×
Country : United States Label : Orphic Genres and styles : Indie Folk / Rock / Singer-Songwriter Year : 2020
IAMX

Echo Echo

· by Roxane Labonté

Echo Echo, IAMX’s ninth effort, is proof that Chris Corner, leader and founder of the group, knows how to renew himself. Consisting of acoustic versions of 11 of his songs, this album transports us once again into his singular universe. 

We can see here that he’s stripped down his most beautiful constructions, traced on them ornamental patterns with many details, and finally applied a thick layer of varnish on the whole. Carefully crafted and embellished with fine arrangements, Echo Echo does not, however, sink into excessive ornamentation. “Kiss and Swallow”, where the synth lines are simply replaced by a slightly electrified acoustic guitar, is a good example. Corner’s falsetto is nicely highlighted on these distilled tracks, moments like “Mercy”, “The Background Noise” and “Surrender”.

The three previous albums have been the “soundtrack” of his progressive rise out of the darkness. If we had to associate colours to these albums, Metanoia would be an opaque black streaked with red, Unfall would be located in a slightly incongruous grey zone, and Alive in New Light would be white and luminous. What are the colours of Echo Echo? Indigo studded with patches of gold… A night without too many artifice, settling quietly in the listener’s soul.

It remains to be seen how this album will be interpreted in concert, as the band is used to high-voltage performances. For the moment, it’s a pure delight.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Orphic Genres et styles : chanson / indie folk / rock Année : 2020
IAMX

Echo Echo

· par Roxane Labonté

Neuvième effort de IAMX, Echo Echo est la preuve que Chris Corner, leader et fondateur du groupe, sait se renouveler. Constitué de versions acoustiques de onze de ses chansons, cet album nous transporte à nouveau dans son univers singulier. 

On voit ici qu’il a décapé ses plus beaux meubles, puis tracé des motifs ornementaux avec moult détails, pour finalement appliquer une épaisse couche de vernis sur le tout. Réalisé avec soin et agrémenté de fins arrangements, Echo Echo ne sombre toutefois pas dans l’excès de fioritures. Kiss and Swallow, où les lignes de synthétiseur sont simplement remplacées par une guitare acoustique légèrement électrifiée, en est un bon exemple. La voix de fausset de Corner est d’ailleurs joliment mise en valeur sur ces pièces dépouillées, comme Mercy, The Background Noise ou Surrender.

Les trois albums précédents ont été la « bande sonore » de sa remontée progressive hors des ténèbres. Si on devait associer des couleurs à ces albums, Metanoia serait d’un noir opaque strié de rouge, Unfall se situerait dans une zone de gris un peu incongru et Alive in New Light serait blanc et lumineux. Quelles sont les couleurs d’Echo Echo? Indigo constellé de parcelles d’or… Une nuit sans trop d’artifices, qui s’installe tranquillement dans l’âme de l’auditeur.trice.

Reste à voir de quelle façon cet album sera interprété en concert, le groupe étant habitué aux prestations à haut voltage. Pour le moment, c’est un pur ravissement. 

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre