×
Country : United States Label : Serjical Strike Genres and styles : Electro-Punk / Electronic / Experimental / Soundtrack Year : 2020
Jimmy Urine & Serj Tankian

Fuktronic

· by Roxane Labonté

To create Fuktronic, Jimmy Urine, the avant-gardist mind behind the salacious electro-punk panoramas of Mindless Self Indulgence, joined forces with Serj Tankian (System of a Down) in 2012. Over time, this collaboration bore fruit, and the tandem developed the soundtrack to an imaginary film with the participation of musician and actor friends, with a script as a bonus. The results were therefore rather eagerly awaited. 

On Fuktronic, we find characters created from scratch: British and Russian gangsters who swear every second word, and a femme fatale, an arrogant French woman (played by Chantal Claret of Morningwood), among others. The quality of the many accents used, although comical and exaggerated, demonstrates the great talent of the participants.

Jimmy Urine’s production skills are also showcased. The sound that has been MSI’s trademark for over 20 years is unmistakable. The lacerating guitars rub shoulders with the sparkling arpeggios of the synthesizer, and the whole thing is sustained by a thunderous rhythm that moves the songs forward like a marathon. You can also recognize Tankian’s signature style on some of the songs, sprinkled with traditional Armenian influences (“Guns”). With their slower tempo, clear guitar sound and soft piano, these songs are an uplift.

However, the intensity decreases over the course of a listen, as if the climax was reached in the first piece (“Chase”). “Ladies” and “Kit Kat Klub” slow the tempo down a bit, and the events of the second half are quite blurred. It may not be an album we’ll listen to over and over again, but it’s still a captivating entertainment, allowing the imagination to run free.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Serjical Strike Genres et styles : électro-punk / électronique / expérimental / trame sonore Année : 2020
Jimmy Urine & Serj Tankian

Fuktronic

· par Roxane Labonté

Pour créer Fuktronic, Jimmy Urine, cerveau avant-gardiste derrière les fresques salaces électro-punk de Mindless Self Indulgence, s’est joint en 2012 à Serj Tankian (System of a Down). Avec le temps, cette collaboration a porté fruit et le tandem a élaboré la bande son d’un film imaginaire avec la participation d’amis musiciens et acteurs, scénario en prime. Le projet était donc plutôt attendu. 

On retrouve sur Fuktronic des personnages créés de toutes pièces : des gangsters britanniques et russes qui jurent tous les deux mots et une femme fatale, une Française arrogante (jouée par Chantal Claret de Morningwood), entre autres. La qualité des nombreux accents utilisés, bien qu’ils soient comiques et exagérés, démontre le grand talent des participants.

Par ailleurs, les habiletés de réalisateur de Jimmy Urine sont mises en valeur; on reconnaît entre mille le son qui a fait la marque de commerce de MSI pendant plus de 20 ans. Les guitares électriques incisives côtoient les arpèges étincelants du synthétiseur, et le tout est soutenu par un rythme tonitruant qui fait avancer les chansons comme dans un marathon. On reconnaît aussi la griffe de Serj Tankian sur certaines chansons, saupoudrées d’influences provenant des traditions arméniennes (Guns). Avec leur tempo plus lent, leur son de guitare clair et leur piano doux, celles-ci sont tout à fait planantes.

Toutefois, l’intensité décroît durant l’écoute, comme si l’apogée était atteinte dès la première pièce (Chase). Ladies et Kit Kat Klub font un peu ralentir la cadence et les événements de la deuxième moitié sont assez flous. Ce n’est peut-être pas un album qu’on va écouter en boucle, mais ça reste tout de même un divertissement captivant, qui permet de laisser libre cours à l’imagination.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre