“Grignotines de luxe”: A surprise album that will satisfy more than a few

Interview by Elsa Fortant

Without warning, FouKi kicks out an album without hang-ups and definitively feelgood.

Genres and styles : Hip Hop / Keb Rap

Additional Information

Photo: Félix Renaud

Nourished on the rap of Alaclair Ensemble, FouKi, 21 years old, is now signed to the same stable as his inspiration, Disques 7ème Ciel. He worked for it, the proof being his four albums, including one with Koriass. Under cover of playful lyrics and catchy melodic beats, he tackles delicate themes. Grignotines de luxe, a 12-track album that’s a sequel to the EP released a few weeks ago, gives pride of place to singing, brass, and guitar, and reveals structures close to pop and chanson. PAN M 360 spoke with FouKi about his record, a work without hang-ups.

PAN M 360: You say that Grignotines de luxe is your most accomplished album.

FouKi: First of all, on the production side, we looked for more instruments, then also on the lyrical side, there’s like a guideline to the album, more than with the previous ones, which were maybe a bit more collections of songs. This time I started with three or four songs, and then I built around them. It’s been a long time since I’ve got the feels, as you might say. Sometimes I listen to Bijou again and, I still get shivers.

PAN M 360: It’s obvious that the common thread is food, can you tell me more about that?

FouKi: It’s not necessarily just like, “you have to eat, go ahead, eat the food, yeah, yeah” (laughs), I’m making innuendo, I don’t just talk about “Crêpes sirop d’érable”. I’ve noticed that “S.P.A.L.A.”, live, works almost too well, the crowd shouts “spaghetti garlic bread!” It made me think that food is a bit like music. You’re going to think of a dish and it’s going to take you back to your grandmother’s when you were young. I wanted to exploit the perceptual side of food.

PAN M 360: Concerning the track “Crêpe sirop d’érable”, it’s also a way of talking about Quebec identity. On Bijou you approach it differently, you say “I’m a fucking wanderer in my country, Canada.” Can you explain your feelings?

FouKi: I’m not a hater of Canada, I love Canada, it’s just that you have to be aware of it, I’ve been out West with my girlfriend and I met people who didn’t think we could speak French in Quebec, they just don’t know, some people think we speak English. It’s a mixture of ignorance and thoughtlessness on the part of Canadians who are not Quebecers.

PAN M 360: Is your rap music a platform for highlighting this culture?

FouKi: You know, when you’re a young artist, you look for your identity, that was part of my questioning – “I could rap in English, or more French style” – at some point it’s not just my personal identity, I want it to be Quebecois. My father comes from Baie-Comeau and my mother from Lac Saint Jean, I was born in Montreal, it’s a nice mix. I grew up in a culturally diverse environment, I still have my Quebec roots.

Photo: Félix Renaud

PAN M 360: Who did you mainly work with on this album?

FouKi: “Beigne” is a song by Richard Beynon who did “Ciel” (with Alicia Moffet) too. That beat was supposed to be for Kanye West and he slept on it. After that, Marc Vinvent composed “Table d’hôte” with me in mind. Except on “Grignotines” and “PCU”, where I made the basic beat, it’s pretty much all Michel (Quiet Mike) and Clément (the guitarist of Clay and Friends).

PAN M 360: You sampled the voice of Louis-José Houde, who did a very remarkable sketch about you at the Gala de l’ADISQ 2019 – is that a tribute?

FouKi: It’s all because of him. The 2019 Gala, for me, I won more than a Felix or two or three – Louis-José Houde’s sketch was worth all the Felixes in the world! I thought it was funny that he said that a rapper who talks about snacks is out of this world, it doesn’t make sense. It really inspired me, I wanted to follow the delirium. Apparently he likes my music, we sent him the whole thing to find out if he agreed and he was super down with it.

PAN M 360: That’s not the only vocal sample you used. On “Beigne”, you hear “As I get older I say the same shit as when I was 16 / But now in meetings I’m taken seriously.” Who’s behind it, and is it an analogy for your evolution in the Quebec rap scene?

FouKi: There’s a funny story behind it. I can’t say who it is because I tried to send him the song but they didn’t reply. It happened at the St-Jean show, the person was telling a story to Émile Bilodeau and I, and I asked to record it because it was too perfect, they said yes but didn’t say, “go ahead and put it on your album” (laughs). That’s why I high-pitched their voice by +4, so that we don’t know if it’s a woman or a man. It spoke to me so much, it’s so true! When you’re young, you’re not taken seriously, as you get older you gain recognition from your peers and you can fulfil childhood or teenage dreams. The St-Jean show was really one of my highlights of 2020.

PAN M 360: Any culinary advice for those who will read this interview?

FouKi: Dare to be spicy-sweet-salty!

Photo: Félix Renaud

Latest 360 Content

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca : “Searching for Goya” with Martin Santangelo

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca : “Searching for Goya” with Martin Santangelo

“Mon coeur bat la chamade” – Talking with Gabrielle Cloutier

“Mon coeur bat la chamade” – Talking with Gabrielle Cloutier

Final Fantasy | Immersive and symphonic video games series

Final Fantasy | Immersive and symphonic video games series

On the Record with ROM1

On the Record with ROM1

M for Montréal | H for Hippie Hourrah!

M for Montréal | H for Hippie Hourrah!

M For Montreal | Winona Forever Reveals Details on Their Upcoming Album and DIY Beginnings

M For Montreal | Winona Forever Reveals Details on Their Upcoming Album and DIY Beginnings

Mundial Montréal | “Who Are We?” with Al-Qasar

Mundial Montréal | “Who Are We?” with Al-Qasar

Behind the Self with Everly Lux

Behind the Self with Everly Lux

Terry: Mamadou Koïta’s praise for friendship and gratitude

Terry: Mamadou Koïta’s praise for friendship and gratitude

Jeremy Dutcher, Wolastoqey contemporary wisdom, vision, innovation

Jeremy Dutcher, Wolastoqey contemporary wisdom, vision, innovation

FMA 2023: “From Damascus to Montreal”,  a conversation with Nazih Borish

FMA 2023: “From Damascus to Montreal”, a conversation with Nazih Borish

Coup de cœur francophone : Andrike$ Black, Quickdraw rap DMV

Coup de cœur francophone : Andrike$ Black, Quickdraw rap DMV

Coup de cœur francophone | 50 ans avec Pierre Flynn

Coup de cœur francophone | 50 ans avec Pierre Flynn

Lucienne Renaudin Vary: a new incarnation of virtuosity

Lucienne Renaudin Vary: a new incarnation of virtuosity

Marianne Trudel, 3 new albums and… may her joy (of the ephemeral) remain!

Marianne Trudel, 3 new albums and… may her joy (of the ephemeral) remain!

Speaking “Touman” With Dramane Konaté.

Speaking “Touman” With Dramane Konaté.

Coup de Coeur Francophone : Jeanne Laforest’s Sophisticated Pop

Coup de Coeur Francophone : Jeanne Laforest’s Sophisticated Pop

Jaap Nico Hamburger: Composer, Cardiologist, Soul…oist and Ariella

Jaap Nico Hamburger: Composer, Cardiologist, Soul…oist and Ariella

Eli Rose is back with her soft, confident pop

Eli Rose is back with her soft, confident pop

Bons Times Bad Times, in the intimate diary of Miro Chino

Bons Times Bad Times, in the intimate diary of Miro Chino

CIRMMT: “In the world, there are not 5 multimedia rooms of this level!”

CIRMMT: “In the world, there are not 5 multimedia rooms of this level!”

Erwan Finds Peace in the Right Place

Erwan Finds Peace in the Right Place

Le Vivier | Paramirabo + Ensemble Variances: Thierry Pécou and a Chance Encounter That Bears Fruit

Le Vivier | Paramirabo + Ensemble Variances: Thierry Pécou and a Chance Encounter That Bears Fruit

AKOUSMA | Aho Ssan, Afro-electro-acoustic rhizomes

AKOUSMA | Aho Ssan, Afro-electro-acoustic rhizomes

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

«Grignotines de luxe», un album-surprise qui va en rassasier plus d’un.e

Interview réalisé par Elsa Fortant

Sans prévenir, FouKi balance un album décomplexé et résolument « feel good ».

Genres et styles : hip-hop / rap keb

renseignements supplémentaires

Crédit photo : Félix Renaud

Nourri au rap d’Alaclair Ensemble, FouKi, 21 ans, fait aujourd’hui partie de la même écurie que ses modèles, Disques 7ème Ciel. Et il n’a pas chômé ! À preuve, ses quatre albums au compteur, dont l’un avec Koriass. Sous le couvert de textes ludiques et de beats mélodiques et accrocheurs, il aborde en filigrane des thèmes délicats. Grignotines de luxe, album de douze pistes faisant suite à l’EP sorti il y a quelques semaines, fait la part belle à la voix chantée, aux cuivres, à la guitare et dévoile des structures proches de la pop et de la chanson. Une proposition décomplexée.  

PAN M 360 : Tu affirmes que Grignotines de luxe est ton album le plus abouti, dis-nous en plus.

FouKi : Premièrement, du côté de la production, on a été cherché beaucoup plus d’instruments, puis aussi du côté des paroles. Il y a comme une ligne directrice dans l’album, plus qu’avec les précédents qui étaient peut-être un peu plus des ramassis de chansons. Cette fois-ci, je suis parti avec 3-4 morceaux, puis j’ai construit autour. Ça faisait longtemps que j’avais pas eu des « feels », comme on pourrait dire. Des fois, je réécoute Bijou, puis j’ai quand même des frissons. 

PAN M 360 : On comprend clairement que le fil rouge, c’est la bouffe, peux-tu me parler de ça plus en détails ? 

FouKi : C’est pas forcément juste un côté « faut qu’tu manges, vas-y, mange la bouffe, yeah, yeah » (rires). Je fais des sous-entendus, je ne fais pas juste parler de Crêpes sirop d’érable. J’ai remarqué que S.P.A.L.A, en show, ça marche que trop, le monde crie « Spaghetti pain à l’ail ! » Ça m’a fait penser que la bouffe, c’est un peu comme la musique : tu vas penser à un plat et ça va te ramener chez ta grand-mère quand t’étais jeune. J’ai voulu exploiter le côté imagé de la nourriture.

PAN M 360 : Concernant le morceau Crêpe sirop d’érable, c’est aussi une façon de parler de l’identité québécoise. Dans Bijou, tu l’abordes autrement, tu dis « J’suis un fucking pérégrin dans mon pays du Canada », peux-tu expliciter ton ressenti ?

FouKi : Je ne suis pas un hater du Canada, j’aime le Canada. C’est juste qu’il faut être au courant. J’ai été dans l’Ouest avec ma copine et j’ai rencontré des gens qui ne pensaient pas qu’on pouvait parler français au Québec. Ils ne savent juste pas, il y en a qui pensent qu’on parle anglais. C’est un mélange d’ignorance et de je-m’en-foutisme de la part des Canadiens qui ne sont pas des Québécois. 

PAN M 360 : Est-ce que ton rap est une tribune pour mettre en valeur cette culture ? 

FouKi : Tu sais, quand t’es un jeune artiste, tu cherches ton identité. Ça faisait partie de mes questionnements, « je pourrais rapper en anglais ou plus à la française ». À un moment donné, c’est pas juste mon identité personnelle, j’ai envie que ce soit québécois. Mon père vient de Baie-Comeau et ma mère du Lac-Saint-Jean, je suis né à Montréal, c’est un beau mélange. J’ai grandi dans la diversité culturelle, j’ai quand même mes racines québécoises. 

Crédit photo : Félix Renaud

PAN M 360 : Avec qui as-tu principalement travaillé sur cet album ?

FouKi : Beigne, c’est une chanson de Richard Beynon qui a fait Ciel (avec Alicia Moffet) aussi. Ce beat-là était censé être pour Kanye West et il a dormi dessus. Après ça, Marc Vincent a composé Table d’hôte en pensant à moi. À part sur Grignotines et PCU, où j’ai fait le beat à la base, c’est pas mal tout Michel (Quiet Mike) et Clément (le guitariste de Clay and Friends). 

PAN M 360 : Tu as échantillonné la voix de Louis-José Houde qui avait fait un sketch très remarqué à ton sujet lors du Gala de l’ADISQ 2019, est-ce un hommage ?

FouKi : C’est à cause de lui tout ça. Le Gala 2019, tant qu’à moi, j’ai gagné pas mal plus qu’un Félix ou deux ou trois. Le sketch de Louis-José Houde, ça valait tous les Félix du monde ! Je trouvais ça drôle qu’il dise qu’un rappeur qui parle de grignotines, c’est out of this world, c’est pas cohérent. Ça m’a vraiment inspiré, j’ai voulu suivre le délire. Apparemment, il aime bien ma musique. On lui a envoyé la toune pour savoir s’il était d’accord et il était super down avec ça. 

PANM : Ce n’est pas le seul échantillon de voix que tu as utilisé, dans Beigne, on entend « En vieillissant j’dis les mêmes shits que quand j’avais 16 ans / Mais maintenant en réunion j’suis pris au sérieux ». Qui est derrière et est-ce une analogie avec ton évolution dans le milieu du rap québécois ?

FouKi : C’est une histoire comique derrière ça. Je ne peux pas dire qui c’est, car j’ai essayé de lui envoyer la chanson, mais il.elle n’a pas répondu. Ça s’est passé au show de la Saint-Jean. La personne nous racontait une histoire à Émile Bilodeau et à moi et j’ai demandé pour l’enregistrer car c’était trop parfait. Elle m’a dit oui, mais m’a pas dit : « Vas-y mets ça sur ton album » (rires). C’est pour ça que j’ai high pitched sa voix de + 4 pour qu’on ne sache pas si c’est une femme ou un homme. Ça m’a tellement parlé, c’est tellement vrai ! Jeune, on n’est pas pris au sérieux, en vieillissant on gagne la reconnaissance de nos pairs et on peut réaliser des rêves d’enfance ou d’adolescence. Le show de la Saint-Jean, c’était vraiment un de mes highlights de 2020.

PAN M 360 : Un conseil culinaire pour celles et ceux qui liront cette entrevue ?

FouKi : Osez le piquant-sucré-salé ! 

Crédit photo : Félix Renaud
Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre