la chance de discuter avec l’homme aux 1000 projets afin qu’il nous en dise un peu plus.

PAN M 360 : À quel moment as-tu commencé à faire de la musique électronique ? Savais-tu dès le départ l’orientation que ça allait prendre ?

Shane Embury : J’ai commencé les premières chansons il y a 2 ou 3 ans, mais elles ont évolué au rythme du temps que j’y ai investi et de mes idées. Je suis obsédé par les boucles depuis longtemps et j’essaie de voir combien de contre-mélodies et de sons percussifs je peux ajouter à ces boucles initiales. Je joue ensuite avec ces couches et ces idées, et avec les erreurs que je fais parfois, certaines de ces idées deviennent encore meilleures. Je ne réinvente pas la roue, mais j’essaie de ne pas sombrer dans le bruitisme pur et dur. Ça viendra peut-être puisque je vois DSB comme un concept en évolution qui pourrait éventuellement inclure d’autres personnes pour des concerts.

PAN M 360 : On aurait pu croire que pour ton premier projet électronique, tu aurais plutôt emprunté les chemins de l’industriel pur, du bruitisme ou du techno plus hardcore. Pourquoi avoir opté pour quelque chose de plus ambient ?

SE : J’ai envie de faire quelque chose d’électronique depuis des années et le moment semble bon. Je n’ai pas d’intentions précises pour ce projet, il reflète mon intérêt pour l’horreur et les tonalités lugubres. J’aimerais aussi qu’il soit stimulant, tout en me forçant à m’isoler, ce qui, je l’espère, débouchera sur des réflexions et de nouvelles possibilités. Cela dit, j’ai déjà été dans un projet industriel nommé Malformed Earthborn en 1995-96. 

PAN M 360 : De Omnibus Dubitandum Est est paru sur Extrinsic, ton propre label, pourquoi ?

SE : À l’origine, Extrinsic devait servir uniquement pour Dark Sky Burial, mais la première parution a été Born to Murder the World, un de mes projets qui n’avait jamais été entendu et qui devait paraître de façon, disons, plus alternative. J’ai tendance à être impatient, et comme je suis très occupé à mes projets, je n’ai pas toujours envie de me prêter au rituel qui accompagne les lancements d’albums. Et puis avoir mon propre label me donne plus de contrôle et aussi la possibilité d’expérimenter davantage. Ça me plaît bien d’avoir moins de tracas et de pression. DSB est le début d’une nouvelle expérience pour moi et je ne suis pas pressé de savoir où ça me mènera.

PAN M 360 : Avant DSB, certains anciens membres de Napalm Death comme Mick Harris et Justin Broadrick ont été reconnus pour leur musique électronique, c’est assez inhabituel pour un groupe heavy metal…

SE : Je les connais bien, ainsi que le fondateur de Napalm Death, Nick Bullen. Ils ont toujours voulu défoncer les frontières entre les différents genres. Quand je les ai rencontrés en 1986, ils partaient du hardcore et s’en allaient vers le death ou le thrash metal, alors que moi, je faisais le chemin en sens inverse. Ils aimaient beaucoup Swans, Throbbing Gristle et Killing Joke, des artistes que je ne connaissais pas à ce moment, mais qui m’ont plu rapidement. Nous étions toujours à la recherche de nouvelles choses à écouter. Ça partait souvent de ce que John Peel avait dit la veille à la BBC ou de ce que nous lisions dans le New Musical Express. Je passais aussi beaucoup de temps au magasin de disques Rough Trade sur Portobello Street à Londres. Comme me l’a dit King Buzzo (The Melvins) un jour, certains mélomanes sont des anthropologues musicaux. Pour moi, ç’a plein de bon sens !

PAN M 360 : De Omnibus Dubitandum Est est le titre d’un livre du philosophe danois Søren Kierkegaard qui pourrait se traduire par « On doit douter de tout », est-ce que le titre de l’album vient de là ? Est-ce que la pochette a un lien avec tout ça ? 

SE : Oui, le titre vient de ce livre. Je suis tombé dessus en faisant une recherche sur le web. Je suis en général un non-croyant, mais parfois, complètement à l’opposé… Ce titre me semblait approprié au moment de la sortie. La pochette quant à elle s’inspire de la Tour du silence que l’on retrouve dans les rites d’inhumation céleste, que je trouve fascinants et inspirants.

PAN M 360 : Quand on produit de la musique électronique, la frontière entre les aspects créatifs et techniques n’est jamais étanche, avec Dark Sky Burial, te vois-tu comme un musicien, un producteur ou un ingénieur ?

SE :
Je me vois comme un musicien. Pour l’instant, je vois tout ça comme le début d’un long chemin où j’ai beaucoup à apprendre et j’espère avoir l’occasion de collaborer avec des gens qui ont des idées semblables (merci d’ailleurs à ceux qui suivent ce projet et qui auront l’occasion de me voir m’améliorer). L’aspect technique est un peu intimidant, mais chacun a sa manière d’utiliser les outils à sa disposition.

PAN M 360 : En tant que membre d’un groupe, tu es habitué à recevoir des commentaires des autres membres, avec DSB, as-tu cherché à en obtenir d’autres personnes ?

SE : J’adore pouvoir me retrouver seul pour bidouiller des trucs dans mon studio ou à l’hôtel après un concert. Je me perds dans les sons et le temps passe rapidement. Ça me met dans un état de transe et c’est une excellente façon de s’évader. Je suis très chanceux de pouvoir entamer ce projet maintenant. J’ai fait entendre quelques pistes à des amis et tenu compte de certains de leurs commentaires, mais au départ je voulais que ce premier album reflète mes humeurs et mes drames.

PAN M 360 : Pour l’instant, l’album est uniquement offert en téléchargement, prévois-tu le sortir sur support physique ?

SE : Pour ce premier album, j’ai choisi 13 chansons parmi beaucoup d’esquisses que je vais aussi essayer de terminer. J’aimerais sortir un nouvel album tous les 3 ou 4 mois et après le 4e, les réunir dans un coffret de CD et de vinyles à tirage limité.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre