Fernie: Primordial Vulnerability

Interview by Maude Bélair
Genres and styles : Soul/R&B

Additional Information

It’s not always difficult to know what to say. The problem is figuring out how to say it. For Fernie, an emerging Brazilian-Canadian artist who grew up on the West Island of Montreal, it’s certainly easier to express himself through his music. Through shimmering, enveloping R&B-soul sounds, Aurora opens the door to the intimate vulnerabilities of an artist for whom transparency is paramount. 

While many point to the project’s similarity to artists such as Frank Ocean and Daniel Caesar, Fernie points out that Aurora‘s goal is not to be musically inspired, but to perpetuate the habit of not being afraid to pour out one’s heart, to bare one’s soul in the service of art. Aurora is therefore much more than sweet guitar melodies and perfectly executed falsetto vocals, it also embodies total self-acceptance. 

Fernie quickly realized that people are used to wearing masks well beyond sanitary measures, that it is not always easy to feel accepted, especially when you are BIPOC or a member of the LGBTQIA+ community. While it is not easy for anyone to open their hearts, Fernie chooses to do so. For us, for him, for the music. And it’s a success all the way around. 

Aurora is his first album. It will be presented by Fernie on September 24 and 26 (the two shows are sold out, our apologies to latecomers) as part of the POP Montreal festival.  

That’s why PAN M 360 hastened to meet this sweet, sensitive and above all, talented human being.

PAN M 360: Your very first album will be available on September 24th! On this project, you talk about your own journey towards self-acceptance, the need to accept the past as it is, and most importantly, the discovery of a whole new version of yourself. What have you realized about yourself or your environment in the last few years? 

FERNIE : Definitely, what was on my mind the most was to be more careful with myself and my mental health. In the midst of the pandemic, I kind of pushed music away for a little bit to really work on myself because it’s what I needed the most. And also, I realized the importance of friends and family, and that it’s the people around you who really matter. It’s this network who kind of allows you to really accept who you are. The people who aren’t afraid to challenge or criticize you despite the friendship are the ones who encourage you to grow. And I think that’s something that I really held on through the pandemic and even now. 

PAN M 360 : Journalists often specify that you come from the West Island part of Montreal. How did living in that specific neighborhood impact your music?

FERNIE : I originally grew up in Lachine and I’m from adoptive parents. My mother is Brazilian, and my father is German. So we all lived in Lachine but since I went to a private German school, which was on the West Island, we all moved there. And as for the impact, I think it definitely did in the sense of what it meant. We often associate this part of the city with people who only care about appearances, so you feel pressured to be someone you’re not. So, I wanted to kind of break away from that to show more of the transparent and honest side of myself because I firmly believe that the world really needs those two values. And I think my album describes that through my self-reflections and I think that can open a dialogue.   

PAN M 360 : Aurora is your debut album, but it isn’t your first project. Actually, the first thing you put out was an EP back in 2015 that is called The Acoustic EP. Why did you go from an acoustic sound to a R&B kind of vibe ?

FERNIE: I was always encouraged to be versatile in my music genres. My first EP was much more about a kind of emo vibe, Aurora is more about a sensible soul sound. So, I think the changes in my sound come from my personal growth. I’m also part of a collective that really impacted my music, it’s basically where I understood I wanted to do more R&B music. So, I’m glad I got to experience those two vibes, because I think it offers two completely different perspectives and lyrics and overall experience so… I’m glad I did both of those. 

PAN M 360: And I think you said that you really were impacted by Frank Ocean and Daniel Caesar’s music. Why those two artists specifically? 

FERNIE: I wouldn’t say that I look up to them in a sense but I certainly appreciate what they do as artists. Both of them write transparent and personal stuff, especially Frank Ocean. If you listen to the lyrics, you realize he’s really open about his life and how he truly feels… and not only that but he’s not scared to voice his worries about the future and what needs to change. And I think that’s what captivated so many people around the world. And I think that’s amazing. So, I wouldn’t say I want to do what they do, I think I just share those ideas. 

PAN M 360 : You talked a little bit about it before but I quickly wanted to ask you this: you are part of a collective named Kids from the Underground. Can you talk a little more about what it is ? 

FERNIE : Basically, we are a collective of like-minded artists who share the same vision.  It’s more than just the music for us, we are a family. Everyone in the collective has a different story to tell and different music to share. Over the last three years, we really worked on our project and to reach new people as well. So, I’m kinda like a branch in a tree, you know ? We also come from the same area so it’s really easy to collaborate with one another. I guess destiny brought us together because it’s really working out for us. 

PAN M 360: “September” is a beautiful song on Aurora that presents the perspective of a love story shared between two people of the same sex, escaping the sometime isolating heteronormative narrative of love songs. Why is it important to your to bring a queer perspective to your music ? 

FERNIE : I think “September” isn’t just about the queer perspective, but also about the universal message it brings. In the song, I sing from a non-bineary stand-point to a cis man. But I beg people: when you listen to it, take it in as you please. It’s so limitless, it’s not just for a boy and a girl, or a boy and a boy… Inclusivity is a really big deal for me, so it’s not just about the queer perspective, but also for the BIPOC, everyone! 

PAN M 360 : I think it’s safe to say that Aurora is very open and personal. Was it hard to kind of expose all of your vulnerabilities on a music project ? 
FERNIE : At first it was, but at the end of the end I was like ‘what do I have to lose?’ Because I think that this album to me is not a cry for validation but more of a ‘let me make these songs and let the people around the world share the same kind of vibes I have’. I think that if you really want to touch the heart of someone, you have to give all of yourself. I find it hard to express myself through words sometimes, but music is always there to allow my truth to get out.

Latest 360 Content

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

OPCM: Wallis Giunta becomes Carmen

OPCM: Wallis Giunta becomes Carmen

All Quiet On The Western Front Composer comes to Montreal as Hauschka

All Quiet On The Western Front Composer comes to Montreal as Hauschka

What a time to be alive! A conversation with Sarah Rossy

What a time to be alive! A conversation with Sarah Rossy

Igloofest backstage: VJs, a behind-the-scenes profession… in the spotlight

Igloofest backstage: VJs, a behind-the-scenes profession… in the spotlight

Ducks Ltd.: Catchy jangle pop about human follies

Ducks Ltd.: Catchy jangle pop about human follies

Barbara Hannigan: double duty with the MSO

Barbara Hannigan: double duty with the MSO

Jon Spencer has another new band and is ready to rock

Jon Spencer has another new band and is ready to rock

Cabaret Acoustique Nuits D’Afrique : Justin Adams & Mauro Durante

Cabaret Acoustique Nuits D’Afrique : Justin Adams & Mauro Durante

Laurence-Anne: visit the endless labyrinth

Laurence-Anne: visit the endless labyrinth

Deli Girls: Experimental rave punk queercore to rock your world

Deli Girls: Experimental rave punk queercore to rock your world

India Gailey’s Non-binary Cello

India Gailey’s Non-binary Cello

Cendrillon at McGill | Staging a Beloved Tale

Cendrillon at McGill | Staging a Beloved Tale

Googoosh is Eternal

Googoosh is Eternal

On Dreams with Hank’s Dream

On Dreams with Hank’s Dream

“Balivernes” with BLAMM

“Balivernes” with BLAMM

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca : “Searching for Goya” with Martin Santangelo

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca : “Searching for Goya” with Martin Santangelo

“Mon coeur bat la chamade” – Talking with Gabrielle Cloutier

“Mon coeur bat la chamade” – Talking with Gabrielle Cloutier

Final Fantasy | Immersive and symphonic video games series

Final Fantasy | Immersive and symphonic video games series

On the Record with ROM1

On the Record with ROM1

M for Montréal | H for Hippie Hourrah!

M for Montréal | H for Hippie Hourrah!

M For Montreal | Winona Forever Reveals Details on Their Upcoming Album and DIY Beginnings

M For Montreal | Winona Forever Reveals Details on Their Upcoming Album and DIY Beginnings

Mundial Montréal | “Who Are We?” with Al-Qasar

Mundial Montréal | “Who Are We?” with Al-Qasar

Behind the Self with Everly Lux

Behind the Self with Everly Lux

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

Aurora de Fernie : vulnérabilité, vérité

Interview réalisé par Maude Bélair
Genres et styles : soul/R&B

renseignements supplémentaires

Souvent, il n’est pas difficile de savoir quoi dire. Le véritable défi est de trouver comment le dire. Pour Fernie, artiste émergent d’origine canado-brésilienne ayant grandi dans l’Ouest-de-l’Île de Montréal, il est certainement plus facile de s’exprimer à travers sa musique. À travers des sonorités chatoyantes et enveloppantes d’allégeance R&B-soul,  l’album Aurora  ouvre la porte aux vulnérabilités intimes d’un artiste pour qui la transparence est primordiale. 

Alors que beaucoup soulignent la ressemblance du projet à ceux d’artistes tels que Frank Ocean ou encore Daniel Caesar, Fernie précise que l’objectif d’Aurora n’est pas de s’inspirer deux musicalement, mais bien de perpétuer l’habitude de ne pas avoir peur à déverser son cœur, de se mettre à nu au service de l’art. Aurora est donc bien plus que les douces mélodies à la guitare et des voix de fausset  parfaitement exécutées, il incarne aussi une totale acceptation de soi. 

Fernie a rapidement compris que les gens ont l’habitude de porter un masque bien au-delà des mesures sanitaires, qu’il n’est pas toujours facile de se sentir accepté.e.s, surtout lorsqu’on est BIPOC [NDL : Black, Indigenious and People Of Colour], ou encore membre de la communauté LGBTQIA+. Alors qu’il n’est aisé pour personne d’ouvrir son cœur, Fernie choisit de le faire. Pour nous, pour lui, pour la musique. Et cela est une réussite sur toute la ligne. 

Aurora est son premier album. La matière fut présentée par Fernie le 24 et le 26 septembre dernier dans le cadre du festival POP Montréal, et Fernie chante de nouveau ce samedi 2 octobre, soit aux Retrouvailles d’Osheaga, 15h30, Scène de la montagne.

Voilà pourquoi  PAN M 360 s’est empressé de faire la rencontre de cet humain doux, sensible et surtout, talentueux. 

PAN M 360 : Ton tout premier album  sera disponible à partir du 24 septembre! Sur ce projet, tu parles de ton propre cheminement vers l’acceptation de soi, du besoin d’accepter le passé tel qu’il est et de surtout, la découverte d’une toute nouvelle version de toi-même. Qu’as-tu réalisé de toi -même ou de ton environnement depuis les dernières années ? 

Fernie:  Je crois que la chose qui m’a fait réfléchir le plus est l’importance de prendre soin de moi et de ma santé mentale. Durant la pandémie, j’ai pris la décision de mettre un peu mes projets musicaux sur pause pour prendre le temps de travailler sur moi, car je n’avais jamais le temps de le faire avant. J’ai aussi réalisé l’importance d’avoir un cercle tissé serré, que ce soit à travers la famille ou les ami.e.s, car ce sont eux qui te soutiennent et t’accompagnent au travers de ton cheminement. Je crois qu’il est important de s’entourer de gens qui n’hésitent pas à te critiquer ou qui t’encouragent à te dépasser… c’est grâce à eux que tu peux grandir afin de devenir la meilleure version de toi-même.

PAN M 360: Les journalistes prennent souvent le temps de préciser que tu es un artiste du ‘’West Island’’, et donc en provenance des arrondissements  anglophones de Montréal. Cela a-t-il influencé ta musique ? 

Fernie:  En fait, j’ai grandi à Lachine entouré de mes deux parents adoptifs. Ma mère est brésilienne et mon père est allemand. J’y suis né, mais puisque je fréquentais une école privée allemande située dans le West Island, nous avons déménagé là-bas assez rapidement. En ce qui concerne l’impact de ce quartier sur ma musique, je crois qu’il en a clairement  eu un, surtout symboliquement. Les gens de ce coin ont la réputation de ne se fier qu’aux apparences, et cela crée la pression aux gens de ne pas être fidèles à eux-mêmes. Donc, il était important de souligner cette tendance, de m’en dissocier et de travailler sur une version de moi-même plus transparente et honnête, car je crois que la Terre pourrait bien bénéficier de gens plus transparents et honnêtes. Donc oui, mon album touche à ce sujet à travers mes propres réflexions et expériences personnelles, ce qui, je l’espère, mènera à des dialogues et d’autres pistes de réflexions.

PAN M 360: Aurora est ton premier album, mais ce n’est pas ton premier projet musical : en 2015, tu as mis sur SoundCloud un EP intitulé The Acoustic EP. Pourquoi as-tu décidé de faire la transition d’un son acoustique vers une sonorité plutôt R&B ? 

Fernie: J’ai toujours été motivé à essayer de nouvelles choses, musicalement parlant. Mon premier EP était beaucoup dans le emo, alors que l’album Aurora s’inscrit davantage dans une sonorité soul. Au final, je crois que la transition de l’un à l’autre vient tout simplement de mon évolution personnelle… C’est lorsque j’ai rejoint les rangs d’un collectif artistique que j’ai réalisé que je voulais faire du R&B. Mais je suis très content d’avoir essayé les deux genres, car je pense que les deux peuvent apporter une perspective complètement différente l’une de l’autre. 

PAN M 360:  Je crois que tu as dit à de nombreuses reprises que tu admirais beaucoup la musique de Frank Ocean, ou encore celle de Daniel Caesar. Pourquoi ces deux artistes spécifiquement ?

Fernie:  Si je peux apporter une certaine précision, je ne cherche pas à être comme eux. Bien sûr que j’aime ce qu’ils font, mais je dirais plutôt que je partage leur vision en tant qu’artiste. Ces deux artistes composent de la musique tellement transparente et honnête… J’apprécie particulièrement l’écriture de Frank Ocean. Si tu prends le temps de comprendre ce qu’il dit, tu peux vraiment ressentir sa vulnérabilité, il n’hésite pas à dire comment il se sent et surtout, il n’hésite pas à se prononcer sur les choses qui lui tiennent à cœur. Et je crois que c’est tout cela qui a captivé l’attention du monde entier, et cela est tout simplement magnifique. Donc non, je ne cherche pas à faire ce qu’ils font, mais je peux certainement dire que je partage cette vision, cette mission de la musique.

PAN M 360:  Tu as brièvement effleuré le sujet,  tu fais  partie d’un collectif d’artistes nommé Kids from the Undergroud. Peux-tu nous en dire un peu plus ?  

Fernie: Kids from the Underground est un collectif d’artistes partageant la même vision, le même amour de la musique. En fait, nous sommes plus qu’une équipe, nous sommes une famille. Nous avons tous.tes une histoire unique et nous créons tous.tes des projets musicaux distincts… Cela fait déjà trois ans que nous travaillons au sein de ce collectif et nous sommes très content.e.s du travail que nous avons fait, des gens que nous avons touchés… Nous adorons travailler ensemble, je crois que c’est le destin qui nous a réunis. 

PAN M 360:  September est une magnifique chanson sur Aurora présentant la perspective d’une histoire d’amour partagée entre deux personnes du même sexe, échappant ainsi à l’hétéronormativité omniprésente dans  les chansons d’amour. Pourquoi cela est-il important pour toi d’amener une perspective queer à ta musique ?

Fernie: Je crois que September va plus loin que la perspective queer. Je voulais plutôt insister sur le caractère universel de l’amour. En fait, dans September, je chante du point-de-vue d’une personne non-genrée à un homme cis. Cependant, la chanson peut-être et doit être interprétée différemment, car tout le monde est différent! L’amour n’a pas de limites, cela va plus loin qu’une relation femme-homme ou encore homme -homme… La question de l’inclusivité est très importante pour moi, mais aussi la représentation des personnes de couleur, tout le monde!  

PAN M 360: Aurora est un projet très personnel. Était-ce difficile de mettre en premier plan ta vulnérabilité, tes craintes, toi au grand complet ? 

Fernie: Au début, ça l’était, mais à la fin de la fin, je me suis dit ” qu’est-ce que j’ai à perdre ? parce que je pense que cet album n’est pas un appel à la validation mais plus un ”laissez-moi faire ces chansons et laissez les gens du monde entier partager le même genre de vibrations que j’ai”. Je pense que si tu veux vraiment toucher le cœur de quelqu’un, tu dois tout donner de toi-même. J’ai parfois du mal à m’exprimer par les mots, mais la musique est toujours là pour permettre à ma vérité de sortir. 

Fernie se produisait la semaine dernière à Pop Montréal, le voilà invité surprise à Osheaga ce samedi 2 octobre, 15h30, Scène de la montagne


Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre