×
Country : United States Label : Interscope Genres and styles : Americana / Chamber Pop / Folk Pop / Indie Folk / Indie Pop / Trip Hop Year : 2021

Lana Del Rey – Blue Banisters

· by Isabelle Marceau

The day after the publication of our review of Chemtrails Over The Country Club, released last March, Lana Del Rey already announced a second album to be released this year. We wanted to tell her not to rush anything. Indeed, the album Blue Banisters, while irreproachable on the level of the production, is nevertheless a variation on the same themes, the same chords, the same subjects… the same songs? Oh no, but you would have sworn that… That said, this recording does contain a handful of noteworthy pieces. 

First is “Blue Banisters”, whose power is derived from its simplicity, with minimalist arrangements and Del Rey’s voice carrying the song. Also “Arcadia”, a ballad punctuated by trumpets played in the manner of some traditional Mexican pieces. We are captivated by the frank and unapologetic tone of Del Rey’s promises of love on “Wildflower Wildfire”, a piano-vocal piece with catchy choral harmonies. There’s also “Interlude – The Trio”, which is a short excerpt from the late Ennio Morricone’s piece, remixed with trap beats. Finally, the most interesting piece of the album, “Dealer”, where she shares her voice (vocals and screams of exasperation) with that of the English musician Miles Kane: so different, they are a perfect match for this suave and slightly trashy piece.

But overall, one begins to spot a formula to the point of having a sense of déjà vu, as if some of the pieces or passages—watered-down versions—were taken from tracks off her more recent albums, even though Jack Antonoff didn’t participate in this one (her present collaborators: Dean Reid, Zachary Dawes and Drew Erickson, among others).

There are definitely some gems on Blue Banisters. However, perhaps Lana Del Rey will have to go on new adventures for renewed inspiration.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Interscope Genres et styles : americana / folk-pop / indie folk / indie pop / pop de chambre / trip-hop Année : 2021

Lana Del Rey – Blue Banisters

· par Isabelle Marceau

Au lendemain de la publication de notre critique de Chemtrails Over the Country Club, lancé en mars dernier, Lana Del Rey annonçait déjà un deuxième album à paraître cette année. On avait envie de lui dire de ne rien précipiter. En effet, l’album Blue Banisters, s’il est irréprochable quant à la production, est néanmoins une variation sur les mêmes thèmes, les mêmes accords, les mêmes sujets… les mêmes chansons? Ah non, mais on aurait juré que… Cela dit, cet enregistrement contient une poignée de pièces dignes de mention.

Tout d’abord Blue Banisters, dont la puissance est tirée de sa simplicité, avec des arrangements minimalistes et la voix de Del Rey qui porte la chanson. Également Arcadia, une ballade ponctuée de trompettes jouées à la manière de certaines pièces traditionnelles mexicaines. On est captivé par le ton franc et sans détour des promesses amoureuses de Del Rey sur Wildflower Wildfire, une pièce piano-voix avec des chœurs aux harmonies accrocheuses. Il y a aussi Interlude – The Trio, qui est un court extrait de la pièce de feu Ennio Morricone, remixée avec des beats trap. Enfin, la pièce la plus intéressante de l’album, Dealer, où elle joint sa voix (chant et cris d’exaspération) à celle du musicien anglais Miles Kane : si différentes, elles sont un match parfait pour cette pièce suave et un peu trash. Mais dans l’ensemble, on commence à repérer une formule au point d’avoir un sentiment de déjà entendu, comme si certaines pièces ou passages version édulcorée étaient reprises de pièces apparaissant sur ses plus récents albums, même si Jack Antonoff n’a pas réalisé celui-ci (ses présents collaborateurs : Dean Reid, Zachary Dawes et Drew Erickson, entre autres).

Il y a assurément quelques joyaux sur Blue Banisters; cependant, peut-être que Lana Del Rey devra vivre de nouvelles aventures hors des sentiers qu’elle a déjà battus, pour une inspiration renouvelée.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre