×
Country : Canada (Quebec) Label : Slam Genres and styles : Grunge / metal / Punk / Rock / Ska Year : 2020
Rouge Pompier

Neve Campbell

· by Roxane Labonté

After Kevin Bacon (2012) and Chevy Chase (2016), Rouge Pompier returns this year with Neve Campbell, an album born after a trip to Norway. Through an unconventional formula, that of rocking as a duo, Jessy Fuchs (also founder of Slam Disques) and Alexandre Portelance balance the heavy with humour and commitment.

On Neve Campbell, the tone is light, absurd and sarcastic, but also incisive takes on serious and current subjects. Jessy Fuchs’ free verses are still simple, but his melodious voice, never a scream, makes them sound good. The excellent production of the album highlights the talent of the two Verdunites. The guitar serves up “nasty” and knife-edged riffs, with the warm tone of the tube amps cranked to the max.

Rouge Pompier has many faces, going far beyond the joke band that one might think it is at first glance; the album is filled with a wide variety of emotions. Our internal glaciers melt over the tragic “Des dents sur le trottoir”, a kind of updated “Black Hole Sun”. “Natation” seems to be an allegory about getting older and drowning psychologically, and it’s a devilishly catchy track. So is “Batman loves Bætman”. “Hyppocrampe”, a melancholy ode to parents who overly supervise their teenagers, takes on the aspect of a large, strangely soothing blanket.

In spite of a few more questionable moments (“Karoline”, “Ska ke c’tait”, or the clichés of “Un ours qui pleurait dans l’téléphone”), this album is a beautiful heavy talisman, wrought from the absurd, to be worn in these uncertain times.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Canada (Québec) Label : Slam Genres et styles : grunge / metal / punk / rock / ska Année : 2020
Rouge Pompier

Neve Campbell

· par Roxane Labonté

Après Kevin Bacon (2012) et Chevy Chase (2016), Rouge Pompier nous revient cette année avec Neve Campbell, album né à la suite d’un voyage en Norvège. À travers une formule pour le moins peu conventionnelle, soit celle de faire du « rock à deux », Jessy Fuchs (aussi fondateur de Slam Disques) et Alexandre Portelance balancent du lourd avec humour et engagement.

On retrouve sur Neve Campbell un ton léger, de l’absurde et du sarcastique, mais aussi des mots incisifs sur des sujets sérieux et actuels. Les vers libres de Jessy Fuchs restent tout de même simples, mais sa voix mélodieuse et jamais criarde les rend bien. L’excellente réalisation de l’album met bien le talent des deux Verdunois en valeur. La guitare sert des riffs « méchants » et découpés au couteau, avec les couleurs chaudes des amplis à lampes crinqués à fond.

Rouge Pompier possède de multiples visages, allant bien au-delà du « joke band » que l’on pourrait penser qu’il est de prime abord; l’album est traversé d’émotions très variées. Nos glaciers internes fondent sur la tragique Des dents sur le trottoir, sorte de Black Hole Sun actualisé. Natation semble être une allégorie sur le fait de prendre de l’âge et de se noyer psychologiquement, et c’est une pièce diablement accrocheuse. Batman loves Bætman l’est tout autant. Hyppocrampe, ode mélancolique destinée aux parents qui surveillent excessivement leurs ados, prend des allures de grand châle étrangement apaisant.

Malgré quelques moments un peu plus discutables (Karoline, Ska ke c’tait, ou les clichés d’Un ours qui pleurait dans l’téléphone), cet album est un beau talisman lourd, martelé par l’absurde, à porter sur soi en ces temps incertains.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre