Marianne Trudel, 3 new albums and… may her joy (of the ephemeral) remain!

Interview by Alain Brunet
Genres and styles : Contemporary Jazz

Additional Information

Freed for a time during the pandemic, pianist Marianne Trudel soon returned to her lifestyle immersed in an insatiable passion for music, matched by the workaholism she’s known for : this autumn she’s releasing 3 albums that she visualizes as a triangle : solo À pas de loup, duo Dédé Java Espiritu with the excellent drummer and professor emeritus John Hollenbeck, Trio Time Poem : La joie de l’éphémère with the same percussionist colleague and bassist / double bassist Rémi-Jean Leblanc. The great and full nature, the total fragility of existence, loss, the celebration of life are the pieces of the pianistic and compositional engine perfected by the 46-year-old jazzwoman, composer, improviser, arranger, bandleader, producer, undoubtedly one of the most dynamic on the Montreal scene.
 
PAN M 360 : Commemoration, therefore. 

Marianne Trudel: It’s a bit of a pretext, because these three albums were conceived in the same period, the famous pandemic. I was waiting for the concerts to start up again. A series of concerts with John (Hollenbeck) had been postponed three times, a series of trio concerts had also been postponed a few times. In short, I was teaching online, waiting for activities to resume. At the same time, I set out to finish a doctorate I’d started ten years ago, but had put on hold because I was too busy with concerts and teaching. I’d been given a final ultimatum (after ten years, you have to file), and it was getting on my nerves.

PAN M 360: If we understand correctly, several factors delayed the release of these albums.

Marianne Trudel: It might have been a good idea to release them a few months apart, but at a certain point, I said to myself “It’s so three”, I really see them as a triangle, as three important points in the same patent. It’s three facets, three complements, I’m not sure. But they go together in my head, even if they’re very different. They’re all very nature-inspired, with John as the linking element between the duo and the trio. I said to myself, “If I’m going to go into debt, I’m going to go into debt for real, let’s go! I normally only release one at a time, but here I thought, “Here, this could be fun.”

PAN M 360: So there’s a duo, a trio and… À pas de loup

Marianne Trudel: A solo album, yes. I wanted to dare something with slowed-down, enveloping music, a little less jazz. It’s not a full-blown jazz album, these compositions are at the crossroads of classical music, contemporary music, jazz of course and other patents. It was important for me to do things this way, because I felt I was being bombarded from all sides. I needed a shelter, and I wanted to share that shelter.

PAN M 360: Minimalist, calm, this album is indeed a refuge on the borders of silence.

Marianne Trudel: I’m in love with silence, maybe it’s a paradox. Ever since I was a child, I’ve needed silence, I love silence. Sometimes it’s confronting as a musician: you want to create, to contribute something, and at the same time, you already find the world quite noisy. So you need this reset. The title of my solo album is À pas de loup and the subtitle is Quiet sound for a loud world. It’s really in a spirit of calm, gentleness and delicacy. I wanted something that vibrated on a different frequency. We slow down the engine and listen to ourselves think.

PAN M 360: There’s mostly piano in À pas de loup, but there’s also harmonium.

Marianne Trudel: The instrument was in Pierre Marchand’s studio. Usually, harmoniums are much smaller, maybe three octaves, but this one was really 88 notes, I’ve never seen such a harmonium. I sit at this instrument with the pedals, the bellows system and all that. The feeling I got after three seconds! I just started pedaling on it and let the sound come out. It was so enveloping, so reassuring. I said to the sound engineer, “Let’s go, get your mics out!

PAN M 360: And then the piano-percussion duo with John Hollenbeck, Dédé Java Espiritu, whose material is being played these days.

.

Marianne Trudel: There’s a lot of improvisation in our music. It goes in all directions. There’s super melodic stuff, there’s super groovy stuff, there’s noisier, freer, more experimental stuff. John and I have developed a great musical complicity together.

PAN M 360: And then there’s the trio: Time Poem: la joie de l’éphémère.

Marianne Trudel: It’s with John Hollenbeck, drums, who’s a bit of a binder for my projects, and Rémi-Jean Leblanc, double bass and electric bass. With me, he’d always played only double bass, but this time, I wanted both, and it’s super fun too, super bright.

PAN M 360: This album is the first to be released from this triptych. Born under what circumstances?

Marianne Trudel : During the pandemic, I was musically paralyzed for the first time in my artistic life. As someone who normally writes every day, I couldn’t get out a single note. Without the concerts, it lost all meaning. One day, I came face to face with a sound engineer I adore, Rob Heaney, while recording a piano track for a Vancouver artist. Rob had recorded several of my previous albums, and he’s a guy who’s passionate about music and in great demand – Cirque du Soleil, Patrick Watson and so on. “I said to him, “Look, Rob, I haven’t written a note in a while. He says, “Come on, that’s not like you at all! Call me and we’ll book a studio session. You’ll have no choice but to get back to work.” Just what I needed!

PAN M 360: And how did work get back on track?

Marianne Trudel: It was the summer of 2021, and I left the next day for Gaspésie for my vacation. Here I am in the mini-cottage I’d rented to go hiking for a week. Before going to bed, I go on Facebook and see messages on Facebook. “Rob, why did you leave us?” My heart is pounding and I can’t sleep all night. Very early the next morning, I call François Richard, a close friend of Rob’s. “He died at the wheel of his car. Cardiac arrest.” It gave me quite a shock. So I locked myself up in the little cottage, hardly ever setting foot outside. And I wrote nine pieces in nine days for my trio. I slept maybe ten hours in all, and collapsed at the end. I’ve never had a trip like that, it was day and night, it was very exhilarating.

PAN M 360: The tragic death of this sound engineer was therefore a powerful trigger!

Marianne Trudel: The album is called La joie de l’éphémère because I’ve always been very sensitive to the fragility of life. And here, I had it right in my face. It was a way of celebrating my good fortune to be alive. And then there’s the whole ephemeral thing that I love about improvised music: you can have a magical moment, it goes off into space and it’s over, it won’t be touched. So a tragic event was transformed into light. I dedicated this record to Rob. I called John, Rémi and Jean: “Listen, I’m writing music, I want to do this quickly.” That’s when it happened. We went into the studio, did it in two days, and then started playing gigs. It all fits together.

PAN M 360: So you’ve fully regained the momentum you lost during the pandemic. And so quickly repaired this small crack in this edifice you’ve been building since the early 2000s!

Marianne Trudel: About six months ago, someone asked me how long I’d been in the business. I realized then that I’d been playing piano for 40 years, and that my first album came out about 20 years ago. Even today, I put in 60-hour weeks with school, my booking and my productions. Why not underline that? Solo, duo, trio: three facets of the pandemic, a testimony to this period with their different and complementary colors.

crédit photo: Michel Pinault

Latest 360 Content

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO: Embracing Brazilian Traditions and Modernity 

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO: Embracing Brazilian Traditions and Modernity 

Truck Violence Burns It Down and Starts Again

Truck Violence Burns It Down and Starts Again

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un “fils de”… voici Kirá!

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un “fils de”… voici Kirá!

Jowee Omicil invites the liberating spirits of Bwa Kayman

Jowee Omicil invites the liberating spirits of Bwa Kayman

Dobet Gnahoré: an angel comes and stays

Dobet Gnahoré: an angel comes and stays

Baltra at Piknic Electronik | From lo-fi house to now

Baltra at Piknic Electronik | From lo-fi house to now

Jaeden Izik-Dzurko: A look back at the CMIM and a glance forward

Jaeden Izik-Dzurko: A look back at the CMIM and a glance forward

Love Heart Cheat Code, new push from Hiatus Kaiyote

Love Heart Cheat Code, new push from Hiatus Kaiyote

Suoni  | Sick of Fun

Suoni  | Sick of Fun

Suoni per il popolo | The socially committed and fiery jazz of Irreversible Entanglements

Suoni per il popolo | The socially committed and fiery jazz of Irreversible Entanglements

JAKŌ and his experimental soundscapes at Suoni

JAKŌ and his experimental soundscapes at Suoni

Ishi Tishi and their Evening With All The Animals at Suoni

Ishi Tishi and their Evening With All The Animals at Suoni

Suoni per il popolo | A chat with a contemporary music legend: Howard Skempton

Suoni per il popolo | A chat with a contemporary music legend: Howard Skempton

Habitat Sonore at Centre Phi| Summer playlist and ideal venue for active, immersive listening

Habitat Sonore at Centre Phi| Summer playlist and ideal venue for active, immersive listening

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege is aiming joy and sassiness

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege is aiming joy and sassiness

Suoni | Sarah Davachi and the idea of being played by No Hay Banda

Suoni | Sarah Davachi and the idea of being played by No Hay Banda

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Phi Centre | KALLITECHNIS is about sensuality and introspection

Phi Centre | KALLITECHNIS is about sensuality and introspection

Montréal Baroque Fest 2024 : discover the ‘’Multiverse’’ programming

Montréal Baroque Fest 2024 : discover the ‘’Multiverse’’ programming

L’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explains the Gala de la Terre

L’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explains the Gala de la Terre

Bell Orchestre becomes immersive and interactive, House Music becomes Sound House at SAT

Bell Orchestre becomes immersive and interactive, House Music becomes Sound House at SAT

INTERVIEW: Dumai Dunai releases debut album

INTERVIEW: Dumai Dunai releases debut album

SAT Dômesicle | Elena Colombi, a lot from the head for the body

SAT Dômesicle | Elena Colombi, a lot from the head for the body

Subscribe to our newsletter

Marianne Trudel, 3 albums neufs et… que sa joie (de l’éphémère) demeure !

Entrevue réalisée par Alain Brunet
Genres et styles : jazz contemporain

renseignements supplémentaires

Freinée un moment durant la pandémie, la pianiste Marianne Trudel a eu tôt fait de retrouver son mode de vie immergé d’une insatiable passion musicale, assortie d’un workaholisme qu’on lui connaît : elle sort cet automne 3 albums qu’elle visualise tel un triangle : solo À pas de loup, duo Dédé Java Espiritu avec l’excellent batteur et professeur émérite John Hollenbeck, Trio Time Poem : La joie de l’éphémère avec le même collègue percussionniste et le bassiste / contrebassiste Rémi-Jean Leblanc. La grande et pleine nature, la fragilité totale de l’existence, la perte, la célébration de la vie sont les pièces du moteur pianistique et compositionnel mis au point par la jazzwoman de 46 ans, compositrice, improvisatrice, arrangeure, leader d’orchestre, productrice, assurément l’une des plus dynamiques de la scène montréalaise.
 
PAN M 360 : Commémoration, donc. 

Marianne Trudel : C’est un peu un prétexte, car ces trois albums ont été conçus dans la même période, la fameuse pandémie. J’attendais alors que les concerts reprennent. Une série de concerts avec John (Hollenbeck) avait été reportée trois fois, une série de concerts en trio avait été reportée quelques fois aussi. Bref, j’enseignais en ligne, j’attendais la reprise des activités. En parallèle, j’ai entrepris de terminer un doctorat que j’avais commencé il y a dix ans, puis que j’avais laissé en plan parce que j’étais trop occupée avec les concerts et l’enseignement. J’avais reçu un dernier ultimatum (au bout de dix ans, il faut déposer), ça me chicotait.

PAN M 360 : Si on comprend bien, plusieurs facteurs ont retardé la sortie de ces albums.

Marianne Trudel : Ça aurait peut- être été judicieux de les sortir avec des écarts de quelques mois, mais à un moment, je les ai vus vraiment comme un triangle, comme trois points importants d’une même démarche. C’est trois facettes, c’est trois compléments, je ne sais trop. Mais ils vont ensemble dans ma tête même s’ils sont très différents. Ils sont tous très inspirés de la nature, avec John comme l’élément liant entre le duo et le trio. Je me suis dit « Tant qu’à m’endetter, je vais m’endetter pour vrai, let’s go! ». J’en sors normalement un seul à la fois, mais là, je me suis dit « Tiens, ça pourrait être le fun. »

PAN M 360 : Il y a donc un duo, un trio et… À pas de loup

Marianne Trudel : Un album solo, oui. J’avais envie d’oser quelque chose avec une musique au ralenti, enveloppante, un peu moins jazz. Ce n’est pas un album jazz à fond la caisse, ces compos se trouvent au carrefour de la musique classique, de la musique contemporaine, du jazz bien sûr et autres influences musicales. Il m’importait de faire les choses comme ça car je me sentais bardassée de tous bords tous côtés. J’avais besoin d’un refuge et j’avais envie de partager ce refuge.

PAN M 360 : Minimaliste, calme, cet album est effectivement un refuge aux frontières du silence.

Marianne Trudel : Je suis amoureuse du silence, c’est peut-être un paradoxe. Depuis mon enfance, j’ai besoin du silence, j’aime le silence. Des fois, c’est confrontant comme musicienne : tu veux créer, apporter quelque chose et en même temps, tu trouves déjà le monde pas mal bruyant. Alors on a besoin de cette remise à zéro. Le titre de mon album solo s’intitule À pas de loup et on a en sous-titre Quiet sound for a loud world. C’est vraiment dans un esprit de calme, de douceur, de délicatesse. J’avais envie d’un truc qui vibre sur une autre fréquence. On ralentit le moteur, on s’écoute penser.

PAN M 360 : Il y a surtout du piano dans À pas de loup, mais il y a aussi de l’harmonium.

Marianne Trudel : L’instrument était dans le studio de Pierre Marchand. D’habitude les harmoniums, c’est beaucoup plus petit, peut- être trois octaves.Celui-là, c’était vraiment 88 notes, jamais vu un tel harmonium. Je m’assois à cet instrument avec les pédales, le système de soufflets et tout ça. Là, le feeling que j’ai eu après trois secondes ! Je me suis mise à pédaler là- dessus et faire surgir le son. C’était tellement enveloppant, c’était tellement rassurant. Je dis à l’ingénieur du son let’s go, sors tes micros! »

PAN M 360 : Et puis le duo piano-percussions avec John Hollenbeck, Dédé Java Espiritu, dont la matière est jouée ces jours-ci.

.

Marianne Trudel : Il y a une grande part d’improvisation dans notre musique. Ça part un peu dans tous les sens. Il y a des trucs super mélodiques, il y a des trucs super groovy, il y a des trucs plus bruitistes, plus free, plus expérimentaux. John et moi avons développé ensemble une grande complicité musicale.

PAN M 360 : Et puis il y le trio : Time Poem : la joie de l’éphémère.

Marianne Trudel : C’est avec John Hollenbeck, batterie, qui est un peu le liant de mes projets, et Rémi-Jean Leblanc, contrebasse et basse électrique. Avec moi, il n’avait toujours joué que de la contrebasse, mais là, j’avais envie des deux et c’est super le fun aussi, super lumineux.

PAN M 360 : Cet album est le premier à être sorti de ce triptyque. Né dans quelles circonstances?

Marianne Trudel : Pendant la pandémie, j’ai été musicalement paralysée pour la première fois de ma vie artistique. Moi qui écris normalement à tous les jours, je ne sortais plus une seule note. Sans les concerts, ça perdait tout son sens. Un jour, je suis tombée face à face avec un ingénieur du son que j’adore, Rob Heaney, alors que j’enregistrais une piste de piano pour un artiste de Vancouver. Rob avait enregistré plusieurs de mes albums précédents, c’est un gars passionné par la musique, super sollicité – Cirque du Soleil, Patrick Watson, etc. « Écoute Rob, je n’ai pas écrit une note depuis un moment. » Il me dit alors :« Voyons, ça ne te ressemble pas du tout! Appelle-moi, on va se booker une séance de studio. Tu n’auras pas le choix, tu vas te remettre à l’ouvrage. » C’était ce dont j’avais besoin!

PAN M 360: Et comment le travail a-t-il repris ?

Marianne Trudel: C’était l’été 2021, je suis partie le lendemain en Gaspésie pour mes vacances. Me voilà dans le mini chalet que j’avais loué pour aller faire de la rando pendant une semaine. Avant d’aller dormir, je vais sur Facebook et je vois des messages sur Facebook. « Rob, pourquoi nous as-tu quittés? » Le cœur me débat, je ne dors pas de la nuit. Très tôt le lendemain matin, j’appelle François Richard, un proche de Rob. « Il est mort au volant de sa voiture. Arrêt cardiaque. » Ça m’a donné tout un choc. Je me suis alors enfermée dans le petit chalet, je n’ai pas mis le nez dehors ou presque. Et j’ai écrit neuf pièces en neuf jours pour mon trio. J’ai peut-être dormi une dizaine d’heures en tout, je me suis effondrée à la fin. Je n’ai jamais fait un trip comme ça, c’était jour et nuit, c’était très grisant.

PAN M 360 : La disparition tragique de cet ingénieur du son fut donc un puissant déclencheur!

Marianne Trudel : L’album s’intitule La joie de l’éphémère parce que j’ai toujours été très sensible à la fragilité de la vie. Et là, je l’avais en plein visage. C’était une façon de célébrer ma chance d’être en vie. Et aussi il y a tout le côté éphémère que j’adore avec la musique improvisée: tu peux vivre un moment magique, ça part dans l’espace et c’est fini, on n’y touchera pas. Alors un événement tragique s’est transformé en lumière. Ce disque-là, il est hyper lumineux et je l’ai dédié à Rob. J’ai appelé John, Rémi et Jean : « Écoutez, j’écris de la musique, je veux faire ça rapidement. » C’est là que ça se passe. On est entrés en studio, on a fait ça en deux jours, après quoi on s’est mis à faire des concerts. Tout ça s’imbrique.

PAN M 360 : Tu as ainsi retrouvé pleinement ton dynamisme perdu pendant la pandémie. Et donc vite réparé cette petite fissure de cet édifice que tu construis depuis le début des années 2000!

Marianne Trudel : Il y a à peu près six mois, quelqu’un m’a demandé depuis quand je pratiquais ce métier. J’ai réalisé alors ça faisait 40 ans que je jouais du piano, et que mon premier album était sorti il y a à peu près 20 ans. Encore aujourd’hui, je fais des semaines de 60 heures avec l’école, mon booking, mes productions. Pourquoi ne pas le souligner? Solo, duo, trio: trois facettes de la pandémie, un témoignage de cette période avec leurs couleurs différentes et complémentaires.

crédit photo: Michel Pinault

MARIANNE TRUDEL ET JOHN HOLLENBECK SE PRODUISENT LES 2, 4, 8 ET 9 NOVEMBRE DANS LES MAISONS DE LA CULTURE SUIVANTES:

2 nov 202319h30Conseil des arts de Montréal en tournée: Marianne Trudel — John Hollenbeck: Dédé Java EspirituMontréal, Québec
Salle Oliver Jones — Maison culturelle et communautaire de Montréal-Nord
4 nov 202319h30Conseil des arts de Montréal en tournée: Marianne Trudel — John Hollenbeck: Dédé Java EspirituMontréal, Québec
Maison de la culture du Plateau-Mont-Royal
8 nov 202320h00Conseil des arts de Montréal en tournée: Marianne Trudel — John Hollenbeck: Dédé Java EspirituMontréal, Québec
St Jax Montréal
9 nov 202319h00Conseil des arts de Montréal en tournée: Marianne Trudel — John Hollenbeck: Dédé Java EspirituLaSalle, Québec
Théâtre du Grand Sault — Centre culturel et communautaire Henri-Lemieux

Tout le contenu 360

Francos | Valence, la beauté de l’insomnie

Francos | Valence, la beauté de l’insomnie

Suoni  | Sick of Fun… vraiment malade !

Suoni  | Sick of Fun… vraiment malade !

Dômesicle à la SAT | Dombrance: costard, moustache, frenchy électro… party !

Dômesicle à la SAT | Dombrance: costard, moustache, frenchy électro… party !

DES hymnes à l’amour du côté de Bohème

DES hymnes à l’amour du côté de Bohème

Suoni per il popolo | Le jazz incendiaire et engagé de Irreversible Entanglements

Suoni per il popolo | Le jazz incendiaire et engagé de Irreversible Entanglements

JAKŌ et ses paysages sonores expérimentaux aux Suoni

JAKŌ et ses paysages sonores expérimentaux aux Suoni

Ishi Tishi et leur soirée avec tous les animaux aux Suoni

Ishi Tishi et leur soirée avec tous les animaux aux Suoni

Suoni per il popolo | On pique un jasette avec une légende de la musique contemporaine : Howard Skempton

Suoni per il popolo | On pique un jasette avec une légende de la musique contemporaine : Howard Skempton

Tali Rose partage son Piknic Electronik

Tali Rose partage son Piknic Electronik

Festival Classica pour enfants | Denis Gougeon et Julie Daoust nous causent « biscuits, tempêtes et mélodies »

Festival Classica pour enfants | Denis Gougeon et Julie Daoust nous causent « biscuits, tempêtes et mélodies »

Festival Classica – Fauré et Dubois au siècle dernier

Festival Classica – Fauré et Dubois au siècle dernier

Habitat Sonore au Centre Phi| Playlist estivale et lieu idéal pour l’écoute active et immersive

Habitat Sonore au Centre Phi| Playlist estivale et lieu idéal pour l’écoute active et immersive

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege, transidentité,  joie, insolence

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege, transidentité, joie, insolence

Suoni | Sarah Davachi et l’enjeu d’être jouée par No Hay Banda

Suoni | Sarah Davachi et l’enjeu d’être jouée par No Hay Banda

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Centre PHI | KALLITECHNIS incarne sensualité et introspection.

Centre PHI | KALLITECHNIS incarne sensualité et introspection.

Festival Classica – Hommage à Queen

Festival Classica – Hommage à Queen

Vincent Lauzer parle de la programmation de Montréal baroque 2024

Vincent Lauzer parle de la programmation de Montréal baroque 2024

Au Gala de la Terre, l’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explique

Au Gala de la Terre, l’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explique

Bell Orchestre immersif et interactif: House Music devient Sound House à la SAT

Bell Orchestre immersif et interactif: House Music devient Sound House à la SAT

Festival Classica | La parole de Georges Sand, les mots de Denis Plante

Festival Classica | La parole de Georges Sand, les mots de Denis Plante

Festival Classica | Un anniversaire symphonique pour Starmania et Jacques Lacombe

Festival Classica | Un anniversaire symphonique pour Starmania et Jacques Lacombe

Festival Classica | Un hommage à Théodore Dubois signé Lavigueur et Sinfonia

Festival Classica | Un hommage à Théodore Dubois signé Lavigueur et Sinfonia

Dumai Dunai sort son premier album… et en cause

Dumai Dunai sort son premier album… et en cause

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre