×
Country : Japan Label : Fangs Anal Satan Genres and styles : Doom Metal / Punk / Rock / Sludge Metal Year : 2020
Boris

​NO

· by William Paulhus

The Japanese trio Boris is in a way the surprise box of the modern rock era. Over the past three decades, the band has touched on an almost unimaginable variety of musical styles. Playing with ardour and determination, ranging between pop, metal, doom, sludge, noise, drone, and a host of other rock forms, Boris always offer chaotic symphonies. However, what’s notable is that this album, entirely, independently conceived during the pandemic, is inhabited by something unusual, an indescribable rage. 

With an overwhelming introduction, Boris launch the hostilities, hammering us with oppressive percussion and a guitar recalling the unhealthy side of Sleep. Assaults worthy of the best hardcore then hit head on. No choice but to go prone and let yourself be pummeled by the decibels. The strident solos demolish everything in their path, the energetic choruses swirl in a sea of distortion, and the result is absolutely disjointed. It is clear that we‘re heading straight for the abyss, without ambiguity or detour, sinking deeper and deeper with each track.

Just when you think you can catch your breath, the band knocks you out with a riff of inordinate power, like on the dread-laden “Zerkalo”, which rivals the legendary Corrupted in terms of perversion. This stylistic spiral then plunges into a thrash metal skid, flirting with a faster take on Melvins or even with the lamented Motörhead. NO is probably one of Boris’ best recent albums. This boiling alloy of influences throws the mind into freefall and proves once again that the Japanese do nothing like anyone else.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Japon Label : Fangs Anal Satan Genres et styles : doom metal / punk / rock / sludge-metal Année : 2020
Boris

​NO

· par William Paulhus

Le trio japonais Boris est en quelque sorte la boîte à surprise de l’ère moderne du rock. Au cours des trois dernières décennies, la formation a effleuré une variété presque inimaginable de styles musicaux. S’amusant avec fougue et détermination entre pop, heavy metal, doom, sludge, noise, drone et une foule d’autres avatars du rock, les Nippons ont l’habitude de nous offrir des symphonies chaotiques. Il faut cependant avouer que cet album entièrement conçu de manière indépendante durant la pandémie est habité par quelque chose d’inhabituel, une indescriptible rage. 

C’est avec une écrasante introduction que Boris lance les hostilités, nous martelant avec des percussions oppressantes et une guitare rappelant le côté malsain de Sleep. Des assauts dignes des meilleurs albums de hardcore nous percutent ensuite de plein fouet. Aucun autre choix que de se laisser pétrir par les décibels, dans l’impuissance la plus totale. Les solos stridents démolissent tout sur leur passage, les refrains énergiques tourbillonnent dans une mer de distorsion et le résultat est absolument disjoncté. Il est clair que nous fonçons droit vers l’abîme, sans ambiguïté ni détour, nous enfonçant toujours plus profondément à chaque morceau.

Lorsque nous pensons respirer un semblant d’air frais, le groupe nous assomme avec un riff à la puissance démesurée, comme sur l’effroyable Zerkalo qui rivalise avec les légendaires Corrupted en matière de perversion. Cette spirale stylistique nous plonge désormais dans un dérapage thrash metal flirtant avec le volet plus rapide des Melvins ou même avec les défunts Motörhead. NO est probablement l’un des meilleurs albums récents de Boris. Ce bouillant alliage d’influences projette notre cerveau en chute libre et nous prouve une fois de plus que les Japonais ne font rien comme les autres.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre