×
Country : Finland Label : Cosmo Rhythmatic Genres and styles : Electronic / Glitch / Noise Year : 2020
Vladislav Delay

Rakka

· by William Paulhus

The man we know from great classics such as Multila and Visa is back with a knife clenched between his teeth. After the release of his last album in 2014, Finland’s Sasu Ripatti put away his machines and disappeared for a series of trips above the Arctic Circle. Six years later, he revived his legendary Vladislav Delay project with an album strongly inspired by his perilous treks across the tundra.

It’s not really the influence of nature that shines through on Rakka, but rather the urgency of living instinctively in extreme situations. As you might no doubt deduce, the result is raw and overwhelming. What Ripati serves up is akin to a seven-round fight that we all lose miserably. This digital brutality is gruelling, an avalanche of pummeling decibels creating an almost bestial ritual on crazy compositions like “Rakkine” and “Rampa”.

The grand return of Ripatti brings suffocating music that surpasses the intensity of several styles considered extreme and which are also very popular in Scandinavia. The massive and swirling rhythms present on Rakka make anything you can imagine in terms of sound power a thing of the past. Have you ever felt like you were hit by a locomotive while listening to a song? Well, tracks like “Raajata” have that kind of impact. Despite this confusing violence, the result is totally haunting. You’ve been warned, however – you won’t come out unscathed when you listen to it through headphones.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Finlande Label : Cosmo Rhythmatic Genres et styles : bruitiste / électronique / glitch Année : 2020
Vladislav Delay

Rakka

· par William Paulhus

Celui que l’on connait pour de grands classiques comme Multila ou encore Visa est de retour le couteau entre les dents. Après la parution de son précédent album en 2014, le Finlandais Sasu Ripatti rangeait ses machines et disparaissait pour une série de voyages au-delà du cercle arctique. C’est six ans plus tard qu’il fait revivre son légendaire projet Vladislav Delay avec un album fortement inspiré par ses randonnées périlleuses dans la toundra.

Ce n’est pas vraiment l’influence de la nature qui transparaît sur Rakka, mais plutôt l’urgence de vivre instinctive qui nous habite dans les situations extrêmes. Comme vous pouvez sans doute le déduire, le résultat est cru et écrasant. Ce que l’Européen nous sert s’apparente à un combat de sept rounds que nous perdons tous lamentablement. Cette brutalité numérique est éreintante, une avalanche de décibels nous percute vigoureusement créant un rituel presque bestial sur de folles compositions comme Rakkine et Rampa.

Le grand retour de Ripatti nous propose une musique suffocante qui surpasse l’intensité de plusieurs styles jugés extrêmes et qui sont également très populaires en Scandinavie. Les rythmiques massives et tourbillonnantes présentes sur Rakka relèguent aux oubliettes tout ce que vous pouvez imaginer en termes de puissance sonore. Avez-vous déjà eu l’impression de vous faire percuter par une locomotive en écoutant une chanson? Et bien, c’est ce qui survient sur un titre comme Raajata. Malgré cette violence déroutante, le résultat est totalement obsédant. Vous aurez toutefois été prévenu, nous ne ressortons pas indemnes d’une écoute au casque.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre