Harikuyamaku: Okinawa dub version

Entrevue réalisée par Rupert Bottenberg

With not one but two very different releases this week, it’s a good time to check in with Harikuyamaku, a musician and producer rooted in the sun-soaked soil of Okinawa – the culturally distinct, southernmost punctuation point of the Japanese archipelago. Harikuyamaku’s music is a mash-up of Okinawan folk and dub reggae, with excursions into the wider field of electronic dance music and experimentation. PAN M 360 flagged him down to talk about that, ceramic speakers, butoh dance, and more.

Genres et styles : Dub Reggae / Minyo

renseignements supplémentaires

Above: Yukino Inamine and Harikuyamaku

PAN M 360: Your main intention as a musician is combining Okinawa minyo (folk songs) with dub reggae. This is a nice mix – the two music styles fit well together, even though their energies work at different levels. By the way, I think Okinawan minyo might be the happiest music in the world.

Harikuyamaku: Okinawa minyo is very unique music, different from other Japanese styles. It’s part of everyday life in Okinawa. In fact, until the reversion of Okinawa to Japan in 1972, it had been the popular music of the Okinawan people. I’ve heard that so many new minyo songs were being recorded and released on seven-inches every day, like in the ’70s Jamaican reggae scene.

Okinawa minyo is on the offbeat. That’s also like reggae music. But it doesn’t have bass. When I rediscovered my country’s music after traveling abroad, I was also becoming affected by ’70s dub music from Jamaica. I was a bass player, I like low-end sound. Then I thought to match Okinawa minyo with dub. I added bass, drums and other things, collected analogue mixers, a Roland RE-201 Space Echo and ’70s effectors like digital delays and phasers. Then, I dubbed.

The melodies of Okinawa minyo are very beautiful. As for the lyrics, there are many varieties. Classical songs to be played in the royal court have beautiful words, but many minyo have sad, suffering lyrics. There are many songs about the war in Okinawa. In addition, there are songs about changes in society and life. And also, there are many with dirty lyrics. I like that.

PAN M 360: On your first album, Shima Dub (2013), you mostly used samples from old records. More recently, you’ve started working with musicians in the studio. In fact, you have a new single with the sanshin player Yukino Inamine. Tell me more about her, and about “Ohshima Yangoo Bushi”.

Harikuyamaku: Yukino Inamine is a new-generation singer of Okinawa minyo. I think minyo singers are mostly so typical that they just sing in a faithful manner. Yukino is free and alternative. She plays live sometimes with bass, drums, and other things, and also makes new minyo songs, with words for our time. I had hoped to record with real singer for a long time. I just discovered her this year, and we’ve played live together three times. “Ohshima Yangoo Bushi” is our first recording. It’s a very old Okinawan song about Amami Island, and love. We consulted an old SP record.

PAN M 360: Your new album, Subtropica, is very different from your other work. The track “Subtropica” is almost an hour long, and it’s a soundscape, a sonic environment. It was originally a group of separate sound channels, for an installation of ceramic speakers by the Okinawa potter Paul Lorimer. I didn’t know that one can make speakers out of clay!

Harikuyamaku: Recently, I’ve become very interested in synthesizers, for making some sound effects or noises in dub. Potter Paul Lorimer’s precious presence in Okinawa, working with his original climbing kiln, gave me nice chance to express my synthesizer works. He made many different speakers, with ceramic bodies and Audio Nirvana and Fostex speaker units. Each has its own unique sound. For his exhibition, there were eight of his speakers in the space. I selected and located them, and chose what kind of sound would be suitable for each. It was super-surround!

PAN M 360: Part of Subtropica is also used for the video of Aki Bandō’s butoh performance piece, “Ninth Sense Invocation pō 2”. This is yet another context for your work, avant-garde theatre and dance.

Harikuyamaku: Butoh dancer Aki Bandō is my friend. She was looking for a soundtrack for her performance, and asked me. I like extreme expressions, so I gave her some tracks, and she liked my “Subtropica 2mix” demo. I hear she’ll present the video at some film festivals. I hope it gets some good attention.

Above: Harikuyamaku live in Tokyo with Heavy Manners Ryukyu

PAN M 360: There is also a live track at the end of the album, from the show bar Love Ball in Naha City, Okinawa. It’s from a 2017 set… can you tell me more about it?

Harikuyamaku: I did improvisation live using a Korg MS2000 and ER-1, a Moog Mother32, minyo samples and effectors at Love Ball. Sometimes I do improv live, I’ve done up to seven hours before. Improv with machines is my musical challenge. Love Ball was very important club in Naha, Okinawa, that was managed by Akazuchi, the local hip hop crew. But now it’s closed. I caught a lot of good music there.

PAN M 360: So what’s next? What are you working on now?

Harikuyamaku: Right now, I’m making another song with Yukino. Recording is done. It will be released on the Chill Mountain label, managed by my friend DJ Ground. To match the label’s colour, I’m making a slow house track for the dancefloor. I’m inspired by some slow house scenes, using traditional sounds from South America. I hope to join them, using traditional Okinawan music.

I’m in some bands – Angama is a dub techno session unit with KOR-ONE, we just released our first cassette-tape album view in April. Churashima Navigator is a four-person electronic Okinawan band produced by Sinkichi – he’s also great DJ – and we’ve just released an album, and a remix album. Isatooment is techno/house production unit with Sinkichi, we released a three-track EP on Chill Mountain last year. We also use Okinawan samples. And Gintendan is five-person experimental dub band that has released two albums. I have my own DIY studio, I always work with them.

Tout le contenu 360

FIMAV 2024 | Sélébéyone, or cultural intersections according to Steve Lehman

FIMAV 2024 | Sélébéyone, or cultural intersections according to Steve Lehman

Kaia Kater Talks About Her New Album Strange Medicine

Kaia Kater Talks About Her New Album Strange Medicine

FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

CMIM – Piano 2024: The finalists’ penultimate stretch (Part 2)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The finalists’ penultimate stretch (Part 2)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The penultimate round of finalists (Part 1)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The penultimate round of finalists (Part 1)

Musical Chairs, a chamber music festival at the Schulich School of Music

Musical Chairs, a chamber music festival at the Schulich School of Music

Swing the Mass at Cinquième salle : Will Todd’s Mass in Blue for a rare occasion in Quebec

Swing the Mass at Cinquième salle : Will Todd’s Mass in Blue for a rare occasion in Quebec

Meet Uuriintuya Khalivan: the woman who brings Mongolia to Canada

Meet Uuriintuya Khalivan: the woman who brings Mongolia to Canada

Women’s Silk Roads at the Centre des Musiciens du Monde Festival 2024

Women’s Silk Roads at the Centre des Musiciens du Monde Festival 2024

Tribute to John Williams: the darling of musicians and audiences alike

Tribute to John Williams: the darling of musicians and audiences alike

Corridor: From Analog Legacy to Electronic Exploration

Corridor: From Analog Legacy to Electronic Exploration

FIMAV 2024 | Scott Thomson, new artistic director, explains and reveals his favorites

FIMAV 2024 | Scott Thomson, new artistic director, explains and reveals his favorites

Nastasia Y, her ukrainian culture infused with Canada

Nastasia Y, her ukrainian culture infused with Canada

CMIM: Shira Gilbert and Zarin Mehta talk about Piano 2024 edition

CMIM: Shira Gilbert and Zarin Mehta talk about Piano 2024 edition

Before the CMIM kicks off, Chantal Poulin talks to us about the Piano 2024 edition.

Before the CMIM kicks off, Chantal Poulin talks to us about the Piano 2024 edition.

Wake Island at the Phi Center: multidimensional!

Wake Island at the Phi Center: multidimensional!

Alex Henry Foster Talks About Overcoming Death and his new album, Kimiyo

Alex Henry Foster Talks About Overcoming Death and his new album, Kimiyo

Information: Montreal Oct. 1970 by Tim Brady: a first opera about the October ’70 Crisis

Information: Montreal Oct. 1970 by Tim Brady: a first opera about the October ’70 Crisis

P’tit Belliveau Talks About His New Album, Frogs, and Income Tax

P’tit Belliveau Talks About His New Album, Frogs, and Income Tax

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre

×

Harikuyamaku : Okinawa version dub

Interview réalisé par Rupert Bottenberg

Avec ses deux parutions très différentes lancées cette semaine, le moment est bon de rencontrer Harikuyamaku, un musicien et producteur bien enraciné dans la région ensoleillée d’Okinawa, le lieu culturellement distinct le plus au sud de l’archipel japonais. La musique d’Harikuyamaku est un mélange de folklore d’Okinawa et de reggae dub, avec des débordements du côté de la dance music électronique et de l’expérimentation. PAN M 360 s’est entretenu avec lui à propos de sa musique, des haut-parleurs en céramique, de la danse butoh et de bien d’autres choses encore.

Genres et styles : dub reggae / minyo

renseignements supplémentaires

Photo : Yukino Inamine et Harikuyamaku

PAN M 360 : Votre objectif premier en tant que musicien est de combiner le minyo d’Okinawa (chansons folkloriques) et le reggae dub. C’est un beau mélange, les deux styles se marient bien, même si leurs énergies fonctionnent à des niveaux différents. Je pense d’ailleurs que le minyo d’Okinawa est l’une des musiques les plus joyeuses du monde.

Harikuyamaku : Le minyo d’Okinawa est une musique très particulière, différente des autres styles japonais. Il fait partie de la vie quotidienne à Okinawa. En fait, jusqu’à la rétrocession d’Okinawa au Japon en 1972, c’était la musique populaire du peuple d’Okinawa. J’ai entendu dire que de nombreuses nouvelles chansons de minyo étaient enregistrées et publiées chaque jour, comme à la belle époque de la scène reggae jamaïcaine durant les années 70.

Le minyo d’Okinawa ne tombe pas sur le rythme, il est décalé, un peu comme le reggae, mais il n’y a pas de basse. Quand j’ai redécouvert la musique de mon pays après avoir voyagé à l’étranger, j’écoutais aussi du dub de la Jamaïque des années 70. Comme je suis bassiste, j’aime les sonorités graves. J’ai alors pensé à associer le minyo d’Okinawa au dub. J’ai ajouté de la basse, de la batterie et diverses autres choses, des consoles de mixage analogiques, un Roland RE-201 Space Echo et des pédales d’effets des années 70 comme des delay et des phasers numériques. Puis j’ai mélangé le tout.

Les mélodies du minyo d’Okinawa sont très belles, quant aux paroles, il y a beaucoup de variété. Les chansons classiques destinées à être jouées à la cour royale comportent de beaux textes, mais de nombreux minyos ont des paroles tristes et douloureuses. Il y a beaucoup de chansons sur la guerre d’Okinawa. Il y en a sur les changements dans la société et la vie. Il y en a beaucoup aussi avec des paroles cochonnes, ça me plaît bien.

PAN M 360 : Sur votre premier album, Shima Dub (2013), vous avez surtout utilisé des échantillons de vieux disques. Plus récemment, vous avez commencé à travailler avec des musiciens en studio. Vous avez même un nouveau single mettant en vedette la joueuse de sanshin Yukino Inamine, parlez-moi un peu d’elle et d’Ohshima Yangoo Bushi.

Harikuyamaku : Yukino Inamine fait partie d’une nouvelle génération de chanteurs et chanteuses de minyo d’Okinawa. Les chanteurs de minyo chantent pour la plupart de manière assez traditionnelle. Yukino est libre et différente. Elle joue parfois en concert avec basse, batterie et d’autres choses, et elle fait aussi de nouvelles chansons de minyo, avec des paroles en phase avec notre époque. J’espérais depuis longtemps enregistrer avec une vraie chanteuse et je viens tout juste de la découvrir, cette année. Nous avons joué trois fois en concert déjà. Ohshima Yangoo Bushi est la première pièce que nous avons faite ensemble. C’est une très vieille chanson d’Okinawa portant sur l’île d’Amami et l’amour. Nous nous sommes inspirés d’un vieux disque de SP.

PAN M 360 : Votre nouvel album, Subtropica, est très différent de vos précédents. La pièce Subtropica dure presque une heure, et c’est un paysage, un environnement sonore. Il s’agissait à l’origine d’un groupe de canaux sonores séparés pour une installation de haut-parleurs en céramique du potier d’Okinawa Paul Lorimer. Je ne savais pas qu’on fabriquait des haut-parleurs avec de l’argile !

Harikuyamaku : Récemment, pour faire des effets sonores ou des bruits dub, je me suis beaucoup intéressé aux synthétiseurs. La présence précieuse du potier Paul Lorimer à Okinawa, qui travaille toujours avec son même vieux four, m’a donné l’occasion de m’exprimer par les synthétiseurs. Il a fabriqué de nombreux haut-parleurs différents, avec des corps en céramique et des éléments de haut-parleurs Audio Nirvana et Fostex. Chacun a un son unique. Pour son installation, il y avait huit de ses haut-parleurs dans l’espace. Parmi eux j’ai repéré et sélectionné ceux qui me convenaient le mieux. C’était de la super-ambiophonie!

PAN M 360 : Une partie de Subtropica a également servi à la vidéo de la performance de butoh d’Aki Bandō, Ninth Sense Invocation pō 2, il s’agit là d’un autre contexte pour votre travail, le théâtre et la danse d’avant-garde.

Harikuyamaku : La danseuse de butoh Aki Bandō est mon amie. Elle se cherchait une bande sonore pour sa performance et s’est adressée à moi. J’aime les expressions extrêmes, alors je lui ai donné quelques pistes et elle a aimé ma démo de Subtropica 2mix. Il semble qu’elle présentera la vidéo dans certains festivals de cinéma, j’espère que cela lui permettra d’attirer l’attention.

Ci-dessus : Harikuyamaku en concert à Tokyo avec Heavy Manners Ryukyu

PAN M 360 : Il y a aussi, à la fin de l’album, un morceau enregistré devant public au bar-spectacle Love Ball à Naha City, Okinawa, qui remonte à 2017, pouvez-vous m’en dire plus long à son sujet ?

Harikuyamaku : J’ai fait une improvisation avec un Korg MS2000 et un ER-1, un Moog Mother32, des échantillons de minyos et des pédales d’effets au Love Ball. Quand j’improvise en concert, il m’est déjà arrivé de le faire en continu pendant sept heures. Improviser avec des machines représente pour moi un véritable défi. Le Love Ball était un club très important à Naha, Okinawa, qui était géré par Akazuchi, le groupe de hip-hop local, mais il est maintenant fermé. J’y ai entendu beaucoup de bonne musique.

PAN M 360 : Et maintenant, à quoi travaillez-vous ?

Harikuyamaku : En ce moment, je suis en train de faire une autre chanson avec Yukino. L’enregistrement est terminé. Elle sortira sur le label Chill Mountain dirigé par mon ami DJ Ground. Pour correspondre à la couleur du label, je fais un morceau de slow house pour les planchers de danse. Je m’inspire de certaines scènes de slow house et j’utilise des sons traditionnels d’Amérique du Sud. J’espère y intégrer de la musique traditionnelle d’Okinawa.

Je fais partie de quelques groupes –Angama est une formation de techno dub avec KOR-ONE, nous venons de sortir notre premier album view sur cassette en avril. Churashima Navigator est un groupe électronique d’Okinawa composé de quatre personnes avec pour réalisateur Sinkichi, qui est aussi un excellent DJ, et nous venons de sortir un album ainsi qu’un album de remixes. Isatooment est une formation techno/house comprenant Sinkichi, nous avons sorti un EP de trois titres sur Chill Mountain l’année dernière. Nous utilisons également des samples d’Okinawa. Enfin, Gintendan est un groupe de dub expérimental de cinq personnes qui a deux albums à son actif. J’ai mon propre studio de bricolage, je suis toujours en train de travailler avec eux.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre