×
Country : United States Label : Blackmage Genres and styles : Electronic / Hip Hop / Industrial / metal / Noise / Trap Year : 2020
Ghostemane

Anti-Icon

· by Roxane Labonté

After the abrasive N/O/I/S/E (2018) and his lofi black metal project Baader-Meinhoff, Ghostemane brings us back to his creepy lair, revealing his dark, bewitching secrets.

Precise as a butcher, he’s cut thirteen pieces from the abominations of the world and his own, painting his recovery from an opiate addiction in shades beyond red (scarlet, burgundy, garnet, all variations are there). We have in hand a morbid colour chart, showing all the possible declensions of despair. Rare flashes of white are sometimes found, echoes of solitude, witnesses of the almost inhuman confinement lived in the aseptic place through which all drug addicts must pass. Ghostemane excels in the art of shedding light on our subterranean anxieties, through songs that sink into the memory like thorns in the flesh. The scars of his musical lacerations will be long-lasting. 

Rather anchored in metal, with many songs that seem to be structured around the guitar (such as “Vagabond”, “Lazaretto” and “Calamity”), the final product however presents a new vulnerability, especially on “Falling Down”, the conclusion of the album where Ghostemane reveals himself almost gently (!) on haunting acoustic guitar. “Anti-Social Masochistic Rage [ASMR]” will send shivers down the spines of people who are receptive to the distinct sensations of ASMR sounds, a phenomenon documented in YouTube videos and elsewhere. Here, he whispers very close to the microphone, and you can hear his sibilant consonants (with Z or S or occlusive consonants – B or P) as well as his breathing. Moreover, “Melanchoholic” is a nice tribute to his roots ending with a piano rendition of the emblematic “Freezing Moon“ riff of the Norwegian black metal band Mayhem.

The artist also seems to claim (without ever really saying it) that we have every right to have multiple identities. A kind of subconscious message, a thread running silently through all his albums: to be only one thing would be very reductive. Yes, Ghostemane fuses trap with metal, industrial with hip-hop, mixes styles and blurs the lines, but he doesn’t just do that: he also blossoms through striking visual concepts. One only has to see the “helmet of pain” on the Anti-Icon cover, or his artistic make-up inspired by corpse paint. Ghostemane is an artist in his own right and one can feel it in the general aesthetics of the character and his extravagant costumes, with sharp false nails as a bonus. Adorned with his tactical and military jackets, he is the protector of all people who feel different, ready to raise arms to anyone who dares confront his army.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Blackmage Genres et styles : bruitiste / électronique / hip-hop / industriel / metal / trap Année : 2020
Ghostemane

Anti-Icon

· par Roxane Labonté

Après l’abrasif N/O/I/S/E (2018) et son projet de black metal lofi Baader-Meinhoff, Ghostemane nous emmène à nouveau dans son alcôve glauque, révélant ses sombres secrets ensorcelants.

Précis comme un boucher, il a découpé treize pièces à même les abominations du monde et celles qui lui sont propres, peignant son rétablissement d’une dépendance aux opiacés dans des teintes plus que rouges (écarlate, bourgogne, grenat, toutes les variantes y sont). On a en main un nuancier morbide, montrant toutes les déclinaisons possibles du désespoir. De rares éclats de blanc s’y retrouvent parfois, échos de la solitude, témoins de cet enferment inouï et presque inhumain vécu à l’endroit aseptisé où tous les toxicos doivent passer. Ghostemane excelle dans l’art de mettre en lumière nos angoisses souterraines à travers des chansons qui s’enfoncent dans la mémoire comme des épines dans la chair. On portera longtemps les cicatrices de ses lacérations musicales. 

Plutôt ancré dans le métal, avec beaucoup de chansons qui semblent structurées autour de la guitare (comme Vagabond, Lazaretto et Calamity), le produit final présente toutefois une vulnérabilité nouvelle, surtout sur Falling Down, conclusion de l’album où Ghostemane se révèle presque en douceur (!) sur des accords obsédants de guitare acoustique. Anti-Social Masochistic Rage [ASMR] donnera des frissons aux gens réceptifs aux sensations distinctes données par les sons de l’ASMR, ce phénomène issu notamment des vidéos YouTube. Ici, l’artiste chuchote très près du microphone et on entend beaucoup ses consonnes sibilantes (comportant des Z ou des S ou des consonnes occlusives – B ou P), de même que ses respirations. Par ailleurs, Melanchoholic est un bel hommage à ses racines se terminant sur une reprise au piano du riff emblématique de Freezing Moon du groupe de black metal norvégien Mayhem.

L’artiste semble également clamer (sans toutefois jamais vraiment le dire) qu’on a totalement le droit d’avoir des identités multiples. Une sorte de message subconscient, un fil conducteur traversant silencieusement tous ses albums : n’être qu’une seule chose, ce serait bien réducteur. Oui, Ghostemane fusionne le trap au métal, l’industriel au hip-hop, mélange les styles et brouille les pistes, mais il ne fait pas que ça : il s’épanouit également à travers des concepts visuels marquants. On n’a qu’à voir ce « casque de douleur » sur la pochette d’Anti-Icon ou ses maquillages artistiques inspirés des corpse paint. Ghostemane est un artiste à part entière et ça se sent dans l’esthétique générale du personnage et de ses costumes extravagants, faux ongles pointus en prime. Paré de ses vestes tactiques et militaires, il est le protecteur de tous les gens qui se sentent différents, prêt à brandir les armes devant quiconque ose brusquer son armée.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre